Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Flaming Resistance

by whitematterteam - Jam Entry

[Windows and Linux version at the end of the itch.io page]

Flaming Resistance is a simple platform where you have to rejoin with your friends travelling through areas avoiding enemies and traps.

GOAL:
you have to go to the last area (the one below the initial one). To reach the next area you use portals( a hole with fog).



STORY:
The story is set in a world populated by three tribes : Aqua, Glacies and Magma. The first two live on the surface of the world, whereas the last one lives in underground.
Everything was peaceful until one day Aqua and Glacies tribes decided to invade the underground. Magma tribe was forced to hide in depth, but a little magma drop was left behind and his friends are still waiting for him...

CONTROLS:
WASD : to move;
SPACE : to jump;
SHIFT : to run (we forgot to tell you, sorry ^^);
R : to restart from last checkpoint;
P : to pause game;
+/- : to regulate gamma;
ESC : to return to main menu;

Made with Unity.

TEAM:
Vito Palumbo (@NexusEden);
Francesco Sinisi (@amhal074);
White Matter Team (@WhiteMatterTeam);

UPDATE 12/09:
Fixes:
-A little bug in third area near portals to fourth area;
-Fixed the player physics
-Fixed the ceiling of the first area
-Fixed the game sound (now it loops) (?)
-Fixed a little glitch in third area( near the platform located at the center)
-Fake platform now disappears


Adjustment:
-Changed resolution to 1024x768 (from 800x600)


Added:
-Gamma regulation ( You can increase/decrease gamma with + and - )


UPDATE 12/08 :
==
Fixes:
-Death counter;
-Stuck in the wall while jumping and holding direction key;

Adjustment:
-Increased brightness ( everything should be visible now);
-Movement : we added a bit of friction;
==

‚ÄčKNOWN BUGS:



Disclaimer :
Linux version has not been tested yet, so it could run as it couldn't. We'd really appreciate if you can report any bugs or problem you'll encounter.

About Audio opt out:
We decided to opt out of this category because every songs and sounds has been ripped, so we think it's unfair being voted for something made by someone else.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#382Mood(Jam)3.20
#528Graphics(Jam)3.22
#669Theme(Jam)3.37
#753Humor(Jam)2.05
#923Overall(Jam)2.64
#928Innovation(Jam)2.21
#978Fun(Jam)2.15

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I like the graphics, and mood of this game, and the sound too (even tho you opted out of those). One of the really important things in platformers tho are sharp controls. Unfortunately the magma continues to move for quite a while after you let go of A or D. So that is where I would see improvement. Additionally, the game has very low contrast. I had to adjust my screen brightness to even see the platforms. So yeah, consider increasing the contrast between the background and platforms.

Dew says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:37pm

It took me a while to realize the contrast of the game i thought i had to guess the path to follow haha after that i could play decently :P Great game!

Indiestry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

It seems to be really intresting, but the controls made it very hard to even get passed the first enemy

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Hard to see the platforms

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47pm

We tried to reproduce a dark cave, ideed the only light source is the magma thing. But yeah, maybe it's a little too dark. We'll fix it!
And for the controls, we used the rigidbody in unity so the "thing" is affected by the gravity. Maybe we should have added a bit of friction. We'll fix that too!
About the audio, we used the free jam assets so we thought that it's better to be judged on something that we produced with our hands.
Thanks for the comment anyway! :D

01101101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I agree with what Liam wrote: the controls need to be improved. As it is now it's really hard to progress in the level.
And yes, the game is pretty dark and could use a bit of contrast, but I liked the light effect around the magma drop. Overall the graphics are pretty nice! :)

Zayron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Looks nice I just wish it was not so dark. Maybe it is my laptop but trying to see the level was hard on my eyes.

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Why so dark? ) It's really hard to see the platforms. Otherwise it's nice!

TheZiggy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Seemed interesting, looked nice, and had good music. The only problem is I couldn't actually figure out what to do.

shubshub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

It was rather annoying to my ears sorry

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Nice graphics, music and mood, but it is damn hard :D The kingdom of fire is kinda lost if it depends on my hands. Great game!

Democritus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:13pm

I'm afraid I can't really play because the game is so terribly dark.

elkiwydev says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Can't really rate since I can't see the platform and I keep die at the start

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I couldn't get past the first enemy except by dumb luck. I'm not even sure what's going on since the cave is initially way too dark. I guess there's some way to light up the cave, but I couldn't figure it out.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:38pm

For who don't know what to do : you have to go to the last are (the one below the initial one). To reach the next area you use portals( a hole with fog). We are fixing the brightness "issue"(it's not a real issue since it was intended to make the game hard). By tomorrow the game will be updated . Thanks :D

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Contrast made it difficult to see. Also, the first enemy is really hard to get past. You might consider writing some kind of script to produce a white light on the top of surfaces near the player (like the light coming off the magma dude to light up nearby surfaces. It would make it easier to see the edges when you are platforming, but would maintain the dark cave look. You could probably achieve this using ray-casting, to put light pixels on al nearby surfaces, with each light pixel being brighter if its close to the player and more invisible if it's far from the player. sound is awesome. I'm surprised you opted out.

tMalicet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Tough game-play with very low contrast. It looks promising but I didn't stay long ...

OpenGL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22am

The screen too dark, hard to see the platform. I think it's should be add some light in stage. It's a good game :)

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59am

Nice entry but the game needs to be a little less hard, I can't manage to pass the first enemy.
The graphics are great but really hard to appreciate because the small "zoom".

Jaloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Good use of the theme. For me the jumping felt a bit too clunky but well done on this.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Interesting, challenging platformer. Well done.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I like the game a lot, and for some reason I really really like being able to stick to the sides of platforms.

guldlock says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:08pm

liked the graphics! Cool game. Would be nice with a little aircontrol though.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Controls are PITA. No mid-air controls makes jumping unaccurate. Plus graphics are way too dark.

KickBack says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:03pm

It looked pretty nice and was moody, but I hated that you can't control mid air at all. Made pretty simple jumps feel very harder than they needed to be.

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Its hard to see the plataforms but is a good entry ¡nice job!

Tuism says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:56pm

So... A pretty standard platformer.

The contrast of the platforms are so bad that I thought I was supposed to figure out some invisible platforms in for the first minute.

Instant death with those fast bullets seemed unfun more than challenging.

The 2nd screen where you could only stand around while those shots whizzed was just not fun.

No air controls compounded the problem.

I'd suggest trying other successful platforms and seeing how they approach their gameplay - that's fundamental and really important. I also learned platformers this LD.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Not bad, White Matter. I like the subtle glow from the protagonist and the music you selected, but it was a bit too tough for me. I couldn't get past that first enemy: it was too powerful! Haha

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice graphics and player design. It's quite difficult that you can't move while jumping, and that took me off of the game :/

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Art style and audio were top notch but the controls were horrific, lack of air control completely killed it for me

lase says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I really like the feel and mood of this game. The sound was excellent, and the fact that you had a story was cool too. I found the controls to be a bit frustrating, though. Not having any influence over your character in the air leaves you a sitting duck on the second section as well.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Nice vibe

mohammad says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:42am

Its really well done, but really difficult. If the jumping was fixed around a bit I would've enjoyed it more.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]