Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Creep Arena

by jeffjk - Compo Entry

Creep Arena is a classic arcade style side-view arena in the mold of Mario Bros. or Donkey Kong, but with the modern twist of tower defense.

EDIT
-Cash counter was not resetting with the level, rendering the game unwinnable after a few rounds! I added the reset action.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#371Audio3.00
#792Innovation2.79
#806Overall2.95
#827Fun2.80
#841Graphics2.65
#920Mood2.50
#992Theme3.16
#2075Coolness26%

Comments

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Loved this game! Mixing TD with DonkeyKong type games is a wonderful idea. Music was fun! Graphics could have used a little polishing. Good job :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:08am

I think the turrets are a bit too efficient-- I set up two on the center platform at the very start of the game and didn't have to touch a single enemy afterwards.

Also, the protagonist looks like Dr. Phage from Awful Hospital and that terrifies me.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

Very nice entry. Turrets are too over powered, but still nice entry :)

nuqu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Hey I really liked the game, nice sound (music is awesome) and I like the mechanics with 3 different weapons :) Solid platform shooter!

Alendro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:12am

This is pretty fun. I like that the bombs are delayed so you have to time it just right. Good Job!

Javabot says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:12am

Sadly, too easy to camp.

Larry says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:17am

My thoughts were: "This is easy.", "That's a lot of money", "Enemies are falling really fast.", "I want that money", "Damn it. I died". At least my score keeps going up after I died. I really enjoyed this game.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:18am

Cool! it was a lot of fun to run/jump around, though not having control of the height of my jump made it hard to avoid hitting enemies sometimes.

It seems that if you put a mine on the bottom floor and hide behind the spawners there's no way for them to get to you.

I'd also love for the text to be bigger, it took me a while to figure out how much everything cost.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:18am

Cool idea! Fun game. Turrets definitely OP.

dkellycollins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:21am

Cool idea. Although I was able to set everything up so that nothing could get through pretty quickly. Might introduce the crabs, the gun, and mine later in the game to extended it.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:24am

Not bad. Would have liked the introductions to be a little bit more visible.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:54am

This was fun for a little while, although like others have said, it is very easy to make an impenetrable barrier using only your starting money. My high score is 6070. Wait, now 6380. It's still going up after I died :)

I also agree that the font should pop more. I found the keys by hitting random buttons before I noticed the text!

I like the simple music and graphics. Overall this is nice!

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:15am

Top score 380!

This game was tight. A great little arcade game with a perfeclty frustrating level of challenge.

Only problem (besides that I can't stop the song while writing this comment) is that I think I broke it. If you place the cheap bombs in the center platform at the right timing you can just stand there in infinite explosions and collect the coins as the guys fall into the explosions. I screwed it up but feel like I could have had an infinite run that way. Maybe not though.

Anyway, I really had a good time with this, great work!

Harley77 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:40am

This is an awesome concept that would be awesome if expanded. Great job!

bitserum says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:15am

It's a nice idea and fun, but too easy. 4-6 Turrets is pretty much all that's needed

Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Quite fun to play, too bad the enemy pattern keeps repeating and the turrets are invicible. Also, it is really hard to read the controls at the bottom. Otherwise great job !

jpmit says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Cool music and interesting graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]