Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

pOp

by UlydevSecondGame - Jam Entry

Hello, everyone, my name's Ulysse Ramage. Creating games is my hobby, and as I'm 15, I hope to get better and better as I make them.

I actually had time to make two games ! So here's the second one I came up with (the first one is called Swotch).

pOp is a party game designed for up to 4 players. It barely looks like football, with no gravity (just like in space).

Touch the ball to make it yours, then kick it and goal !

This game is compatible with Xbox 360 controllers.

Gameplay video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EOT4VwCiHLM

You will need Löve2D to play the Linux/Source version.
(The Linux/Source may be buggy, tell me if there are any problems)

Music by http://www.playonloop.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#261Fun(Jam)3.37
#437Innovation(Jam)3.13
#439Overall(Jam)3.27
#466Mood(Jam)3.07
#497Theme(Jam)3.56
#665Humor(Jam)2.27
#738Graphics(Jam)2.74

Comments

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

fast and fun as hell. good job!

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I can only imagine what it would be like with four players! Great job!

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:53pm

It feels good. I have bookmarked this page to come back and play it with more players =D

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Controls are very hectic, which adds to the game imensely, if I could play it with someone else I'm sure it'd be a lot of fun, I guess loneliness is just the curse of multiplayer games in LD.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Yeah, playing pOp alone just doesn't make any sense. That's why I made another game before this one, to make sure I'd have at least one testable product.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08am

Update: I played this with a friend, we had a good time.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

Simple, hectic, fast paced, and playbale on just one keyboard. A winning combo for any local multiplayer game. Had a great time with this one.

charlesque says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:31am

Love the graphics.
Love the simple gameplay.
Make more game !

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:30pm

ot this was fun, we played for too long :D

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:34pm

It's a shame I couldn't try this game in multi, at the moment.
It looks very fun to play with friends! :)

Snuux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17pm

I like your minimalistic design! And it's cool, that you use Love2D!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Im glad you use minimalistic design .. is beautiful x) good work :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Thank you for your comments ! You guys can check out Swotch, my second LD31 game, if you like this kind of minimalistic design.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Exhilarating XD

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:12pm

I like de music!
the game is attractive and intriguing,
But a lot of games in this LD made 2 players game...

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Fun gameplay so keep it up! :D

solarexplorer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Cool concept, I thought the controls were a little frustrating/unforgiving. You should be proud of this, well done.

hbocao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Awww... I want to play with someone! It looks so much fun. Awesome simple idea and nice implementation of it. The music is great too. Awesome entry. Damn, two games? Congratz! And you should include a link to your other game.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

I like the gameplay in this one, I tried to play it alone so I really couldn't get tyhe feel of it... I bet this game would probably play really well on the Ouya though (maybe with a few other similar games), maybe look into that if you haven't already.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Nice game. 4-player mode is ultra-fun. Congrats!!!!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Very good game I like how the mechanics work. Excellent job

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Pretty neat! Especially for 15 ;)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:06pm

very fun game, well done

madcapacity says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:50am

Looks like it would be alot of fun to play with friends! Great job!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:00am

Simple but nice graphics. Nice innovation, good job!

tcarter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:09am

Very clean - Feels like soccer!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:43am

Would be a nice party game, you could also add in a few variations of maps and modes and this would be heck fun to play at parties with your friends. Great Entry!

chakitp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Whats point in Playing this Game alone .. I liked the music...
Controls are little itchy too..

fil00dl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:49pm

interesting multiplayer game, impressive for a game developed in 8 hours

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I cannot test it with 4 players but it looks fun :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Nice Boxes ;D

AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I love the simplicity of its minimalistic design and it's so fun to play, lots of stars for you ^^

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:51am

SIMPLY ...THE BEST...

rottenmage says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Great job! This would make for some mindless fun at a party!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:29am

Nice! Won't be able to test it out with 4 players, but it looks fun.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Love seeing great multiplayer entries! Surprisingly hilarious! Keep 'em coming!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:49pm

6

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:34am

Really cool, fun, cool, fun, and really! :D

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:25am

Very cool and well presented. Good job, keep at it and I guarantee you will be a great game maker. I wish I had been that good at 15.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Well done, solid game. Keep up the good work.

Felladrin says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Good game! Great gameplay! Simple and funny!

Wakka says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:12am

great work!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:27am

Well done on making two games in the time. Fun multiplayer action.

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Not a bad idea, but I would like graphics to be better))

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Definitely great as a multiplayer. Might be interesting to integrate some one player aspect in the game, such AI or obstacle course.

Riocide says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:35pm

cool game

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:00pm

It's lots of fun, but the controls got in the way a lot.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:54am

Great job dude! Love how you emphasize who just scored a point, really makes the visual design pop :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Definitely a competitive game, I just need to get a bunch of friends round to enjoy this more!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:06am

Nice concept actually! I really enjoyed this one, controls felt ok and smooth, graphics is simple but still pleasant and it was fun to play. Good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]