Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

RobFishing

by xTacobaco - Compo Entry

Use A and D to move the player. To fish you have to stand at the edge of the brigde and press F, you also need the fishbox to stand on the brigde.

Press The Button on the top right for uppgrades.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#247Graphics3.61
#297Theme3.81
#395Fun3.25
#423Overall3.32
#442Humor2.65
#654Mood2.83
#685Innovation2.95
#888Audio1.88

Comments

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Hahah yea!

efux says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Great little game. I fell in love with the graphics.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice game, well done. Too bad there's no sound ^^

lxd1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Fun

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Really like it :P

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Cute graphics! I would have liked some kind of "challenge" when I get a fish hooked. Like keeping the tension right while reeling it in or something. Good job on creating a cute fishing game in a short time. I'm a bit mad at the banker cause he took my shop ;)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Really like the graphics and the concept. But I think fishing could be more interactive. The theme is well implemented.

nofxboy1234 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I couldn't stop playing :)

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Nice and relaxing:) Little bug: if you place your box on bridge, walk back on the ground and walk back to bridge your fishing rod will be behind the box

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Stupid monster fish caught my line again.
It's so frustrating. I am constantly transporting myself with the box. I love it. Great mechanics, could use some sound, no polishing needed.
Hours of fun!

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Nice and relaxing:) Little bug: if you place your box on bridge, walk back on the ground and walk back to bridge your fishing rod will be behind the box

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Simple and pleasant. Beautiful and elegant game. It's missing some sounds and music though.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:51pm

The best fish appear when I'm selling... it is not fair, hahahaha! Good game, I spent a while playing it. Great Job!

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Love the art.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Tons of fun, perfect art style!

Damn monster fish...that'll show me not to look at upgrades while my line is in...

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Not really sure what the point is? But I get to be Master Chief with no pants + fishing so... Cool!

devshawn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:49pm

This was a lot of fun. Love the graphics.

AinaSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:49pm

They took my shop ;3;

sometimes the text overlaps. but i liked the concept.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Good. Progression feels a bit slow; hard to tell what difference the first couple of upgrades are making. Charming graphics though, for a really nice aesthetic.

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Some mini-game with fishing would be awesome but still very enjoyable game.

Wevel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Neat little game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I like your graphics, they were nice. I didn't notice there was a shop at first so I was able to buy the most expensive things at right away!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Nice and chill. I liked it.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I fell in love with this game. Lovely.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I really liked this game... I mean the concept is so unique! Well done! ^^

christopf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Cool game, like the humor :D

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I love the graphics. little sad it got no sounds, that would be nice. And they took my shop! :I

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Nice work on the pixal art! Personaly i love that style!

What are those upgrades good for? I couldn`t figure out what they do. Also i didn`t receive the golden hook when i bought it.

Nice little game that could be a pretty good time eater (in a positive way) if you add some music and something a little bit more challenging other than just putting your hook in the water to catch those fishes.

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Great little game. Well executed.

Felt a little slow and I didn't quite get whether the upgrades made any difference beyond the changed visuals.

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:26pm

This game is adorable~~~~
Really fun and simple, all its missing is sound.
also i noticed that sometimes the screen would get this white cloudy haze over everything, I don't know if that was on purpose though...

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:50am

Cool tycoon game! haha

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Nice solid effort, Love the unique concept, the depth of the game is great. Music would of improved the mood of the game but great entry.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Love this game! Played it longer than I expected. Love the adaptation to the theme.

I like how we have to keep the balance between fishing to make money and actually making money. Graphics too are awesome.

Awesome game. =)

BobMorate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Cool game! There's little more I can say that has not been already said. Keep it up!

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Cute graphics and the game was fun for a short while, but I found it a little slow.

Robber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28pm

excellent work! was a bit unclear when to sell the fish but it worked out, really cool with the rod upgrades

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Simple as it is, it's surprisingly addictive. Not sure what's the point of the upgrades though. I got em all, but it would be great to make money faster when using those :) All it seems to change is that you get so see new type of fish.

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nice small and simple game. Unfortunately no sound.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

So I have learned I should open up a fish stand, because I can make some serious cash. Well done. It has a lot of potential for further development.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Nice submission.I like the gameplay and simplicity of the graphics. Obviously music is missing, some nice splashing sfx for example would add a lot.

I do think it's a bit too slow-paced though. For example, when selling fish you have to wait for people to come that takes time. You could have had it so soon as you place the box down all your fish are sold. Waiting for people to buy them brings nothing, but slows you down.

Still, I did enjoy playing so good job. :)

nov1kk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Fun game but dont know what upgrades do, nice graphics too, the bad thing was no sound.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Awesome game :) love it

Interface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:59am

Like the graphics, simple but elegant. Interesting ideas and depth with the upgrades, but needs something to make it a bit more fun.

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:59am

Love the pixelated artwork. The game was pretty fun for a while. Some sounds would really enhance it I bet. Nice entry.

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:31am

Neat little game. nice pixel art also :)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Lovely fishing experience! Some text overlaps but that's not a big issue. Well done!

Hendri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Awesome little game. The graphics are very good. Maybe if there were some sounds it would be even better.

gene-z says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Good game ,,, Congratulations

5k0d says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:20pm

lol most epic game ;-)

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:00pm

At first I was invested, but I soon realized the upgrades didn't do anything other than change some colors...

thiaguera says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Nice. It took me a while to realize I had to satnd inside the shop. Also I missed some gameplay changing upgrades. But is very creative, well done!

Ossi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Really cool fishing game! I like the mechanic of picking up the box to transport it back and forth between the two usable positions. Unfortunately I picked up too many monster fish so I lost really fast haha! The upgrade system is really neat too. Well done!

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:34am

Neat little fishing game!

stray says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:57am

Awesome graphics dude :))

JPatrick says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:32am

Love the graphic style

ianatherton says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:53am

Nice game, but the lack of sound really brought the fun down, and the upgrades were just cosmetic or I just did not notice anything that changed apart of the visuals, put in a bit polish and this game will shine! Like it anyway.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:37am

WOW! Really cool game! REALLY COOL! AWESOMELY COOL!!!!!
You should really get a web version for this you know, you'd get much more views too! :D

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:25am

Hey, some music and sfx would really wrap the mood of this fishing game. It would have been desirable that upgrades provided some kind of advantage or effect though, such as a bigger box, a stronger rod which could stan monster bites x1,x2...

I missed some extra negative force in the game, such as clients leaving thus letting the fish go rotten without a sale.
- Maybe being able to "travel" a bit and discover different fishes while managing oil. The rarest the fish, the more money for buying oil and bigger tanks.
- Or maybe a fishing competition?

Anyway, music could mean epic mood, go for it! Good job.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Having lots of fun playing this game! Fishing simulator 2014!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:19pm

A little bit of sound would have helped tremendously, but this game has charming graphics and is fun to play.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:25am

Relaxing and I LOVE the art direction. <3

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Little-simple-nice) Good work)

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:26pm

I enjoyed the simplicity of this. Cute.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Charming!

joekinley says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Love it. Graphics are awesome, gameplay is awesome, it's like a little harvest moon light (just fishing). Loved it, played a ton, loved it.

Great work. Love it. =)

xTacobaco says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:11am

Hello and thanks for all the comments, new version of the game now out on andriod! https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.companyname.Ludum_dare

Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Very nice game. I Included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]