Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Zdy-ball: The Coffee Hunter

by cardanai - Jam Entry

Zdy-ball: The Coffee Hunter is a simple physics-based game about caffein obsession and hysteria. It also features the art director from Guru Games, Johan Zdybal, a reknowned coffee Connesuer. We basically made this game because he was to tired to jam with us, so we decide we would jam with him anyway as part of the game. Hope you enjoy it, and feel free to check out our more serious projects at http://www.gurugames.se or on twitter @thegurugames.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#261Humor(Jam)3.09
#430Fun(Jam)3.15
#511Theme(Jam)3.55
#550Innovation(Jam)2.97
#631Overall(Jam)3.06
#755Graphics(Jam)2.71
#800Mood(Jam)2.61

Comments

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Really cool game! You can never get enough coffee! xD

Ellian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:54pm

This is... so dumb in a good way. It was fun to play! :D

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Really cool pacman! Love the mix of genres :)

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15am

Cool explosion effect! :D I really liked thi graphics and the music! It was fun good job!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11am

Very simple and fun game. Nice work.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57am

Good for a pacman-sanic-ball-coffee-bean simulator

jovoc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:22am

Nice game! I've seen similar games where you control the board not the player, and they are usually too frustrating but you did a good job making you feel in control of the player. The graphics were good (esp the explosion) but I think this might have been better as a 2D game.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:30am

It took me a couple twirls of the maze to realize that this is effectively a physics-based twist on Pac-Man - down to the pursuing ghosts. Also, you explode when you die. Good times! XD

skonkan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:32am

Love the music and sound effects. GG

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Nice idea - Love the idea of physics-based pacman xD Wouldn't have thought of that. Could see it being a really fun web game with some more levels, or maybe powerups or something!

Lynx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Love the remix on a classic! The controls are really responsive too for not directly controlling the player, well done! I will say sometimes the background's color values get a little to close to the foreground objects and makes it hard to see (mainly wight he blue for my screen)

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Sometimes it was hard to figure out where the wall is but generally really playable!

Davision says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Interesting Pacman-ish concept. A bit problematic that most of the difficulty comes from the fixed rather slow rotating speed.

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:44am

Great combination of labyrinth and pacman! A clever way of putting the entire game on one screen! I sure hope your friend got his cup of coffee in the end. :D

cardanai says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:30am

He did!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nice pacman arranged

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]