Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Microscope

by johnbrynte - Compo Entry

Peeking through a microscope you control a microscopic organism trying to clear the view from contaminating blobs.

The game does not tell you or show how you play but instead invites you to explore with the stimulating visuals and sounds, competing only with your own mind.

Can't get past the loading screen? You need WebGL enabled in your browser. Go here to find out more http://get.webgl.org/

YOU MIGHT ENCOUNTER A BUG WHERE IT SAYS 1 BLOB IS LEFT, THIS IS FIXED BY RESTARTING THE GAME.

LD note: Some sound effects where removed after the deadline because of a previous misunderstanding of the rules (they where not done by me).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Mood3.95
#41Audio3.91
#71Theme4.22
#79Graphics4.03
#113Overall3.72
#210Innovation3.65

Comments

panda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06am

Beautiful, and very fun! Congrats, I love what you were able to build in such a short time!

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:14am

Sweet, I feel like a shepherd of microbes! Very interesting game, it has just the right amount of challenge I think.

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:12am

Really soothing. Like bubble wrap.

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11am

Beautiful!! I love the music and the graphic. Really good game!

locknic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05am

Lovely game. So simple yet so much polish, juice and passion.

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:10am

Short and sweet. Beautiful and fun. Love it!

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:30am

Suddenly, the most minimalistic and yet the best game so far! Everything seems to be in place and polished! Great job!

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:30am

Cool graphics, mood, and sound! You really did great! :D

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35am

Wow! This is really inspiring! Great idea!

gre says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48am

Impressive graphics and audio.
The gameplay is great and nicely polished.

Here is some ideas to make the game even more awesome:
I think with a few different species of microbe and bacteria it would be graphically finished.
Also I think it would be super interesting to introduce the z-axis mecanism: you have to also zoom-in/out to clear the space in 3D (you can browse different layers of microbes). This can be done with different layers and a blur effect (like you did for the ambiant background).

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53am

Awesome!

hectorhon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Beautiful game, short and sweet! Just the right amount of fun!

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Gameplay is a bit simple, but very relaxing and the game looks nice.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:17pm

@gre Thanks, those are really great ideas! Yeah, adding a mechanic for zooming that looks and feel nice would be truly awesome. Apart from more organisms as you mentioned I think that the player should also be given power-ups to easier clear off the hordes. Hopefully there will be a second version in the future :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Simple pretty game! really love music and sfx!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Wow, great game! At first I though it'd be hard to beat but I made it (59s). I love the simplicity of the graphics and how smooth it feels. Thanks!

volkoivan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Looks beatifull and also intersting to play!
But for a one run
Liked it, thanks! :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Clever game! Loved the visuals and audio, sweet and relaxing.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Brilliant take on the theme that also ranks pretty high in the artistic department. Congrats!!

I managed to beat the game at the second attempt (on the first one I lost after unsuccessfully trying to find a lone, runaway microbe :S)

Rulrite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Simple ideas often turn out to be the best, as shown in this game. The audio and visuals make it strangely soothing to play - I liked the decision to hide the timer until the end; it would have added a tension that doesn't need to be there.

A great game, and a brilliant use of the theme.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:30pm

@Ithildin Yeah I'm sorry for the bug, but i guess it adds to the mystical feeling.. @DavidErosa Sweet! My current record is 28 seconds ;)

Homletmoo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Brilliantly polished graphics and audio. The game mechanic feels like it needs fleshing out a bit, though. Perhaps a difficulty system.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Excellent work. Appeals to the OCD nature in people. Superb sounds and good feel to the game. Nice work!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Great idea and beautiful presentation! /Johan

Norgesnerd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Glorious game, loved it :) Short and worth playing, considering the wonderful graphics and the simple gameplay.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Wow, this is beautiful. Very simple but a joy to play. Would be a great mobile app (not sure if Phonegap etc. could handle it performance-wise though.)

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Excellent little game. I really want to see more depth of gameplay since what you have here is so solid. Beautiful movement, visuals, and sounds. Everything was really well fitting.

Deity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:09am

Very well made especially considering it's in HTML. Gameplay was smooth and surprisingly interesting (maybe it appeals to the OCD side). I encountered the '1 left' bug but that should be an easy fix. Also I think controls would be better with mouse instead of keyboard as I found the character jerking around with the light touches of cursor keys.

daftcube says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

Awesome game! Very interesting concept and nice asthetic. I am concerned that this might not qualify as a compo entry because the sound assets weren't made by you, or that's what your credit says anyway.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42am

@daftcube Oh, yeah, didn't thought about that... maybe should remove the sound effects...

ponk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

*0* ... !

uvwar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40am

Pretty dang cool, I think I saw you do a blog post on this during the competition. I felt like I was penicillin or something. You should keep going with this, maybe add a kind of focusing mechanism to move between 'planes' and maybe some more abstract tiny organisms that are more stubborn to being pushed around.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:00am

47 sec, awesome presentation and smooth controls!

