Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Velocity

by Warpgames - Jam Entry

Escape Velocity is first person high-pace platformer game. We developed it using UDK (Unreal Engine 3) in 3 days. Gamepad is supported. Vote if you like our game.

If you like our game and want to see more our stuff please visit our website and social pages. We develop great metroidvania 2.5D platformer game.

Website: http://www.thewarpgames.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/warpgamesteam
Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHmUmpaT8X9-ypPrwywzrLw
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/102229525346817072135/posts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Graphics(Jam)4.71
#97Audio(Jam)3.73
#143Overall(Jam)3.70
#157Mood(Jam)3.60
#192Fun(Jam)3.48
#708Innovation(Jam)2.73
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

Mixer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Really awesome, game, the graphics are amazing. The game is really hard though, but it is still really good! The audio was great too!

Warpgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50am

Thanks mate! Really appreciate that. Game indeed need some balance, but we haven't much time unfortunately.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41pm

This is great, I love the graphics and how the platforms appear.
I had framerate issues (though my pc is prehistoric) and it was kinda hard to control the character while in the air, but I got to the end anyways and enjoyed it a lot.
Good work!

Warpgames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:14am

Thanks for your input!

radmars says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:17am

Wow this game is absolutely gorgeous! (It did look like there were some weird artifacts as objects popped in from the distance though) Great music too. Gameplay-wise I wish there was more incentive to go faster rather than just having it be standard platforming. I would love to see this fleshed out more. Great work!

Catwheel says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:45am

For some reason, starting this game on my windows computer causes it to log me off ??? Anyways, I did not rate it because I was not able to run it. Just letting you know

esaygin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:55am

Very nice and makes fun and its hard.
But on my Lenovo T400 too hard. When i press Space to jump it needs too long to react. Maybe its because my bad laptop, but i dont know

aidinviper says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:57am

great game.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:30pm

This was pretty!

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:40pm

awesome! one of the best i think! but very dificult ! like that :D But where is the theme?

GarethIW says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Very pretty! I think it would have been more fun if it was continuous forward movement rather than needing to navigate around and platform jump.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:24pm

How can you make such a pretty game in such little time?!
Very fun. Very pretty. Audio was pretty great too. I don't really know what to say.
Great work!

ilokimo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Good mood and art but the controls are frustrating in a bad way, I mean like they feel sticky when you are at a halt.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Really nice graphics

Tifu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I can't download this, it just keeps stopping and giving me an error, I'll try again later =/

Warpgames says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:16am

Thanks guys!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:47am

5 stars for the visuals, great pace, I think you should make jump on one of the mouse buttons, I have struggle with using WASD, space and then the mouse, tricky control scheme. Well done :)

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:44pm

This is very beautiful, stylish game, and audio matches well!
It needs some controls tuning and, I think, will be better if you urge player somehow to run without stops.

hbocao says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:04pm

The graphics are AWESOME! The music really help to put you in the running like hell mode. The last level was kinda hard because of "ground checking" (sometimes I pressed jump but was kinda early, I guess, and then the jump was weak) and the midair control. But really fun... I think you need to keep working on this idea. :)

Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:56am

Very nice visuals and music and overall a pretty fun (albeit somewhat frustrating) experience. It has a very unique feel and conveys that sense of speed rather well.
The controls are quite.. special? :D Works well in the first level, but not in the second one (for me at least). And after I finally made it past that small single platform of hell after 20ish tries, there was a broken checkpoint or something so the game kept respawning me at a place where I couldn't reach any platform and just fell down immediately.
Also, a minor thing I just realized, the game plays a sound when *pressing the jump button* instead of when actually jumping. This is somewhat irritating as it implies the feedback of "successfully jumped", but then I fall down because I pressed the button a little too late.

However, I don't want to focus too much on the few negative things, the game remains pretty amazing all things considered. Visually it actually reminds me of Rupture by ASD (demoscene stuff, it's on Youtube) and, you know, that's good. :D

Warpgames says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:53am

Thank you guys for all your feedback! We will keep in mind all of you thoughts and advices as we will continue to develop this game to full release this Christmas Holidays. Stay tuned!

Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

This game is just balls to the walls! Thank you for making it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]