Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ghoul Rush

by ChaosCult - Jam Entry

Ghoul Rush is a game about small-scale apocalypse. You play as a necromancer hell-bent on converting entire villages into undead. Unfortunately, your brain-eating minions are really stupid (duh!) and you have to control them manually - all at the same time!

The game uses lots of paid and free graphics assets from Unity Asset Store. We've also used free sounds from freesound.org by DjCHAOS, Sonic, jorickhoofd, Under7dude, MrPokephile.

Music is "Fluffing a Duck" by Kevin McLeod, http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Kevin_MacLeod/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#33Fun(Jam)3.95
#58Overall(Jam)3.93
#107Humor(Jam)3.58
#199Mood(Jam)3.50
#233Innovation(Jam)3.51
#765Theme(Jam)3.22

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Very cute zombie apocalypse.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:44am

Very Cute I really liked it

Jaloko says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:47am

Awesome graphics and audio. I liked the further levels where you could get skeleton warriors.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:48am

Fun game, and it gets more and more challenging. I like it. But how does it fit the theme? :)

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51am

@janovbyrnisson Well, it's all on a single screen, isn't it?... Kind of a stretch, I know (-8

lisac says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38am

I never thought that the zombie apocalyse could be so cute!

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:43am

This is a really fun little game, love the humor and the concept! Really nice art/audio too.

jfreax says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46am

Nice zombie game. Good graphic and super sound effects ;)

Unfortunately the pathfinding is sub-optimal. The persons tend to go straight to the edge and get stuck there. So it's too easy to catch them.

Overall it's a nice little game with a lot of potential.

jhice says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47am

I rated enough high for all except for the theme (although the screen is static there is more than one screen).

Very challenging (at level 4 or 5 with the skeletons and the guy shooting bullets).

Very well made :)

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:28am

Pretty cute ! love it ^^

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:41am

This was pretty fun to play, good job.

Emkani says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:44am

A dude with a gun and hat totally wrecked me. Nice clean concept.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Fun game, nice idea! I have trouble connecting it to the theme though, as others said too...

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Very neat game, but sometimes in the first level my zombies got stuck on the fence and couldn't move, made me lose.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I loved the game - it would make a very fun mobile game too. Great work!

Vtor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Good mechanic.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Fun and clever, but seems to have ignored the theme.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Very funny! I liked the "braaains" they say all the time!

charlesque says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Wow, awesome ! I really like the game design and the realization is great too. Very nice game :)

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Well polished! It's very satisfying to control a zombie army to destroy the gunman hahaha

Iak says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30pm

It seems a little unrelated to the theme, but I do quite like the gameplay.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

@raincole it's a Van Hellsing =)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:12am

Really nice and well polished entry. Had a lot of fun playing this and I like how each of your zombies' movements are independent from each other (which makes for some pretty interesting brain eating strategies).

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:29am

Nice outline shader! gameplay is simple and fun! Good entry!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:31am

Simple but really well made and clean! Good job here ;)

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice concept of control. Game not really connected to theme. But, anyway thats a great work! I like it.

Teesquared says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Cool and innovative way to control your zombies. Very fun and complete game.

gmaker says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:18pm

It's HIGH FiVE stars! Awesome graphics and music and moood, I loved it all! Thanks

gillenew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Very good and addictive game :)

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Nice and fun. Great job ! :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Damn! I love this game!
Nice graphic, funny gameplay, nice music. 10/10 Well done! :D

Si1ver says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Hello from Microsoft #GamesJam!
Kawaii undeads rullz! Five stars!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Really good graphics. Simple gameplay, I enjoy it!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Super! Lot of fun. Gameplay about supremacy. Good graphics. Intuitive controls. Soft learning curve. No blah-blah text. Perfect combination. Only one bug - sometimes you can't see people and zombies behind nearest objects (walls).

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:32am

Wow. Really well done. Nice animations.

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:34pm

very cool audio and graphics.
great fun. congrats

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Very funny game ^^ The sounds are super and it looks good too :)

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:36pm

what a nice cartoon zombie game)
I like the idea of controlling swarm of undeads
You should definitely release full game in future!

kipelovets says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Wow, really neat game. The controls are perfect — it's so fun to control a real crown of zombies with my only WASD.
I personally really like zombie theme)

t4u says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:14am

Smooth controls. Cute graphics. Nice audio. Loads of fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]