Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Seaweed oh Seaweed

by eruditespirit - Compo Entry

Loosely based on the Chinese game of the same name (see http://youtu.be/kSmOZKLY7P0?t=26s for an example), Seaweed oh Seaweed is a game of reaction and confusion. The arrow keys are the only controls, and all you have to do is press a direction that is NOT the one the TV robot calls out-before he wiggles his arms. How long will you last?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#504Graphics3.16
#714Audio2.41
#721Humor2.27
#740Theme3.46
#847Innovation2.70
#952Mood2.45
#1080Overall2.58
#1086Fun2.34

Comments

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:14am

Something wrong with a timer somewhere? Gameover the exact moment I press space to start, tried a hundred times.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13am

You only have 0.4 seconds to press a direction before it goes into the failstate. I tested it again just now, and it does work. Please try it again if you will.

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Looks nice, but indeed you have too little time to even read the direction to not take, it should at least start slow and speeding up as you make points ^^

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:03pm

It's a really simple game that puts a smile on your face. Can't get any higher than 9, GJ!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Love the graphics. I'm afraid the time allowed to press a button is a bit too short for me. Would have been nice if it got progressively harder so you can learn it a bit?

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Impossibly difficult but I still enjoyed it. Why not start slower and increase speed? My strategy was to turn the keyboard sideways and then press the direction that it told me ;)

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

The game itself looks nice and fun, but I agree that the time is too short. Maybe start with long times and make it shorter as your progress? Also, using visual icons instead of words could help us non English speaker to play faster.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

I think you should give more time at the begining and continuously reducing it to increase difficulty.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Thank you for the feedback!

I didn't want to put in ramping difficulty because the lower difficulty often becomes boring after a few plays, but I think it would definitely have been useful to have longer times initially.

About the visual icons rather than English text, I completely forgot that it was a factor in how long it takes to react, so I'll definitely keep that in mind, thank you!

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Simple and extremely hard to get a higher score. But I like it ;).

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:31pm

what's this... WHaT's THiS!!!! how difficult is this (maybe yesterday didn't sleep because of the compo...)

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Umm... I don't know what I am doing...

kalugny says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

So twitchy... I liked it, but it should speed up, not start so hard.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

interesting rhythm game, very challenging

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Jesus, I wish I had 0.3 more seconds per move or something, it's so hard! Right now it feels like rock paper scissors, I'm guessing more than I'm reacting to the text.

c2v4 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Very difficult and frustrating game! Nice idea ;)

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Isn't it a bit too fast? Nice graphics, good job!

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Extremly hard. Too low click delay.
May be bug? It's immpossible!
P.S. 5 score with random clicking ;)

pixzleone says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Cool idea! Very hard game!
You should maybe add some more functions or something.

elliottd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

good work. same feedback as everyone here. start with more time to make a couple and understand how to play and then shorten the time. a visual indicator of how much time would be good too. also maybe scoring only begins once you get down to your 0.4 second window, if that feel important. you could show 5 symbols that get completed and crossed off as you complete the long duration intro rounds.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Thanks for all the feedback! I do agree that it needs at least a few practice rounds so that the player can get used to what they have to do, probably with a quickly ramping difficulty. I'll remember to keep in mind new user experience from now on!

tMalicet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Very difficult and frustrating!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24am

I...I think I need some help from Mr. Miyagi to pull this off :P

The game's clean and the waving arms of the robot are a nice touch. But my reflexes and hand-eye coordination can't get me past 6 points. Also: The moment you press space you have about half a second to press the first direction, which is tough. Maybe a short countdown before the game begins would be a good idea.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:08am

A countdown's a fantastic idea, thanks!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28am

Pretty harsh reaction time but neat idea.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33am

The art is good I just wished it started off a little slower then gradually got faster as the game progressed. I'm not fast enough to play this game.

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:27pm

My best score is 5. Now, I'm going to eat my keyboard!!! Great sadistic game!

MaesK says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Nice idea, but damn, it´s hard. Even if I had to press keys correctly and not the opposite :D Maybe a slow start would help learn until it got faster. Great game

Madball says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:28pm

This is kinda raw. You should've at least make me not lose the instant I open the game. I also recommend to escalate difficulty with time.
19 highscore :P

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:53pm

This is a cool idea, but it's far too hard at the start. If you want the main game to be this fast, it'll need a slow tutorial. Otherwise, just have the game start out slower and ramp up from there.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]