Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

☃ Jingle Calls ☃

by C63 Industries - Jam Entry

This game was programmed in C# and only uses WinForms. It should be able to run on Linux and OSX using Mono (http://mono-project.com).


We took the theme of "Entire Game on One Screen" and decided to make a game about screening calls! (It's also on one screen.)

In ☃ Jingle Calls ☃ , you play ☃ , secretary to Mr. Claws at the North Pole. Mr. Claws doesn't want to be disturbed, except by callers that he wants to talk to, so screen them carefully! If you make Santa mad, you might get a pinkslip.


Jingle Calls was created by: Jesse W. Schirmer, Charlotte M. Ellett, Stephanie Clark, Ashley West

If you're going to PAX South, swing by booth #1551 and say hello!

The team was hosted by MindGear Labs (http://mindgearlabs.com).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#261Humor(Jam)3.09
#342Innovation(Jam)3.28
#761Theme(Jam)3.23
#863Mood(Jam)2.46
#914Overall(Jam)2.66
#939Graphics(Jam)2.02
#958Fun(Jam)2.26

Comments

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16am

Pretty funny. Reminds me of Papers Please. And it triggers the visceral reaction to a phone ringing that you get once you've taken enough client support calls.

I wasn't completely clear on how the hang up/transfer worked. There were times that I felt like the conversation wanted me to transfer or hang up, but they just called right back later (without the previous context).

vogon101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36am

Quite Funny

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36am

I do agree with dylanwolf that it is a bit like papers please, but anyways fantastic game.

aeveis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:07am

It was interesting to see sort of a story from from the phone calls. I guess Santa here is pretty racist.

The hanging up and holding was a bit confusing to me, as people would call me back asking about the same thing. I'm not sure what the number pad is for. I think I only ever got a response from Santa for transferring the duck.

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35am

Is the transfer button didn't work or that i used it too much?

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42am

This is cool, there's a lot of text put into this one. One criticism I have is sometimes the conversations get tangled and the dialogue makes no sense but I guess that's part of the charm!

esaygin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47am

Interesting!

Wilson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37am

Cool game, I enjoyed it, though as dylanwolf says sometimes the transfer/hanging up doesn't seem to end a conversation (unless you've already said a line to the effect that you're transferring or hanging up?).

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:39am

Pretty good stuff, funny. I didn't like how the old conversation options stayed on screen and you could go back to responding to their first remark after a full conversation and they didn't mind.

skonkan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:57am

Great idea. Fun calls to answer. But I did not understand how to transfer or send them to the boss.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Very cool little game you have here.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Cool take on the theme. I also the same issue with being confused about the hang up & transfer - if people explained why they called back, rather than just picking up with the same dialog options for you, that'd go a long way to clarify it.

StMatn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Awesome game!

The duck call was really great :D
The game did bug out for me after some time. It seemed santas mom kept calling all the time and I had all the previous answering options but no geeting aviable. Draging the windows around was a bit unasthetically, because it didnt move smoothly.

All in all awesome work!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Beautiful concept :3 Graphics needs some work

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Cool! It's a nice and funny little game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Well done on the texts, I love how the backstory unfolds through these phone calls. But the options you get to say are a bit weird sometimes, because they stick around after the conversation has moved on. There were a few more bugs (I think), because when I hung up on someone, I'd just get them back with a blank screen and no options to say anything. Transferring them didn't seem to help.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Interesting, nice job! I agree with several others in that the dialogue options got a little overwhelming, though.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:14am

Interesting game, I just couldn't find a lose condition so after a while it felt like I could press anything and reading didn't even matter anymore.

Nice back story. Made taking calls more interesting.

As others have said, having previous chat options lingering even when you've moved past that point of the conversation can lead to nonsensical conversations. That said, there seemed to be a lot of text there, so I'll admit that tying up all the speech could get pretty tricky.

The game was kind of laggy for me. It took much longer than usual to draw a simple window. I found the way you could only have one conversation up at a time not necessarily bad, but the fact that the window got placed OVER the phonepad every time I answered a call made it annoying to click and drag each time.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:19am

Cool and ubique little game! Well done!

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:24am

Definitely not your average cookie cutter game, which I appreciate. Some of the dialog options were a bit clunky until you get used to how the game wants you to interact with it, but not too bad all in all.

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:47am

A bit buggy, but lots of content. A fair amount of story in just a minimal interface. Nice work!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05am

I liked the idea of the game a lot! Man Santa is a huge jerk apparently. :O

One comment is it keeps the dialogue options all the time, so I could say a response to something that happened way earlier in the conversation.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:13am

Not my type of game but I guess it's appealing to some.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02am

Awesome game! I love it :D

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03am

Pretty funny experience. The game seemed a bit buggy though. I would get a lot of calls that looked like they were mid-conversation (none of the options looked like a greeting so I just had to select something at random). Also, transfers didn't seem to always work because the light would still be on for the line I was on. Regardless I did enjoy the calls and discovering the silly story from bits and pieces of the conversations.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39am

Seconding the constructive criticism from everyone. Felt like I could hang up on people, or transfer them, and they'd just call back to continue the conversation where they left off, with no context whatsoever. Couldn't win or lose, only see the story unfold with no clear end. Characters were all great, I wanted hear from more people, helped in part because I wanted the same ones to stop calling me.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:04am

why does my anti virus keep deleting your game? i use norton.

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Great idea guys! I gave you 5 stars for innovation and humor because this was a really neat idea that definitely isn't the first thing that comes to mind when I think "game on one screen". Like someone else said, not your average cookie cutter game. Also this may have been one of the funniest games from the jam so far. Great idea, solidly executed, good job!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Interesting game, a bit laggy but that's not really important. Good work!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:14am

Funny and cute, but the phone ringing is a bit annoying...

Demy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:03am

I love text quests. It's fun and have some nice moments. But after couple themes (like "who are you", race theme and something about Santa) answers look a little bit messy and you need to be careful to pick the one you need.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:49pm

that was funny...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]