Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

31 Sugar Free

by MurderSantaTeam - Jam Entry

Hello LudumDare-ers !

Here comes MurderSantaTeam (name picked on the spot).
Our game is a combination of the “tower defense” and RTS genres.
The game consists of just one map, with many waves of enemies (unlimited) and a present box (that’s the base, really).
We didn’t have any special ideas regarding the jam theme, just the obvious one: put everything on the screen.
And since it’s almost christmas time, we added some candy bars, jellybeans and chocolate.

CONTROLS:
mouse left - select units
mouse middle - move camera.
mouse right - move units.
there are 3 buttons to spawn troops.
And shortcuts (for lazy players):
WASD / arrows - move camera
1/2/3 - spawn troops

Now, in case you wonder what you need to do to win the game, the answer is simple: YOU CAN’T, MUHAHAHA (evil laugh …)
This is a survival game; the point is to survive as many enemy waves as possible (more than 2-3 would be great).

With that said, have fun :)


PS. sadly, none of us was a 3D artist, so we had to use some free 3D models from web. So we disabled the Graphics rating :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#515Audio(Jam)2.66
#643Humor(Jam)2.31
#724Fun(Jam)2.75
#772Mood(Jam)2.65
#852Innovation(Jam)2.42
#856Overall(Jam)2.76
#992Theme(Jam)2.28

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:20pm

looks really cool, but I'm on mac so can't play :/

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Looks quite fun , and i like graphics, i would only suggest you to increase camera angle a little bit, just maybe 10 degrees, maybe its just me but i dont like straight vertical view.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:34pm

What engine did you use? Bloom effect looks cool

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Terrain and FX look great ! Your troop are a bit difficult to see but the game still plays nicely. Nice entry ;)

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice! Awsome work in 48h! I got beat up real bad every time I tried it :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:14pm

It's not really clear who your guys are or, initially, where they spawn. Also, the first wave seems to include five times the number of troops you're able to spawn in the same amount of time.

also, as a Unity game it shouldn't be too hard to publish this as a web game. You'd get more exposure too. Free gaming hosts can be found in the FAQ: http://ludumdare.com/compo/faq/

esaygin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:45am

looks very nice , Good graphics

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51am

Nice, good difficulty level.

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:57am

Nice execution but I feel this doesn't really capture the jam's theme. I like the fact that you can control your summons. RTS movement and controls feel pretty slick too.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:18am

glad you like our games :D
we added a web version on kongragate ... hope it works :)

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:39am

Nice graphics and FX.

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42am

The file doesn't do anything, running OS X, if I run the .app file Terminal opens... then nothing.

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I get a "Cannot be opened" error on the mac.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14pm

oh well, since none of us had any Mac to test on, we shall just give up the Mac version.
sorry :|
you can still play on the web :)

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Very nice game, good graphics and use of effects.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:46pm

A cool RTS, but the sound effects are extremely loud. It's also not clear what is happening as soon as you load in.

kaype says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

I loooooooove the music and sound effects!

The gameplay is good, but I don't see how it really relates to the theme.

Demy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50pm

This game is difficult to control, but looks nice. And i love this snowflakes from the screen, i don't know why.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Pressing space didn't start the game (web version). I was stuck on the instructions.

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Nice RTS game :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:56pm

nice, interesting tower defense game

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Really solid entry. Not my favourite genre, but it is innovative and fun.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:47pm

The graphics are outstanding in this game, nice job :)

davidB says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:35pm

No linux version ? (web plugin doesn't exist for linux)

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Good Work ^^

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I like how the game looks and the fact that you are defending a huge present! It was a bit hard to see what my units were doing and I eventually got overwhelmed trying to defend. Neat little game!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Neat game, very Christmassy theme.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:21am

Cool take on an RTS made in 48 hours. Very challenging!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:41pm

It was a fun game also has some good visuals but i must say it sure is hard to play :p. good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]