Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Vaimanika

by d3garcia - Jam Entry

Try to control the Vaimanika ship to reach the nuclear bomb and save the universe. Be aware of trouble on the way.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#484Fun(Jam)3.06
#576Mood(Jam)2.94
#596Overall(Jam)3.10
#630Innovation(Jam)2.84
#799Theme(Jam)3.18

Comments

spazzarama says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

Nice movement, had to try a lot of times through the obstacles :)

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:47am

Damn, this is hard... =)

I don't like how GameMaker requires me to install though...

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:50am

Honestly, in my opinion it was way too difficult. It feels like if there were no enemies and the game's point was the navigation, then maybe it would be fine. But considering how much you have to concentrate on the navigation, adding the enemies is just too much.

The movement itself is cool though, although quite unforgiving.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09am

I finally won by completely ignoring the enemies. In my opinion, trying to shoot anything made this game extremely difficult. If enemies only took a single shot I think it would be worth going after them.

Maybe all the variables in the game need to be lowered (player acceleration, shot speed, etc.) It might play better, but wouldn't be what you were going for.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10am

Cool.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:12am

Super hard but that factored into the fun in my opinion. Good work, amigo.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:29am

Very hard. I sort of agree with kburkhart84. I think the focus should have been entirely the really cool navigation mechanic.

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Pretty fun

krishna911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00am

fun and bit hard :P :)

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

I didn't care for the install, but the game itself is nice. Hard though. Great job.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Very challenging, but nice entry :)

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I don't like the installer one bit :(
But the game was polished. Hard, but polished.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Fun game but really hard.

k8n says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Nice physics, but don't like the installer

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Nice game, really hard to navigate that ship but I did get quite far one time. Since it's a game where you die a lot, I would highly recommend having space rather than P start the game from the menu so that the player doesn't have to move around on the keyboard. You want the players to keep trying.

Getting time to shoot the ships was hard too, I found it a distraction and that the best option was to fly past them quickly. It doesn't matter so much though, but maybe reward killing them more by having them die faster.

A solid entry all in all.

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Even though it's pretty hard, and there is not much too it: I just had to finish it! I took my quite some tries though, but eventually I had control over the movement.

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:55pm

hard game but fun.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Very nice!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Great mechanics! I like the concept! Well done!

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Good idea, it was a bit hard for me.

Linear says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Had a tough time trying not to die. The health wasn't really that useful, since the best approach was to simply ignore the turrets if you hoped to finish in time. The worst part was that sometimes touching the walls killed you, sometimes it didn't. You would usually not dying if you set the ship down gently on a wall, but sometimes you'd explode anyway. It would be nice if you just lost health when you collided with walls.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:57am

Oh my gosh! Beating that game felt like a miracle! I ended up just trying to get to the end without killing any of the ships. Haha I loved the happy holidays message at the end. :)

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Good work on the game (: it was really fun but it was very hard for me xD

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I didn't like having to install, but the game was fun! Very hard, but not frustrating. I found that just ignoring the enemies was easier than trying to shoot them. Overall, good job!

victorljs says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Good Job. Nice game.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I like the ambiant

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:01am

Very hard, but fun idea. I think the trust was a bit too much.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:18am

Oh! This is hard to achieve!
But anyway great! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]