Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Case #31

by Pestel Crew - Jam Entry

Our first entry in Ludum Dare.

Stylized action-adventure game. Navigate through dark city to solve the mystery of murder.

Our team consists of 6 people. 3 developers, gamedesigner, artist and his girlfriend. The game was made in 46 hours using Unity3D.
Music:
Rumble Album Beyond This by Somewhere off Jazz Street
Sad Trio Album Theatre Compositions For An Unwritten Play by Jovan Chekalov
Film Noir Jazz - Suspense Scene Album Film Noir Jazz by Akashic Records
Sounds: freesound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Overall(Jam)4.32
#5Innovation(Jam)4.57
#6Mood(Jam)4.30
#16Graphics(Jam)4.64
#27Audio(Jam)4.07
#88Fun(Jam)3.75
#125Theme(Jam)4.03

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33am

This is easily one of the coolest concepts I've seen in any game. Really amazing art. Deep story. GOOD JOB!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

You did amazing artwork. The whole game is very uniqe!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:20am

I love the transition effects for each scene. And the graphics. You are very talented!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30am

Really cool original concept.

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Best game I've played really impressive art and everything.

Tosic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice idea and a good interpretation of the theme, man, hey, our games aren't so differrent I made a game with a spy who also has problems with cops :D

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Amazing game, idea, arts and sounds, wow ! ^^

that is a LOT of work pulled here!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Amazing game and amazing concept. Nice story. WELL DONE!!!

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Too long download.

Bensonance says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

This is really awesome! Love the gameplay and the art style. I have to admit that I find the writing a little painful though :). Get a little more experienced writer for the project and then definitely continue working on this!

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Awesome game! you should make more of these!

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:52pm

WOW. The way in which the scene switching is just so awesome. And pretty immersive atmosphere.
Great work.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

love love LOVE the art concept! Obvious that a lot of love went into this. After I died I didn't feel like replaying the entire game however.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:55pm

this was really really cool, but the fact that there were no checkpoints made me not want to finish it

radmars says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Really incredible concept. Love the presentation and the way each screen transitions in. Very unique, very moody. Nicely done.

jelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Wow. I love your use of space, with the transforming scene. It feels a lot like a play, which I love and works so well for a noir type drama. The mood is on point. My only criticism is starting over is kind of a pain because I have to ~space~ through so much dialogue. In a game like this, it would be nice to restart at the beginning of the scene that I'm currently in.

Really well done. Thanks!

Magicolo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:57pm

-Hardly is on one screen though the idea of changing the environment instead of moving the character is a great one :(
-Music! :)
-AWESOME Graphics! Best visuals I've seen yet! :) :) :)
-Intriguing storyline :)
-Simple but efficient game mechanics :)

chrisamaphone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Really neat diorama-like visual style used to stay on-theme for a 3d rendering mode. I'm not really sure the presentational aspects contributed much to the experience of the mechanics of the story, though. A noir shooter about white dudes avenging a dead woman isn't really that original. ;) But it was a decent enough execution of the idea.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Cool game and graphics! Reminded me a bit of this one Max Payne 2 level. (A Linear Sequence of Scares)

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Wow, what an awesome style you've got going here. Really creative with the way you build up and tear down stages, and the wooden cutout look really unifies everything. Minor nitpick is that you don't mention how to jump before you have to jump over a police car, so I almost got stuck there. This is really impressive though.

sumguy67 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Really awesome concept and game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really awesome game! Love the art and the scene set up. Wish there would be checkpoint in the game though. I want to see the whole story!

Neil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Im not sure if it completely fits to the theme but love the game. Really cool and original art and gameplay.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Love the concept and the scene transitions, couldn't get to the end though, having to restart from the beginning got frustrating after dying a couple of times, a checkpoint system would have been nice.

alfadur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

Impressive movie props aesthetics! I'm not sure if it's intended, but ability to jump over cops and run away is nice too. :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:24am

Masterpiece!! :D
Rotating stage theatre on a screen! :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:06am

The merry-go-round style and cardboard style is creative, and it looks like a ton of work went into graphics, style, art, etc. I didn't want to have to fight people though, so I played as a peaceful person. I jumped over all the first round of police officers, but got killed by one later near the apartment.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:46am

The graphic style is fantastic! The cardboard theater decorations and the gloomy light beautifully add to the noir atmosphere of a deep detective story.

The best game I've seen this far! I hope you'll push it to Steam ;)

Wampus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Very good indeed!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Thanks a lot for all your comments and sorry for the lack of checkpoints and dialogue skip.

The game was supposed to be bigger, but we ran out of time. This is why there are so many dialogues left. We didnt realize how annoying they are without a skip =)

NPException says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06pm

a masterpiece!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:50am

Phenominal game! Maybe a bit too difficult, but I managed to complete it. By far my favorite game yet!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Cool game ... rated high on graphics, i like the circular scenario :D

Elendow says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Nice concept, story and gameplay. Love it.

Night says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:54am

This is cool concept - town as a merry-go-round. I like it very much. Also mulic is very atmospheric. And I like a story too.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Super neat transitions. Very creative and wonderful take on the theme. Well done.

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Really one of the coolest idea I've ever seen! :O
Did not expect that ending, it was really fun getting there!^^
Thank you! :)

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Interesting game the only problem I really had was with the fact that I don't know why he was killing the police? Like could he not just explain it to them he is probably incriminating himself even more by killing them. Other than that the movement and story were really innovative.

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:08am

Very cool concept. The whole cardboard cutout thing is sweet, like when the cops just fall over like cardboard, or the way your character flips his cardboard to change between standing and walking. The way the whole thing is on a merry go around, enhances the cardboard cutout thing... not sure why? I guess it has that same feeling of old school cinema/stage techniques, where everything had to be done with mechanical systems and cardboard instead of digitally. I like the way the bullets curve around, even though its a given, it was still cool, enhancing the concept even more. The few gripes I had with the game are miniscule. The text box sliding off screen and back onto screen every time, especially when it was just the main character saying a few things in a row, felt a bit distracting. The cops could be defeated too easily by rapid firing constantly, and then they would just die as they came onto screen. Usually if I didn't get them right away though, then I had to actually take cover and try to either get up right before they got back into cover, or right as they were getting up but before shooting. So when the cover mechanic was being used, it felt good and tactical. The scenes themselves were very well set up, like the bar, nightclub, cityscapes, lighthouse. Well all of it pretty much. Lots of attention to detail in the positioning of things, and small nuances to get proper feel across.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:39am

Clunky firing controls and not-very-intelligent AI could use a lot of work. Liked the presentation, though. It's quite spectacular!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:07am

Fantastic concept, and the atmosphere is just perfect. However, the gameplay (shooting) is a bit clunky, and it's frustrating to restart all the way back at the beginning when you die.

P.S. Your game will appear in my next video (episode #4).

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:08am

Amazing concept, this is truly an unique game.

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Awesome concept. What a twist!

CScribes says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Overall fantastic game :D

binasa says ...
Jun 30, 2017 @ 7:30pm

Just name it in the fantasy world and very probably you would find it in the game. http://downloadthingshere.com We lock the Hints in place, so youll never lose a word.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]