Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Nebula

by UrbanLogicGames - Jam Entry

UPDATE - Added Mac/Linux builds. Game is currently a bit awkward on a Mac if you don't have 3 mouse buttons though, sorry about that. I'll fix it at some point.

The game places you in command of a lone starship hiding in a nebula with 5 enemy ships. You have to find them using probes, which can scan over a short range. If the probe picks up emissions from an enemy ship it will mark the direction the emissions came from (it should only take 3-4 of these to triangulate the ship's position). If an enemy ship falls within the probes inner-radius it's exact position will be marked on the grid. Once you think you know where a ship is lurking you can destroy it with torpedoes.

I didn't get as far as I'd like with it. Enemy ships don't have AI and are essentially sitting ducks. The scanner is probably a little too precise, I think some sort of analogue waveform readout with more ambiguity would work better, just didn't get a chance to try it. Torpedoes can be customised by allocating power between speed and yield, though admittedly this doesn't affect the game as much as I'd planned.

Controls
Left Mouse Button : Fire probe/torpedo
Right Mouse Button : Rotate the camera
Middle Mouse Button : Pan the camera

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#35Mood(Jam)4.02
#75Audio(Jam)3.81
#178Overall(Jam)3.65
#342Innovation(Jam)3.28
#423Fun(Jam)3.16
#589Theme(Jam)3.46

Comments

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Excellent work. This is placing in my top 10 entries so far! :) great job. Add a splash screen with that art from twitter and you have yourself a hit! Top marks for mood and audio from me. It would be great to have an option to turn off the grid too.

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Great mood for the game. Reminds me a lot of battleship. Would be a great concept to expand on!

mahalis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Love the graphics—surprised you’re not asking to be judged on those, it’d be an immediate five-star. Gameplay is fun if a little slow. Good audio as well, very spacey.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Mahalis - Thanks! I disqualified myself from the graphics category because I borrowed some assets from another game I'm working on, it's my understanding that you're only supposed to use assets created during the jam if you want them to be judged.

SojaBird says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Wow !! Just wow.
Very clever design and art is sweeeeeeet

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30pm

It's great being honest for the assets!
The mood is awesome, and game is great. I'll take some time to play it more these days !
Nice job :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Okay... you're doing a game with fantastic gfx... and you won't get the benefits of it :D Okay... I understand your point... Gameplay is cool... a little to slow for my taste... Well the mood is the next best category and you'll get the bonus point on it that would have been at the gfx ;) Nice work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Interesting approach with a grid-less battleship style. I like how the probes point out the direction of the nearest enemy ship. Cool mechanic.

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Beautiful game! Sometimes the probes missed their destination and kept flying forever (you're probably doing a distance check? I was getting a fairly low framerate). It was also sometimes hard to make out things in the back reaches of the screen at my resolution.

RedPanda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I loved your game dude!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Bom jogo, mas dificil de entender como se joga

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Would have been 5 * 5 (all except theme) if there were any "real" enemies. The game shows lots of potential, but in the end its pointless at the moment. Still a great prototype :)
Like others said, the graphics are great and I liked the sound, too. I haven't seen the Gameplay ever before, so thats the 5 stars for innovation. (although it reminds me of Battleships somehow)

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:19am

People are saying the sound is great... I don't know why it didnt work for me. :-/

Very pretty game!

DevWouter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:10pm

The art is nice and sits well with me and the audio isn't too bad. It would become really cool game if everyone could move and have some kind of failure state (which would it make more of game). Also I would love to have some kind of explanation about the controls (why do I need 3-mouse buttons? It worked fine with my touchpad)

PS: Next time make downloading a bit more a simple process since this already counts as a first impression. And asking for money when we just want to try to play the game... well... it didn't sit well with me. But enough rambling.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:13pm

The game mechanics are well implemented. It's not the most intuitive but it works fine. It's currently a bit difficult to evaluate the game without any kind of opponents but it does look good and could be promising => staring at a map, scanning around, planning torpedo, etc. I do felt like a bad ass commander for a minute. Good luck if you plan to work more on the project.

Phask says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Awesome game, really enjoyed it and would love to see it developed further!
Only caveat: LD Theme was not met entirely.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Very stylish. Quality of art is one of the best that I ever seen on this LD. I like clear and understandable gameplay, but little bit boring without challange.

pk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:17pm

A fun search and destroy game concept.
Too bad the enemies don't search for you and shoot back.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Wow, with some AI and a little innaccuracy in the scanner this game would be amazing. Love the effects as well.

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Great visuals and mood. I like it.

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54pm

What a great game, good work !

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:56am

Neat entry. I was only able to find one enemy, and the game had a bit of trouble staying at a consistent framerate for me. Loved the visuals, audio was solid although the probe could be a bit more dynamic!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:49am

Loved the graphics, great job :)

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:31am

That's pretty. The sound is cool and the work is nicely done. I do not know if I have understood well the game itself, I have just won two games and I've never been under attack.

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:33am

(Just read the description and saw that I was normal)

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:17pm

One of the best visuals I've seen in this LD :)

voxel says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:23pm

This is exceptionally well presented. It looks, sounds and even tastes great. A pity you didn't get to finish it as it has the mood and makings of happy fun space times

Valandre says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Wow very "arty" for a space battleship game, I love this! great mood!

Elendow says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Very fun game, great concept with a lot of possibilities. Congrats!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:11am

Nice quality graphics, wish I could vote for it. Well done.

Meral says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Fantastic entry. Well executed in all aspects. Thank you for the keyboard shortcuts "1" and "2".

Verz says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:32am

Really good work! I like the mood of the game a lot. Even though graphics are not a category to rate, I really liked of they look on the game :).

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice concept - love the GFX and atmospheric music

Would have really enjoyed a great pace though and maybe a little time pressure?

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:38pm

There's something really awesome about the slow missiles and their lense effect, while you wait to get the info. Nice game !

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Wow, really cool game. I REALLY like the sound design and gameplay. Very well done!

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Looks very cool!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Wow great work!
It's a little too slow the peace of the game but quite an interesting experience!
Well done!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:46am

The mood and concept are really great. This could be a great game if ai was added.

radmars says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:03am

Cool concept! Wish everything moved a bit faster, or maybe making multitasking (like sending out probes while torpedoes were in flight) a bit more meaningful/useful could be cool too. Nice work.

Simon says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Great mood! Well done.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:58am

Neat concept! I Included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/feGcEIoOFjA

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:18am

You really get that atmosphere, with the impressive graphics and music :) There could be more "things to do" though and it could be a little faster, but great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]