Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Wild Wipers

by Quikding - Compo Entry

Welcome to Wild Wipers!

*draw your wiper, then you can use Left + Right keys to control it!*

example play: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKJ3tpU_2po

In this highly customizable arcade game YOU create your very own Wiper every time you play! First, drag from the sun to 'draw' your wiper. Now, use either the keyboard Left/Right or Mouse Clicks to control your wiper. Prevent the red balls from touching the ground, while allowing green balls to pass through.

Can YOU become the World's Greatest Wiper?

Android build: http://quikding.com/wiper/wiper_2c.apk

Made in Multimedia Fusion 2.5

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#254Innovation3.58
#404Humor2.72
#668Audio2.51
#866Mood2.57
#993Fun2.53
#1066Theme2.97
#1068Overall2.61
#1167Graphics1.89

Comments

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:39pm

I don't really understand how to play, and the game lags really bad. But its a cool concept and the audio is pretty good.

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Draw out your 'wiper' and then capture the red balls with it while letting the green balls pass through. Sorry, it's not clear enough and a bit buggy :( Thanks for trying!

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:51pm

The sounds freaked me out at first, interesting gameplay. Very difficult though

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:53pm

A good challenging concept!
But yeah the game is a bit laggy :P

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Really hard to control, and not knowing what is ahead makes it nearly impossible.

That song tho omg. A++

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58pm

It is an innovative concept, but quite confusing; the sound is also good. A couple of issues I had:
1. The game is lags a lot. I have a very good computer, but it really struggled (it was actually difficult to scroll down to do this review.
2. I wasn't sure what to do with the yellow balls, it seemed like they were hurting if I let them go down.
3. The red balls stay on the screen too long. I had difficulty right from the start when I had multiple red balls appear quickly or a red and a green ball spawn next to each other.

borgi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41pm

It did not lag for me! But it is still a bit hard to rotate my creature, coz I have to hit it precisely with my mouse! Cool game anyways!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Really good music! Cool art style! Its really nice to build your own way of playing.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Pretty interesting concept but the web build is very difficult to play. I can't just hold the mouse button down and rotate my contraption left and right. Instead the game only seems to register one rotation direction until I click down again with the mouse. This makes it very challenging and frustrating to react to the game. Did not try it on android.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19am

This would make a pretty fun little mobile game! I wish I had an android to test out the apk. Fun game - you should definitely think about cleaning it up a little and submitting it to Google Play.

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03am

Seems to lag a lot. I think I found a good wiper, though. It can hold balls, and wiggle a bit to release the ones on top.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:05pm

this is pretty cool, you might be able to do some really interesting things with it

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:15am

Good idea but needs a bit more of work. Anyway I played it on my phone and it worked smooth and well :)

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:41pm

It also lags on my phone and laptop, making it difficult to do what I want which is to really slap the balls. Anyway, this is a great idea even without letting the player draw the wiper, and drawing the wiper makes it more interesting because it always feels like there's a more efficient way to draw it.

Quikding says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:17am

I've continued working on this and it's in a MUCH better state than this weekend. If you vote on Wild Wipers, you should vote based on the build presented here, but if you want to try a much updated and improved version, you can here:
http://quikding.com/wipers
thanks for playing and commenting everyone!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Neat concept!

GagaPete says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:38am

You should use another hoster. The current redirects to a porn site when visiting from mobile, even in the iframe...

Quikding says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:57pm

GagaPete: fixed, sorry about that. hacked .htaccess

Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:41pm

With a bit of polish, this is a very innovative and interesting concept you got here. Something along an action-puzzle, where you to draw proper forms and than use them in fiddly action situations.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]