Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

EverChangingMaze

by rzfmzn - Compo Entry

Hey There :)
Wellcome to Ever Changing Maze.
In this game you will battle your friend or my super advanced AI (it speaks 4 languages, including klingon, can drive 12 vehicles and is able to WIN an argue against its wife) to see who prevails.
The maze change every 5 seconds. Only one can have each power up. Collect coins in the maze, shot your foe or collide with it!

The game was made in (more or less) 20 hours from idea to this post.

I placed some music in it. BUT there is a version without music since the music was downloaded from FMA. I made a web version where there is no music for compo purposes. If I did everything correctly, the embedded version below is the CORRECT one (for compo sake).

Timelapse of some of my work is here: http://youtu.be/kAH6MH1iAMU
Compo web version (for some reason the game does not fit the window)
http://www.shoyugames.com.br/Jogos/LD31/NoMusic


My Brand is Shoyu Games. Shoyu is in one of the pictures below, he is addopted and is "brandless" (street dog) so I give this little guy a home and a brand :P :)

My aim is educational games, I just love making games for kids (specially my daughter hehe) :)


Known Problems (to be fixed in a postCompo Version)
* there is a huge lag when you fire your first shot (only the first one) (for some reason, don`t know why, sometimes it does not happen :/ )
* I did not make the music, so use the one without it to vote!
* My AI sucks, bad. Yes, I lied up there. I tried, a lot, but my programming skills did not help me solve this riddle. Depending on how well the game goes in the compo I will ask a good friend for some help developing a better AI.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#685Innovation2.95
#753Theme3.45
#785Humor2.16
#900Fun2.69
#914Mood2.51
#943Overall2.81
#984Graphics2.41

Comments

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:17am

Nice concept :) I bet its more fun against another player, but i had some fun time playing with the ai trying to catch me xD.

Arowx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19am

Like the idea, although I think you should have included the dog image as a sprite in the game.

You need to look into A*Pathfinding for the AI or you can cheat by using physics and just adding bounce and a test to see if the AI has not moved to change direction.

Or there are some simple rules for finding your way out of a maze that might have helped check on wikipedia.

olligobber says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21am

Couldn't play on web for Linux so downloaded, hence no rating on Audio. Game instructions were quite confusing, but the game was fairly fun to play, and quite well done.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29am

Took me a bit to figure out the HUD (didn't realise that a red border around an item meant the enemy had bought it) but once I got into it the game was pretty fun. I like how the maze is both dark and ever-changing, it really keeps you on your toes.

Think I found a bug though: Items seem to carry over when you start a new game. Unlocked the speed boost, died, started another solo game and I still had turbo speed without buying the item.

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Will admit I didn't really get it. Think it has something to do with the opening screen being very uninviting.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Quite

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Liked the changing maze concept.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08am

Requires 2 players to play at fullest potential :)

Rothens says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Please do something with the title screen.. :( It's very confusing.. anyway, after I found out what I have to do, it was cool :)

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I like the idea, but I found the instructions confusing.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Cool game, the AI is relentless, the only thing that can protect you are the walls. If they disappear and the AI is near you, almost impossible to escape!
I still have to try with another player! Good job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Nicely put together i imagine it more fun with two:)
the shop controls were less intuitive though :/

A* would also be a nice addition to the single player but then again, don't make the Ai to smart :)

Neil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Quite nice, a bit lonely as a solo game, and the AI got the shooty powerup and destroyed me!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:49am

interesting concept but very buggy. super speed can go through walls, sometimes just randomly resets, could go below 0 health

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:10pm

really nice idea.

Louisload says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:10pm

fun game, probably a lot better with someone to play with, I had to play against the AI

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]