Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Press the buttons !

by jlouisB - Compo Entry

Save the screen from the bad chip...

The game is not very well finished and the ennemies are sometimes a bit buggy, but it's done, my first LD :)


EDIT : Sorry but the controls have been made for an AZERTY keyboard. You should switch you keyboard to AZERTY to play (probably alt+maj for a qwerty keyboard) :(




EDIT 2 : I have added arrow keys control for the players who have a QWERTY keyboard.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#760Humor2.20
#769Theme3.44
#1002Innovation2.42
#1003Graphics2.38
#1057Mood2.17
#1123Fun2.23
#1145Overall2.41

Comments

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:55pm

The controls are a bit weird for my liking, switching keyboard-modes didn't do anything for me.
Nice idea and execution, I dig the combination of 2D and 3D

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Hard controls for me =( and switching didn't work.
But Good Work! Thanks for the funny game.

jlouisB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Thanks for your feedbacks :)

Sorry, I have made a mistake, it's Maj+alt to change the keyboard mode, not Tab+alt.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Controls are not intuitive at all; I feel as if you had so many options to make something that a majority of people would be comfortable with. That aside, the game was pretty solid once I got used to it.. Nice.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Ah finally got it figured out! Clever idea, and nice job! Graphics are a little dark but I guess that is by design :)

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18pm

The fact that the game would become impossible fairly early on ruined it for me. And the fact that the default controls wasn't QWERTY is quite frustrating. I couldn't seem to swap, either.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19pm

It seems like I can only move down and right. Maybe we can only move in a positive direction?

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I don´t know, how to move properly with character. Sometimes fall the whole path to some button, so I can´t simply step on it. But nice game with nice graphic!

Asado says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:39pm

More or less mediocre, especially with the controls... Still, quite cool.

jlouisB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42pm

@internetspaulicy : No, it's that the game has been made for AZERTY keyboards. Switch to AZERTY.

jlouisB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Many people seem can't move the character, so I have added an arrow keys control for the non-azerty keyboard.

LabOne says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51pm

19:50 08/12/2014 (UTC+0), game is not available.

jlouisB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:59pm

what is the problem ?

rancoud says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Simple and nice!

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Good Work ^^

Ossi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:11am

Cool concept. I like the simplicity of the graphics and the moody dark setting. Having the ground fall beneath you is a nice touch and it created a scenario for me where I had to hug a corner to get to the last button! Congrats on your first Ludum Dare! Well done!

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Dificult to play,, but a good game

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Random dropping level with the way the AI works meant you could build unwinnable scenarios.

Buttons seemed a bit glitchy, not triggering green when you touched them. It was possible to get trapped between rocks and such.

Otherwise not bad - just needs some proper tiling.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:34am

I like the concept a lot, and the arrow controls work great. I found that it was pretty hard though, because the enemies sometimes block the buttons.

egor-idiot says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Crazy game %)

Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:17am

this was a cool game it is pretty hard though ahah but fun none the less :D.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]