Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

What is in the end?

by goro - Jam Entry

We are glad to present you our first game! Inspired by the reflections of the infinite and Nolan's masterpiece.
You play as a black hole , and your goal is not to absorb McConaughey, as he is a great actor, isn't he?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#281Humor(Jam)3.04
#548Audio(Jam)2.55
#813Theme(Jam)3.15
#824Innovation(Jam)2.49
#883Mood(Jam)2.39
#906Graphics(Jam)2.26
#986Fun(Jam)2.12
#1018Overall(Jam)2.16

Comments

nsindrajith says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48am

end??

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

Nice job but has no story, but good job overall!

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:55am

There's no end. But still had fun!

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58am

McConaughey would be absorbed in this game.

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33am

A bit frustrating as sometimes you lose randomly (maybe because there is McConaughey coming in but not yet visible?)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:27am

My browser crashes ???
FireFox 34.0

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:34am

Took me a few goes to work out the controls, but an interesting idea once I understood it. Having the black hole instantly absorb in only one direction isn't particularly intuitive! Perhaps add animation showing things being dragged into the black hole, or replace the black hole with a giant laser that vaporises in each direction?

Lots of scope for a very playable game here, if you choose to continue working on it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I loved the music and the background! I got a tad confused at the controls though, as my WASD did apparantly do nothing? Somehow I won the game without realising what was happening. Good luck and Merry Christmas!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

More player feedback needed so you can help them understand what their controls are doing. Cool audio tho!

S0rax says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice compo, but it's cheat because Interstellar is one of the best movie than I've seen. (The ambient music work good with the game's theme)

NeithR says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Nice entry :).
Also, if blackhole apocalypse is happening, we can use McConaughey to protect us :D.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Crazy interestellar game! Once you get the controls is fun! Good job!

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:07pm

what is happening

Shivur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:13pm

This game have something hypnotic.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Cool game, Just slow refreshing it everytime I had to replay it

schnerble says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:30am

I wanted to absorb McConaughey! ;) ... but I know that isn't the point of the game. Nice graphics and sound. Good work!

pht59x says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:13am

I won but couldn't explain why! Is the thing in the middle some sort of black hole? Anyway nice backround and sound.

MaesK says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Nice game, a bit confusing at the beginning, as you may lose because of some Matthew (not in sight) in that sector, killing him accidentally :| A very selective dark hole, if it attracts from a single direction :D

shyupuff says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Interesting mechanics. Hard to understand sometimes what made me lose, but overall nice job! :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:01am

Reminds me Interstellar xD

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Cool background music and easy to understand

gallerdude says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Woo, another game inspired by Nolan! Mine is based on Inception!

wavertron says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

Hmmm, the WASD controls, I couldnt really see how they worked :/
Sound and Art are nice

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:45am

Made me dizzy! Didn't really understand the mechanics? At first I would die almost instantly. Then I read som of the comments and one of them said that you absorb in one direction at a time when one of the WASD-keys are pressed. When I tried this nothing at all happened. The game would just keep on going.

Valeour says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Interesting game. Bit annoying, but nice idea. :)

Wir says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:52pm

not bad idea, but there was a time i could do nothing because that guy was so often there and any direction would have killed him. What is the criteria to win? suddenly had You Win

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]