Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sorceress Wars

by aidinviper - Jam Entry

This Game is a digital adaptation of a board game that we've designed and it’s kinda a cross-over between chess and tic-tac-toe and Rock-Paper-Scissor with a fantasy like theme !
It’s a two player game that you can play against your friend or the computer . the AI isn't completely perfect and it usually makes mistakes so that the player would be able to win the match .
Hope you enjoy it !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#350Innovation(Jam)3.27
#431Audio(Jam)2.88
#516Graphics(Jam)3.24
#583Theme(Jam)3.47
#609Mood(Jam)2.90
#628Fun(Jam)2.89
#658Overall(Jam)3.03

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48am

nice ... be careful guys ... !

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Presentation can completely transform old game ideas.

Vampaneze says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:51pm

This game has an awesome concept and it looks really cool !
Good Job Guys !

hossein.azizi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:33pm

It's an interesting take on some classics. I think it can turn into a neat board game.

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00am

Really neat concept !

ouchar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:20pm

very well done! :)

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:25pm

ty guys

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Thanks guys
ya it's base on classic game ideas

psychonull says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Nice, the AI feels unbalanced sometimes, but liked the game design.

Norgesnerd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Didn't know how to play
Pressed some random buttons
"Blue is winner!"
Four stars from me, I didn't quite get what was going on, but after what I've read, it's good :)

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Thanks for feedback
ya. we couldnt finish the AI system

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Thank you Norgesnerd :)))
I really glad to hear that after you read you understand it

Threstle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Nice little board game, I like the fantasy visuals.

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:44pm

^_^ really appreciate

ashok007 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:50pm

nice idea and osm

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:55pm

awsum concept

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:07pm

thanks ^_^

hogtrick says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Nice game idea. After a few plays I got the rules. Still don't get how to move thoug. I liked the graphics.

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Found a bug ^^

"In script ai_check_can_win:
Error in code at line 50:
if(check_player(board[j,i+k]) != 1)"

Anyway, interesting concept. However, without the sorceress a lot of units can get stuck. Did not like that aspect of the game. Still, innovative concept!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:27pm

That's a pretty cool mix of mechanics, it sometimes felt like the controls were super responsive but it all worked so no problem with the game itself. Had some fun trying to beat the AI but it wasn't super difficult either. Nicely done!

Would love to see the physical game with 3d sculpted pieces! :D

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Thank you hogtrick :)
you should read the rules at the "how to play"
thanks for feedback

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Really good gameplay. What I liked the most was the IA you guys made.

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Thank you cyrus :)
we will fix it a.s.a.p
we couldnt generate items everywhere as game-play so we need one unit to generate them near himself however the them says sorceress summon units

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Thanks Cake&Code :)
yes. The AI system is very easy :) we couldnt finish it
but we appreciate your comment " Would love to see the physical game with 3d sculpted pieces "
we will do it ^_^ with the best AI system ^_^
thank you so much

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Thank you The Walking Kiwi

indiglo963 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I don't have idea what i do, but i win! Nice game (:

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:42pm

read "how to play" first
thanks

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Audio is from Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

"You’re free to use 3rd party Artwork/Music/Audio assets, or assets you previously created, but we ask that you OPT-OUT of the respected voting categories (Graphics, Audio). You can opt-out of a voting category when you submit your game.

We strongly recommend you only use assets that you have the legal right to use (Public Domain, things you licensed/created, etc). If you don’t have the right to use something, it is your responsibility."

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:04pm

yes you are right Daniel Debert
we sorry about that. we didnt have time to make sound. we forgot write it in credit but just audio.
Graphics are made by Ali Nazari and Ehsan Vaezi

cxsquared says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Really fun game. I would love to play this in board game form with my friends.

sorceress says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I approve of this game

pixzleone says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very cool!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Really solid little game. Great use of mixing up mechanics with your fantasy theme.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:07pm

I liked the old aesthetics :)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Nice and interesting game. Perfect for a phone device!!! Great work!

RadStar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:18pm

nice strategic game ! is it original or does it come from an actual game ?

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:19pm

interesting idea, though I'm finding I'm not very good at it. i really wasn't figuring out what the strategy is.

Finlal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:22pm

nice game !

aidinviper says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Thanks Guys !:)
@RadStar : It's Original

SoulGame says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:31pm

I lack some feedback regarding what am I doing and stuff, but I got it eventually. This has some good strategy in it (reminds me a bit of FF8 Trial Card ^^). Good luck for your work.

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:36pm

I'm not sure that I'd dig in gameplay. But, looks nice! Great work :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:43pm

The game is interesting and I like some of the mechanics. Currently however it still feels like most games are finished fairly quickly and moving is not really a huge point, as you can simply place units entirely out of reach. But with some more time it could be a great game.

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Really nice idea, must be really fun with player vs player, computer should have more difficulty. The characters are really nice looking but the menu and the tutorial could have a more snazzy look. Still its a great game with a really cool idea. I could definitely see this turn into a really nice 3D game with character animation or board game!

vidarn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Nice!
I will try to find a friend to play this with, seems very fun once you have someone else than the AI to play against.
The character portraits were great by the way!

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:36am

Not bad! Interesting design, decent AI, music and look creates a nice mood and units and background map looks good!

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:37am

Would probably be even better when played against a human.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Artwork and concept is nice..

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:54pm

I like the game, I imagine how challening it can be with another player to play with. You guys could implement simple networking too so that we can enjoy it online. Good job.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Interesting idea, it was hard to figure to how to play. :)
Probably I was lazy to read the hint. :P

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:03am

Nifty little game, neat set of rules can make for some complex strategies. Cool sprites too, nice work!

scias says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:15pm

This is pretty neat, I love the aesthetics that the music and art gives rise to. If you were to continue I'd recommend looking on how you can improve the feedback (ex, highlighting the square you're on, or showing possible moves etc.) Good job!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:05am

A bit confusing, but really cool concept. Some polish could make this a really nice game!

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Nice idea.
Was nice you explain the rules, I tried play without read and I lost and didn't understand why...

crazyrems says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Rules are not so easy to learn, but once you get the thing, it's nice to play :)

Crosstales says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:51am

Good cross-over game :-) The result is a refreshing concept.

Well done!

Dunric says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Sick game brah.

victorljs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Well done!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Don't get the rules...

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:01am

Very nice ;)

belstras says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Took a while to figure out the rules but got it after a while (im slow). I like the nice character designs. It enhances the setting. Music is nice and relaxing. Perfect game to wind down to.

eskivor says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Good graphics.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Yeah, that's fine. I love the graphics and the transformed idea at fantasy theme. Love the atmosphere ( do you use a music from Ocarina of Time, right? ) and the whole game. Nice one making a solid entry. Congratulations :D

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:06pm

It looks really interesting, but knowing the rules would definitely help.

lonely2012

Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Interesting game! I couldnt figure out how to move the character though... I Included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/SGfwL84KAH0

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Good idea, nice game design and graphics - really well done!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:32am

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]