Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pavarocket

by GentlyPub - Jam Entry

This is the story of Pavarocket, a misjudged opera singer and one-man band. The crowd really hates you. Avoid their anger or your motivation will drop to zero. You can regain motivation by playing instruments.

For Mac users:

Right-Click -> Open to start the application.

This game was made in a cooperation of gentlymad and pixelpub. Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Audio(Jam)4.21
#46Graphics(Jam)4.45
#97Innovation(Jam)3.81
#130Humor(Jam)3.48
#135Mood(Jam)3.64
#164Fun(Jam)3.54
#165Overall(Jam)3.67
#264Theme(Jam)3.81
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Graphics are brilliant. Sound effects and music are brilliant, although having said that it would be cool to hear the instruments make a sound when he plays them.

As stunning as it looks and sounds and I didn't think the gameplay was very interesting. I would have found it fun if when you sat at a piano you then had to play something for a while. Maybe some notation could pop up with keyboard letters underneath.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:48pm

love the art style

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Really nice ! One of my favorites

xTacobaco says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Looks good

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

AWESOME GRAPHICS! Really brilliant concept!

AinaSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:07pm

The art is wonderful. And I love the music. The gameplay is original, but As the first says. Could be improved with maybe minigames at the instruments or something.

For being a LD game is amazing.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08pm

The graphics and sound are great! The gameplay is really confusing. Polish it up and it will be a great game.

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Love the graphics and audio! The gameplay could be better though. It's confusing at first that you can only play instruments when you stop moving and it would have been more fun to play instruments _while_ dodging. The instruments also give too much of a bonus, so dodging isn't even necessary.

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58am

Fun game!

oxysoft says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Excellent game, it was a bit confusing however

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:36am

Great graphics and gameplay!good job!

farwyler says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Great job! This is a lot of fun and it looks very good!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Really beautiful game, very funny as well. I Included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/YpdCMKphEUw

runvs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Nice graphics and great concept! Since the game is about music, integrating playing the instruments in the background music track would have made the game even better!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Love the beard!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:07am

I awarded you a trophy. This post explains why: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/13/my-picks-for-ld31s-top-10-best-beards-manly-mustaches/

Saf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Lovely art and theme for the game.. the gameplay is simple but fun to play! You should make a post Jam version :)

GentlyPub says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Hey guys, thank you for the comments so far (and especially for the beard trophy I guess). :D
A post Jam version would be cool, we will see how much time we have to realise it. Having a certain song for each instrument would be cool, we just couldn't do it in time during the jam but it is something we definitely would integrate into the post jam version. :)

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:07am

Very nice entry. Nice audio and graphics.

Gameplay-wise, the controls are just fine, but the game could use some progression in the difficulty (if there is some, I didn't notice it) : it is way too hard the first time you try it, but once you get it... much easier. And it stays like that until you stop playing.

GentlyPub says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:48am

Yep, this is also something we would have loved to integrate. If we do a post jam version it will have pacing!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Hahahaha, amazing stuff.
Great pixelart. Sound and music.
Fun to play.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Great graphics and music!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-31-huv4hmz6

GentlyPub says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Nice Jupiter, thanks!
We're happy about the ranking, especially the audio category. Looks like our pavarocket needs more instruments ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]