Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One Killer - One Window

by Thalia - Jam Entry

'One Killer - One Window' by team 'GamePalm'

Hello everybody.
I teamed up with my two favourite maniacs, one more crazy programmer and some other nice people. What we made for you is the best mafia simulator called "One Killer - One Window".

Out "GamePalm" Mafia Clan has made a cool detective game about one guy who has to sit at home because of his disease - he broke a leg.

Gameplay of our mafia game is something about advertence, logic and observation. Reaction speed is also important because events develop quickly. At the beginning of the game you receive the anonymous letter with brief information about the killer in the house across the street. There are only two facts, using them we can analyze his/her relationships with house inhabitants. Neighbors visit each other, speak and communicate, every hour the picture changes and our detective can look in one window per hour.

Different people live in the house, but every new game one of them could be a killer!

Authors:
Natalia Vasilevskaya
Andrey Oplesnin
Yuriy Voronov
Rostislav Gelvich
Svetlana Verevkina

Contact us: game2palm@gmail.com

The only way to get rid of my fears is to make a game about them.(C)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#55Theme(Jam)4.20
#62Mood(Jam)3.86
#77Audio(Jam)3.80
#109Innovation(Jam)3.77
#174Graphics(Jam)3.97
#266Overall(Jam)3.49
#434Fun(Jam)3.14
#435Humor(Jam)2.70

Comments

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

Awesome graphics, nice game! Good job guys!

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

I won! I have to admit it was all luck though! The person that I thought was the killer and I was watching all the time actually ended up getting murdered.

Everything works well, but I do have a suggestion. When you get the anonymous note at the beginning it referred to the killer as male ("he" "him") but the murderer ended up being a woman.

Great game. Everything works together!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

good job!

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05am

Nice graphics and I like the whole "whodunnit" theme going on.

Nice little game. =)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05am

Reminds me of Godfather, I like the mafia style games, very good job.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08am

Loved the game. Excellent work!

cdwaddell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09am

I had a lot of fun with this game. I like how it is a mixture of a bunch of other types of games and Rear Window. I just started playing it to see what it was like and I found myself playing it and reading its' text and enjoying it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:10am

I really enjoyed this game. Way different from most of the other entries, and must've been fun/hard to write and program. Was it a reference to Hitchcock's Rear Window...?

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:10am

The mood for me is kinda ruined by the dialogue. Very innovative though.

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11am

Great concept and excellent graphics. Got a bit confused about what to do.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11am

Liked it. Took me a moment to figure it out, but nice game indeed. Replay elements and lots to pay attention to :)
Nice work guys :)

tielbyrd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12am

Very well done! Finding the murderer is trickier than I thought it would be.

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12am

Very good storyline

Notus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13am

In the game. Some situation - random. And every new game the killer choose randomly.
You must certanly remember killer's hobbies all time. Game has many variety dialogs (depends on who is killer) - they have to help you detect killer))

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14am

Not a big fan of detective game, but the graphics and music are incredible!

LuisGuimaraes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Everything perfect! :D Will it be improved to have more replayablity?

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19am

I love these kinds of games! You really managed to create a good mood here! The clues didn't really help me much though- I ended up being defeated :P - I will give it a go again, maybe trying a few times makes it easier to see a pettern. Good job!

yosh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

That was brilliant. Really hard though. Great use of the theme!

Thalia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

<< Was it a reference to Hitchcock's Rear Window...?
Yes, you are right. It is.
<< Will it be improved to have more replayablity?
Yes, it's possible to do. Now all these 10 characters can be combined for many different storyes with 10 finals. And game already has good replayablity.

Notus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

Fixed critical bug with character "Mary Takker"!! i guess all would be fine now))

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:04am

Masterpiece!

ajopart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Awesome !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Very interesting and nice graphics!
It is fun to play more even several times!
I really like the way you used the theme

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Мне понравилось. В начале я не понял ничего, но в конце концов я нашел убийца...
Mood is really oppressive like in the movie. Well done ++

Benjamin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:40pm

So good.
I never had such a detective feeling since Maupiti Island ( Amiga ) I played 3x times

Ithildin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great concept, but I admit that I lost two or three people before catching the murderer -_-U

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Nice mood, and col theme interpretation. I just couldn't find any clues as to who it would be every time.

deepnight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:15am

A very clever take on the theme, well done :)

Notus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:53am

Thanks you. We are happy that you enjoy our game.

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

This caught my eye! I liked the look of the screenshots and concept so I wanted to check it out.

Cool use of the theme! It took me a while to really try and work out 'how to play' and what was going on and what string of logic I needed to use to work out who the killer was. I spent a lot of the game early on paying attention to the text that seemed mostly unhelpful compared to where each person was at any point. I think some of the not-great english hurts the game a little as some lines are difficult to read or understand.

I noticed time could suddenly pass an hour even if I didn't click on a window which was very surprising given the timer moves in smaller increments by itself. The sudden loss of an hour while I was trying to work out "who was where" was a bit jarring.

Overall though I think the idea is pretty cool and could go a long way with some general polish and cleaner presentation.

Good job on making it!

Larzan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Great concept, music, art! Didn't manage to find the killer, but this i a well done game, congrats!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Awesome game! Good story and graphics. Great work!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I really like the layout of this a lot. I think it's a very cool concept of listening in and piecing together who could be the murderer. The only thing that's a little off for me is the fade transition between time and how short the conversations are - both make the game feel very abrupt. That said, those are things that will be worked out with polish and for 72 hours, this is a really cool start. I hope you continue building on it.

Thank you for sharing and congrats! :D

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:43am

Very nice girl! i love it's concept!cool work!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:30am

Victory! Great game mate.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:44pm

The graphics is amazing! Audio blends with the environment of the game, too. I'm deeply impressed!

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:12pm

The mood and music are excellent. The idea is cool but confusing and frustrating. Too much time between window clicks.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:06am

pretty interesting - but not really my style - i really like the style you went for tho

lemmily says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Good work, I managed to get the guy! :D

Sot says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Great atmosphere and good graphics!

Mechamew says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Simply brilliant.

I should mention straight away that Rear Window is a personal favourite, so maybe I'm a little swayed by your inspiration here ;)

Honestly though, this is a real stand out entry. Brilliant game mechanics - wonderful to see something that rewards observation and deduction. A great take on how to do detective games! Ties in very well to the jam's theme, which is quite a plus!

Looks good and sounds even better. Mostly, I'm just overjoyed to find an entry with such superb writing! And so much of it? Bravo!

This is a real gem! I hope it lands up being highly rated across he board. You should be very, very proud of what you've made here!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]