Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

HYPERPLASM

by ciaodavinci - Jam Entry

*** REQUIRES 2 TO 4 CONTROLLERS ***

by Peter Rockwell, Cody Walker, Nicolas Munoz
consultant wizard: Henk Boom

Top-down particle shooter for friends.

Fire super-heated globules of plasma at your enemies while avoiding their spray. The longer you hold the trigger the slower you and your projectiles travel, leaving clouds of toxic particles in your wake but making you vulnerable to bursts of fire from speedy players. Hyperplasm is deadly and will vaporize you on contact unless it is of your own colour. Rack up 10 kills to win the level and bring glory to your own!

/// HYPERPLASM IS THE MOST DANGEROUS PLASM ///

Game created with Love2D, audio with Bosca Ceoil.

-- Controls --

Gamepad:
LS - Move
RS - Aim
RT - Fire

Keyboard:
F1 - Help
M - Pause/Play Music
P - Screenshot
O - Open Screenshot Folder
TAB - Next Level
F11 - Fullscreen
Space - Magic
Esc - Quit

-- Install instructions --

Downloads available for Windows (64, 32 bit), Mac and Linux
* Linux version requires LOVE2D. See distro availability: https://love2d.org
* Mac users should use tattiebogle for gamepad support:
http://tattiebogle.net/index.php/ProjectRoot/Xbox360Controller/OsxDriver

Your platform may not support pressing ["P" for screenshot] or ["O" for opening the screenshot directory] on the keyboard, which may cause a crash.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#274Overall(Jam)3.48
#313Fun(Jam)3.30
#336Audio(Jam)3.14
#383Graphics(Jam)3.52
#589Innovation(Jam)2.91
#619Mood(Jam)2.89
#822Theme(Jam)3.14

Comments

trenchgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:48am

Good job! I like the particle effects and audio.

mikozouzou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02am

A very good game, very entertaining ! Sadly, we're only two players :/

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09am

Hooray for love2D! I'm only one person with only one gamepad, but from what I can tell the controls, the audio, the physics, and the visuals especially are top notch. Great job!

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:29am

This looks really fun. but i can't get the game to start. Am i doing something wrong? Mac user.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:43am

hey LexGear, did you download hyperplasm_osx_64? Us mac users need to use tattiebogle to get gamepads working (http://tattiebogle.net/index.php/ProjectRoot/Xbox360Controller/OsxDriver). Are you able to launch the game at all?

Divitos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50am

Just.
Wow.
That was stunning.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:01am

This is really fun and new. I sure will be playing this with my friends tomorrow, and a lot of other days probably. I love this kind of different, fast, competitive, multiplayer games.
I wish you would somehow support keyboards, it would be much easier to play with my friends. (we do not have four controls)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:35am

Error. mainlua:174 could not set write directory
Also i couldnt get the game started. is there no support for keyboard?

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:58am

Nope, no keyboard support. mainlua:174 triggers if you hit "o". It takes a screenshot if your platform supports it.

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Great work, I love the visual effects. Nicely polished!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Very nice game! Great gob!

elvaq says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Pretty cool! Not a lot of depth to combat but what you do have is developed really well. Lots of good player feedback, very intuitive game. Pretty too!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Every thing id great about this game, except the game crashes when i take a screen shot. . .though its a minor issue :)

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Thanks for the feedback TriSquare :) I'll investigate this issue, what platform are you on?

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:05am

Slick controls, music, and graphics!

AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:15am

Awesome particle effects! Love the music, good job!

Croze says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:23am

Dang I wish I had controllers (and friends) to play this! Lol, looks really interesting, sucks that I can't rate it though :(

freaknarf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:28am

Great ! Good insputs and visuals !

sharp911 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:42am

Interesting concept. I like it.

flatgub says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:02am

This looks like it would be great fun if I had any one to play with ;~;

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice start, i like the graphic style.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:05am

Have neither a friend nor a controller. Looks like it could be fun, but didn't really get to test it. Would have been good if the info screen in game told me (or atleast hinted) that this was multiplayer only. Music was annoying. I really like the colors and the glow in the screenshot!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:09am

Fun to play, satisfying to watch! Fast and explosive like our game. Solid, well done.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:09am

Wow those particle effects :) great job!

StMatn says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I didn't give give you a rating, since I didn't get the game to start. The program starts, responds to keypresses from keyboard, but I dont get a player to control, even with connected gamepad (logitech rumblepad 2). Maybe I didn't get something right or my pad is not supported, so I absolutely do not blame you ;) I'll check back here, if i remember.

From the screenshots the game looks really awesome and the other coments sound really promising!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Hey StMatn, we've only tested with xbox 360 controllers so far but I'd like to try with other gamepads. If the game detects a connected gamepad you will see a little coloured rectangle in the top left with a flashing 'A'. Thanks for passing along the info.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:22am

Particle effects and music on this game makes it great fun to play!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:28am

Excellent entry! Maybe add some powerups, and make bullets collide with bullets. Favorite so far!

TehSkull says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:14am

I want to play this but I only have one controller. :(

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I only have one controller for pc, but in general the controls worked well and I think the game could be huge fun with multiple players.

01rafael says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:32am

Error. main.lua 174. Could not set write directory
Thats what I saw

Riocide says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:35am

Make a keyboard version!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:07am

Only the Xbox controller worked, not the generic one. :(

Rodaja says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

We shouldn't really say this to anyone, but it feels strange that anyone shot kills you immediately, so you may be navigating throught a dense cloud of shots and then get killed by a rogue slow little pixel.

Also, level design is a little tricky on the upper side of the screen, for two players it becomes a trap quite easily. Moreso knowing where the other player will respawn throught the squares. Though those things probably get less problematic with more players.

Graphics are simple but nice to look at, and the sounds are finely implemented so as to tell you how bullets and yourself are getting slower the more you shoot.

Good job!

ciaodavinci says ...
Nov 19, 2016 @ 3:55am

We've created a new version with keyboard controls, new levels and music: mindfungus.itch.io/hyperplasm

try it out :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]