Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Forest Mind

by Lissaring - Jam Entry

Update: Stand alone downloads are found on the itch.io page if you wish to go that route! Just scroll down a bit to find them.



Your body may be planted into the ground, but your mind is free. Recreate the world around you and find a way to free your body.

Left and right arrows change seasons, up and down reforms the forest around you.

A bit of a liberal interpretation of the theme! I ended up making a second that more closely adheres to it.

Check out my compo entry over here: The Last Room http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=27179

Created with:

Construct 2
Pyxel Edit
Bosca Ceoil

Note: The itch.io version is finally up and working!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Mood(Jam)4.19
#90Graphics(Jam)4.24
#143Audio(Jam)3.58
#202Overall(Jam)3.61
#212Innovation(Jam)3.56
#317Theme(Jam)3.74
#615Fun(Jam)2.90
#658Humor(Jam)2.28
#1818Coolness36%

Comments

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:29am

Either this is very creepy or it didn't work properly on my computer. Great graphics, anyway.

xerohuang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04am

Nice art and game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:05am

Quite a cool game! Has a nice atmosphere and is very relaxing to play (: I like how you find out how to do particular things over time, really adds up for exploration! 4/5 !

apiotrw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:06am

Good job on the graphics

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13am

Interesting concept, but hard to understand how to play (I mean to achieve any relevant result), or maybe it didnt work properly in my case.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:15am

Cool! It took me a while to get, but I did manage to get to the end. It would be nice to have some more direct feedback on the actions of the player, like making it more clear that you take stuff with you once it's in your circle. Also, at first I didn't know the shrine was the shrine.

Next to that, I really enjoyed it! Neat little experience :)

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:33am

Very soothing experience. I felt a little lost, but I enjoyed exploring what the game had to offer and figuring things out for myself.

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53am

Fantastic!! Loved the trees the best! they wouldn't stop screaming when I was talking to the shrine though V_V

Many Star!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13am

I didn't arrive to the end. The mood was great. The music was a bit repetitive, but still gave the mood a special note. Graphics are fantastic.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:33am

interesting very artistic, its lovely

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Beautiful game! I really loved the art style and it fit with the theme really well.

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Loved the pixel art and atmosphere. But didn't quite understand the story.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46am

Beautiful work. I smiled at the end. That's an upvote in my book!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:01am

Very nice and smoothing, really felt like a great experience, I WANTED MORE THINGS IN MY CIRCLE !!! :p

tcarter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:44am

Gorgeous and somber. So good.

vatigo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:32pm

I don't get it but art and music are nice.

farwyler says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:27pm

What a lovely game. I realy enjoyed the colordesign

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:21am

This was a pretty and colorful-looking game. The game drag-and-drop/screen switching worked with the theme pretty well.

Night says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:37am

I liked atmosphere and sound very much, but i think that game should be mo responsible to player's actions. Anyway, it full of mystery and has nice art.

ponk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:20pm

That's a really nice entry ... !
Beautiful pixels and super cool effect. Impressive !!

I don't know if you interested, but I've written a fragment shader that kind of look like your awesome effect.
You can see it here : https://www.shadertoy.com/view/XsSXzV

Anyway, great work !

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:25pm

nice, very moody, love the combination between sound and visuals. well done

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Beautiful, loved the theme/atmosphere of the game!
Had a hard time figuring it out, since you didn't wrote in the description that you can use your mouse.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Very surreal! Love the art, really quite enjoyable. Well done!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I featured your game at GameARTMonday: http://buff.ly/1qT3S6k
along with other beautiful Ludum Dare games.

Cheers! :)

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Love the art, relaxing mood!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]