Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

HehPal

by chakitp - Compo Entry

Controls: Hold/release Spacebar to switch character.

Description:
HehPal....
Its a fun game, which is simplistic, and yet challenging. In this Game you have to be in right color/shape at right time (that's what HehPal means in Hindi, i.e if you miss this moment). If you are unable to do so, you will die. Same colors will not kill each other, different colors will.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#731Mood2.73
#752Innovation2.87
#808Humor2.09
#890Fun2.71
#995Overall2.73
#1066Theme2.97
#1113Graphics2.10

Comments

MrPhil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47am

I really liked the music.

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48am

put your .exe and your data folder in a zip file. It makes it easy for users to download. other wise users must download every file individually.

Snuux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09am

Like it! Minimalistic, but great!

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Reminded me of bit trip runner for some reason. But with just two states it get's old rather quickly :(

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Could you put the downloads into zips please? I'm not gonna download every file of the .app folder one at a time...

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Like a superfast chameleon. Seems you made the music from scratch, sad I couldn't rate it.

Srinu7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13am

Very Nice Game.....

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54pm

nice game,very addictive,i can't stop playing it... my score is 120.

chakitp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57am

@Catwheel @BtheDestroyer Have put it in Zip...

Thanks all For Rating..
Pls post Your Score in Comments.
My Score is 126 :p

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:11am

Can you put your OS X .App file in a zip? It's just a folder and we'd have to download each file individually to get your game running.

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:12am

Can you put your OS X .App file in a zip? It's just a folder and we'd have to download each file individually to get your game running.

sirival says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:31am

Good job

ajopart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41am

simple concept but nice execution

chakitp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:24pm

@masterhyjinx, have Included in .zip. Download it and start having fun..

Louisload says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:05pm

simple and fun game :D

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:07pm

The music is awesome! I want to rate the sound! I got to 70 the first time, and right when it was starting to get really difficult, the music stopped and I thought it was over, only to get the "They call it Dubstep!" and the game just kept getting more intense! Such a cool feeling, nicely done. Extremely simple concept that just works, and it keeps increasing in difficulty in a well balanced manner, at least as far as I got. If it keeps increasing at the same speed, a late game might be virtually impossible. It's also smartly done that the two different shapes also have different colors, although I personally try to avoid comparing green and red, since red/green colorblindness is not very uncommon. Well done!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Interesting game. Nice soundtrack and good minimalist gameplay. I felt like it wasn't quite successful though. I wasn't a fan of the graphics, and the gameplay got stale pretty quickly. I think that with such a simple mechanic it needs to be difficult right from the start so that the player is always on their toes and always engaged. Also, I thought it might be cool if the blocks/balls came from any arbitrary part of the screen's edge, rather than just the sides.

Cool idea though, and congrats on the soundtrack.

Renaldo says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Quite addictive! I am really bad at these games, but I couldn't stop playing. Nice job!

chakitp says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:45pm

@BoxedMeatRevolution : Have Kept it easy initially so that amateure user can get used to the controls, once they are then speed increases.

@little-burrito : After some time speed doesnt increase. it wold be same. in that case user can not make any mistakes.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:26am

Well-executed simple game. More challenging than it looks.

The music building up at the same time as the gameplay gets much more fast and frantic.... amazing. It felt like the stakes were very high!

It would be nice to have instructions displayed on-screen at the start.

Good work!

chakitp says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:54am

@rjhunter : Thanks for review.. And there are instructions on front menu..

Divitos says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:38am

Game crashed every time.
No error what-so-ever, just crashed.

chakitp says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

@Divitos : there are two zips.. One for 32 bit and other for 64bit OS. Have you tried other..

lxd1 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:42am

Fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]