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41am

Beautiful! I love the music, sound effects, and style. It's awesome to see HTML entries!

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57pm

What a great looking and great sounding game. I really enjoyed playing your game. My best for now was 24 seconds but i think i can beat this. very addictive. an online highscore would be nice to compete against others.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Great art style, soothing ambient music, easy to pickup controls/mechanics - really well done!

Alter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:41pm

37 sec! Very fun. Great work!

trykondev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:29pm

The audio and visuals work together in such a sweet way, this game has a fantastic atmosphere!

Goutye says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Graphics, music and game are a really well-made! Nice one! A little bit short?

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Looks awesome! Unfortunately, I couldn't get past the loading screen.. :/

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:52pm

@spacedoubt Oh yeah sorry, I didn't have time to add a check if you have WebGL enabled in your browser. Go here to find out how you can enable it http://get.webgl.org/

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

This has such great tonality. Love the visuals and the music is really nice.

Kiwiboi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Sweet! Almost didn't get past the loading screen, still don't know how I did it. But then bubbles showed up and I got 1:12 ;) Solid entry

Troilk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Nice game - calm and relaxing.
I think this mechanics can work well on mobile with gyroscope/accelerometer inputs.

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:47am

gameplay is too simple, but really good mood...

Jim Haslett says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Wonderful music. Very interesting concept. It was fluid and fun. Good game.

Boberro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Nice. Polished and looks complete.

rainshapes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Very relaxing and nice.

tobyp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Aww, that's adorable! Really like the blissful music, too. The style is very fitting, too, and it's much harder than it looks!

tobyp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Aww, that's adorable! Really like the blissful music, too. The style is very fitting, too, and it's much harder than it looks! And it's even more to the theme than many other games.

tobyp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Aww, that's adorable! Really like the blissful music, too. The style is very fitting, too, and it's much harder than it looks! And it's even more to the theme than many other games. Have these stars.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:48am

Maximum stars to me, nice and shiny !

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Nice game. I loved the idea of it and the audio makes it a really tranquil experience that just gets you thinking. Nice work.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:31pm

0:51 on the second try. Beautifully done! Have you tried it with mouse/touch controls? I think that might feel a bit more natural in a circle.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Interesting, gameplay is a bit simple but art is cool. And music very relaxing :)

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:53pm

@Frozen Fractal Nice! Thank you! I didn't have time to try any other controls unfortunately, though I think touch controls would work really nice as several have suggested. Initially the game was supposed to be much more direct and responsive in the controls, but then I increased the smoothing of the position a lot and this game was born :)

csanyk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:24am

Really good! I thought it was impossible to win at first, but kept at it and got a 1:36 clear score. It seemed like getting the last 1-2 was the hardest part -- great challenge curve.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:58am

Nice graphics and pretty sounds. Neat. Thank you for you comment on my game ++

Kitch says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Awesome experience. Very simple and everything worked well together. Good work, thanks!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Wow the concept of this game is really cool!
I like the music and the grephical style!
Well done! :D

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Lovely sound! Simple and beautiful!
Well made!

hbocao says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Really enjoyed this one! The music was perfect! With some new mechanics I can see this fitting on mobile really well.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:39am

Really liked this, clever mechanic and quite relaxing to play. Nice graphics, great music too.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:56am

Music and mechanics are great!

Scam says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:37pm

The graphics, sound, gameplay and mood combine this game more than sum of its parts. I liked it a lot.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Thank you for all the comments! I truly appreciate them all, keeps me going! :)

Beerman says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Excellent - frantic and relaxing at the same time.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Simple but fun and very well polished!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:38pm

That is the first entry I see that is not running for the "fun" category... why?

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 11:26pm

@PapyPilgrim Good point! In my opinion, "fun" is in this context synonymous with the overall rating since that should describe how much you I "enjoyed" the game. At least that category didn't make sense to me at the time, as neither did the ability to remove categories, so I just unchecked it, not much thought behind.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:21pm

ok I get your point. I agree that "fun" impact the overall category a lot, but I still think they are quiet different : for me it represents the quality of the game. I wrote a detailed post about this during a previous LD (http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/07/rating-consistency-how-i-rate-games/)

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:20pm

@PapyPilgrim A very good post! This should really be required to read before rating, understanding the system is key to make a good rating. I feel that I, as you mention, might change the way I rate the more games I play.

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:16am

Uncontaminated! I'll take my microbiology degree now, thanks :P Fun game, the graphics were really smooth and nice and I dug the music a lot, added a nice mood to the game!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Thank you all for playing, rating and commenting my entry! This has really been a great learning experience and I will definitely come back to make more games, hope to see you then!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]