Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Smush

by Digitalsalmon - Jam Entry

Smush - Smashing Mushrooms! Create by a 2 man team at the London Ludum Dare Google Campus meetup.

~~ TWO PLAYER VS ARCADE GAME ~~

Update 0.2 - Added Keyboard Input.

Use two Xbox 360 controllers to smash as many mushrooms as you can before your friend! Hit your friend to temporarily stun him, but beware! Being in the lead will not go unnoticed - Draco the Dragon will be blasting fireballs into the fray, picking on the lead mushroom smasher!

~~ CONTROLS ~~

2 XBOX 360 Controllers (Or Xbox One, maybe)
------
LAxis - Move
RAxis - Aim Attacks
A - Select Menu Items
Right Trigger - Attack/SMASH!

KEYBOARD
-----

Player 1:
WASD, V

Player 2:
Arrows, M

Credits:
David Bailey - 3D Art/Texturing/Misc
Benjamin Salmon - Unity Development/Code/Misc
Alec Milne - Voice acting

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

Ult says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Great presentation but NOTHING WORKS! 2 stars.
Also please add keyboard support. I have controllers but I know plenty of people who don't.

Digitalsalmon says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Fair shout - Controllers should work but keyboard is pretty much a must. Give me 20 minutes.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:32pm

The 3d art is done very very well

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58am

Loving the animation and sound effects.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Animation, sound effects great. Fun music. Great!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:00am

Graphics, music and sounds are all really good. My one pet-peeve is that you can't move while swinging the axe.

charlesque says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:23am

Nice concept. Really cool graphics.
Maybe you should allow movements during the smash animations, the game would gain some dynamism.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:50am

My friend and I played with controllers. The concept is good, but the music is misfitting and the controls are difficult.

I expected it to be a fighting game. Sort of surprising when it was just about getting mushrooms dead. Also, the time limit was a bit small; I'd suggest perhaps adding powerups to spice up the game and then increasing the time limit. A pumping beat would dramatically help.

That said, it's not a bad game, and the graphics were great.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]