Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

15 Stage Rage

by YakkApps - Jam Entry

Watch out for hidden spikes, and avoid other crazy things in this One-Screen game! Prepare to rage ;)

Controls: Arrow Keys to move, SpaceBar to jump. Press ESC to exit the game.

Tips/Secrets: There are two secret warp zones, can you find them? The flags are checkpoints. If there are lazerz you can't see, pay attention to other ones on the screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Fun(Jam)3.43
#340Theme(Jam)3.71
#347Overall(Jam)3.38
#478Humor(Jam)2.63
#593Audio(Jam)2.42
#671Graphics(Jam)2.90
#764Innovation(Jam)2.62
#786Mood(Jam)2.63
#2185Coolness20%

Comments

qaisjp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Why do I need to install this, please can we have a simple zip.

YakkApps says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

@qaisjp I fixed it. Zip is there. Thanks!

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:21am

Really cool game, liked the sounds they weren't annoying, also the art is great. The game Stuck to the theme. Also the game is hard but fun, played it for an hour and a half and finally beat it.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:30am

All I can say is: THANK GOODNESS FOR CHECKPOINTS!

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Congratulation for making this game \o/
Can i go to my simple, tranquil and non-life-threatening life now ?

(Great game, really. Found a secret passage. So fucking proud of myself )

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Really nice game, I like the art, a bit hard to play.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I got up to level 8 and rage quitted. :P
Good use of the checkpoints, they kept me in the game for another 10 minutes after I hit level 5. :D
Overall, very clean and crisp platformer, well done. :D

Xanjos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:26am

Holy crap this was indeed infuriatingly hard but it was well put together and fitted the theme pretty good (I actually did manage to find the two warp points by accident though).

danidre14 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:58pm

DUDE THIS IS COOL! I MYSELF MADE A GAME SIMILAR TO THIS! :D
I GUESS THERE ARE STILL PEOPLE IN THE WORLD THAT FOLLOW THE THEME. AND MINE IS ALSO ABOUT SPIKES, AND RAGE QUITTING, BUT 5 LEVELS! XD
PLAY IT HERE: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=32791

asobitech says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:32am

This is crazy brutal. Really wish there were more check points. But once I got use to the jump curve and died many many times. You learn were all the traps are and you finally make it through.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:35am

I raged. Then I raged again. Then I raged again and again. But in the end, the game couldn't hold me down. I spent a lot of time on the first set of levels, but after I found the warp zone, I was much more invested in the game. I realize that these are supposed to be secrets, but I feel like with the paranoia that you experience playing through these games, you probably should have given at least some hint that the warps exist, and it still would have been challenging and fun. I really would have preferred tighter controls with no momentum, because it just wasn't predictable where my player was going to end up. Even with all the hidden deadly stuff in this game, I still feel like you should make the player feel as though they are responsible for their own death (beyond the invisible stuff that you figure out the first time through). The rooms themselves were deadly, but nothing was too unintuitive, even the rooms that changed the player mechanics were interesting instead of confusing. I did skip a few of the rooms, so I didn't experience all of the pain, but I still felt like I was thoroughly challenged. Good job testing my limits, I was considering giving up, but in the end, I always made at least some progress. Hope you had a lot of fun making this game, and watching people stumble their way through it. Can't wait to see what horrible ways you kill the player are in the next LD you participate in! Thanks for sharing your game with me!

Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:15am

To call this game difficult, is to ignore the very fact that its impossible, you have moments of win grouped with instant death. The game is fun to play, regardless of being difficult, and now i must awaken the better half to massage my bruised ego and mind.

Great entry :D

stray says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:19am

OOOOOOH, Really fun. I hate this game and I love it at the same time

Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:31am

For a rage game, this was definitely good. It is certainly befitting of the "rage game" genre, and while it's troll-licious, it's not mean or spiteful in its trolling. You can totally get to the end if you try very hard and have a lot of patience. I find that a lot of people create rage games just to cover up things like poor programing and collision, to create "fake" difficulty levels, that a gamer has to adhere to and change to fit themselves into the games' mold -- and that wasn't the case with this one. It's a skill-based difficulty and the more you play and learn, the better you'll get. That's really commendable for a game in the "rage" genre. Many of them are not planned out that well.

That said, the controls for this game were REALLY tight. -Mad props- for the controls. They handled very well for a platformer. Amazing collision, too. Pixel-perfect! A lot of compo/jam platformers suffer under the weight of poor collisions -- it can often make or break the feel of a game. But you got it right. It is enjoyable to play, even if it IS a rage-game. ;)

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:53am

Oh my gosh I finally beat it!

Sweet game, I thought it controlled pretty well! Especially for a jam game. I might say it felt a little slidey, but I got used to it eventually. :)

Couple of critiques:

-I didn't like the hidden spikes. I know it's supposed to be a rage game but everything else felt fair. Especially with every other obstacle you learn how it works and how to surpass it, but there's no way of knowing where a hidden spike is unless you die to it. Maybe if the tiles below the spikes were a different color to indicate that there were hidden spikes, then you could use that color in other places where there aren't actually spikes to fool the player. (Kind of like in 1001 spikes) Just so the player has some indication that there *might* be a trap there and I won't feel cheated. Again I say this because it's the only aspect of the game where I felt cheated. (Especially the middle spike on level 14. XD)

-I *loved* the laser concept. I love that by the end of the game you can't see them, but you can learn by then that they are on the same timer and you can see them from somewhere else on he screen. That's really utilizing the theme of the jam! I wish that there was one laser in an earlier level because I would always have to sit really close to my monitor to see the laser. :P

Awesome stuff! Contgrats on finishing this. It was put together very well.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 3:00am

Quite ragy. I Included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/feGcEIoOFjA

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]