Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

WordNoms

by seraphki - Jam Entry

First Jam, and first semi-completed game! =D

> Type the words to clear them.
> You have to type the entire word without mistakes to clear it.

Note: Game is incomplete. I had to go to work so I didn't get to finish it as much as I wanted. Will continue working on it and updating it. Made in honour of the LD Compo (completed from scratch by myself).

I want to keep working on it, so I'm keeping an updated version of the game here if you want to play it:
http://www.seraphki.com/gameDev/wordNomsML/game.html

Working on / Left to do:
> Adding Score + HighScores
> Complete word list (currently, there aren't many words)
X Stop words from crashing/overlapping each other
> Stop words from moving onto the same space
X Make next letter in word flicker so you know which is next
> Make first letters of words slightly different colour
> Splash instructions at beginning/end of game
> Pause screen so when you click off game, you can't see the words
> Destruction animations

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#260Innovation(Jam)3.46
#387Theme(Jam)3.67
#571Fun(Jam)2.96
#589Overall(Jam)3.11
#719Graphics(Jam)2.78
#749Humor(Jam)2.07
#809Mood(Jam)2.59

Comments

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42am

I love games like this! However, its really hard to play because stuff was overlapping. Also since all of the letters are the same color, its really easy to get lost in what I was trying to type.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:07am

This is neat! The way the words move makes the game a bit disorienting, but that's a good thing! Otherwise It'd be too easy. You said this was "semi-complete". You should expand this idea, keep going, and see where the game goes!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:07am

Sweet! Innovative approach to a basic typing game, minimalistic style makes the it all quite elegant. Keep crossing those genres!

excaliburjs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09am

Love the concept!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Nice idea and good realization!

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Found out something fun-when you could guess the entire word before it actually comes up on screen, you can complete it offscreen XD.
While overlapping words could sometimes make it virtually impossible (had a group overlapping all the way to the bottom, had no way to try and work out what needed to be written or what letters were with what word), which you are aware of based on your left to do list which is cool and will be nice to see fixed, this was a neat idea and was fun to play with, a nice take on the 'spell to win' kind of games. Well done with your entry :).

Mase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:23pm

I was amused by the inclusion of slang words like "YUP" and possibly "ZOD" (what is "zod"?). ...Not to mention the mysterious "GUBND" (in your last screenshot).

The overlapping is at times too difficult to sort out but it's fun to try.

seraphki says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Hahahaha - I believe GUBND is the word END overlapping the word GUY. The word list really needs some preening, some words that seem like a great idea after so many hour of no sleep aren't really all that great. Also, a bunch of the letters later in the alphabet don't have a full set.

Thanks everyone for all the kind words!

Sestren says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Pretty fun! I wish you had more time to add to it, I like this particular approach to the typing game genre.

Larry says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:30pm

It's a cool concept. Once the to-do list is done, it could definitely be a sort of "teach typing" program. I did feel it was too slow to register my key presses. I had to type slow enough for it to acknowledge that I press it before I can hit the next key.

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:05am

Hard but it's fun!Great job!

psychonull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:11am

Good idea. Nice game, a little bit Hard but fun! Good job

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:37am

Cool! I hope you get to finish up the rest of the game. Good job!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:01pm

That was fun! I like the retro blasting aspect. Hope you have the time to continue with this, it's a good typing game.

Darthone says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I like the concept, but not a huge fan of the overlapping of the letters

gameattack says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:52pm

I love the idea! It could be a fun and educational game which is really rare. My suggestion if I may: Not only to add word, but to classify them by level of difficulty of spelling so you can have variety of stages.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:00am

The words overlapping got frustrating at times. Some of the words were unexpected ("yolo" haha) but I had fun with it. Seems like a very straightforward and simple typing game. You could do a lot more with the graphics. Good job overall!

Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:03am

I like this concept! Typing out words going in different directions--so that I was effectively reading backwards, or in a squiggle--actually pushed the envelope some and increased the challenge over your average typing game. I think that once you fix the overlapping and add some gnarly tunes, this could be quite fun! Thank you for the game!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:52am

Excellent game!!

mohammad says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:11am

Its okay, if the gameplay was expanded abit I would've liked it more.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:55am

What a nice typing training game :) Type to shoot, brilliant idea !

madmaw says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:43am

This has potential, typing games are always a winner in my book

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]