Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lombom

by Kevin_twenty7 - Compo Entry

Lombom.

The entire game is on one screen. You move your player by teleporting it across the screen, in an attempt to avoid color changing tile block things that may or may not look cool. You teleport only after the tiles are finished doing their thing changing colors, but you can only set where you will teleport to while they're changing colors.

There are also shiny objects. You'll want those. They make the game harder as you collect them, but they do give you points.

Also, I created this game using GameMaker Studio.


Edit: Thanks for the feedback! I will add visuals to notify the player when they press the arrow keys in future versions of the game.

Bugfix: The shiny objects will no longer randomly disappear from the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Innovation3.70
#256Theme3.86
#273Fun3.40
#472Mood3.00
#899Overall2.86
#1052Graphics2.25
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

This game is lots of fun. Took me a minute to get used to the arrows and not just guessing where I was going. I like how the teleport speeds up to add challenge. Well done

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:38pm

That was neat. The concept of having to visualize where the character will end up at the end of a "turn" was fun. I think it would have been even better if there was a sound effect that verified movement though, because sometimes I'd hit the arrow keys before the tiles appeared and those don't register, which threw me off my game. Other than that little complaint I'd say this was pretty cool.

The Jahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Pretty interesting. Could use some indication that something's changing when you hit the arrow keys.

Not necessarily a cursor, I kind of like having to work out where I'm going to go in my head. Maybe just a directional counter?

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice game mechanics, but the gameplay needs more support by the visuals and sounds.

berkano says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Neat concept! Very tempting to try & be clever with the moves but I end up getting burned each time :-)

rogberth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57pm

It also took me time to understand the mechanics. The game was nice, simple and smart.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:01pm

I really like what's presented here, even though it's a bit rough at the edges. It seems pretty unique, and I like unique games! :)
While I can imagine the not seeing where you will teleport exactly as an intended mechanic, I feel that there should be some feedback as to where you're going. Maybe a little blink in the direction you're moving, every time you press an arrow key? Not showing the destination, but showing the general direction, as well as showing the player that he's doing the right thing.
Other than that, nice game!

sausagroll says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Really creative idea, my suggestion would be to add a sort of indicator of where you will teleport and a countdown to when you will teleport for the first few teleports so players know what they are doing straight away. After the first few teleports then you could take them away and then the player has to guess. I'm not very experienced with game design but I think that would make a new player's experience better.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Very nice yet simple idea, and it gets quite challenging too! Good job!

colludium says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Neat little game. Nice work.

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:08am

I like the concept. I found the block color change times to be a little too long though. It made the game pace feel drawn out, rather than snappy and fun.

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Nice game,,

Scam says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Nice idea, took me a couple of plays to understand how to play. Some kind of feedback of your button presses would be good.

Renaldo says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:29pm

The game is quite fun and innovative. I liked the graphics but I got confused by the changing colors and what they meant. A great entry!

Harley77 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:34am

Once I got the mechanics down, I had a lot of fun with this. Good job!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:31am

Love the smiley-screen

Canyon says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

Great mechanic, with some better audio and graphics this could be really interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]