Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Stasis

by prymidion - Compo Entry

A persistent little puzzle game. Build blocks to guide the frog to the goal, but plan ahead-- each solution to a puzzle you solve will stick around in the subsequent levels.

Jump back to previous levels as you strive to find the perfect solution to every puzzle simultaneously.

<<You have to HOLD "R" to restart. Might not have made this clear enough ingame>>

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#22Innovation4.30
#90Theme4.14
#169Overall3.65
#181Fun3.55
#446Mood3.05
#458Humor2.62
#793Graphics2.72

Comments

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33am

Restart didnt work for some reason but this is an awesome idea!

Make more of this!

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:35am

Was not expecting much from the screenshots. Was blown away. Your forethought into each level is amazing, EASILY the best game I've rated (so far). I just love it so much! Needs more views. Anyway, good luck!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38am

Fun little puzzle game, I liked the mechanic of your actions from previous levels sticking around. I don't see the theme in this one, is there an explanation of the interpretation somewhere?

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38am

Love the idea, great puzzle game!

DXsmiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40am

Astoundingly original mechanic. Good interpretation of the theme. Very lacking in graphics and sound. Overall, a short, sweet experience that could be made into a very successful, longer game.

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Really great interpretation of the theme! It's not a restriction for you, but rather a feature of the overall puzzle.

My main problem with this game concept is that it's ultimately DIAS: "Do It Again Stupid." You can't predict what future levels will have, so you can't plan for them the first time through. You're forced to replay puzzles in order to allow future puzzles to be completed. I don't know if there's any way to escape this issue without fundamentally ditching the core concept, though.

Movement (moving, jumping, etc.) could use some more work because it doesn't feel quite right, but it doesn't really impact the puzzle part of the game much.

max_peabody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:07am

A really great concept, and your puzzle design supports it strongly, but restarting didn't work for me either...

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:16am

This mechanic is excellent! Simple concept with a lot of depth! It is a small, but elegant game!

jojocanard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16pm

At the level 10 the water didn't flow even though there was a hole on the left. Maybe I didn't understand how it works.
Very good game though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Very cool. I like the concept of going back to correct mistakes.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

I love the mechanics! it is awesome.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19am

I like the idea behind it. The time put into level design shows. It'd be cool if you could implement some way to plan ahead better, perhaps being able to look at the level layout for all future levels and needing to remember each one or something, like Concentration. But harder.
Also, if you're planning on taking this game further in the future, you can currently place blocks outside the playing zone. Just something I noticed.

Anti says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:15pm

The idea and gameplay is really cool but felt very buggy.

superfrog says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:51pm

too buggy

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Pretty cool concept. Game flow feels a bit off though, or out of control of the game itself? I had to go back to previous levels a few times at first, but then once I realized I should use as few tiles as possible and to leave as many gaps as possible, and then I suddenly just blazed through the last few levels. I think maybe even by accident things just ended up lining up perfectly. While this felt pretty rewarding, like I figured it out, it felt somewhat fake, because I didn't feel I had to work for it, I just got lucky. At the start it was kind similar in how I felt I was being punished for things I couldn't prevent. I think if I consider the game as a whole though, like one puzzle, it was pretty rewarding to solve it, and part of that was to figure out to space things apart and to use as few tiles as possible. If each stage was a sequence of levels in a row, and in between each stage the tiles you placed would reset, it wouldn't matter as much about the flow of each stage individually. You could get lucky on one stage and maybe fly through some parts, but then the next challenge would be there, and maybe it could involve a different overall strategy to overcome. Also, the tile theme could change for each stage. Cool game though, and I like how it makes you really try to figure out how to plan ahead for the unknown.

thristhart says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Excellent mechanic, great puzzles! I can imagine it would have been very frustrating to get stuck at the end - I didn't, thankfully, but that could have been very tedious.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Cute game, I like the puzzle persistence element.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Very creative, very fun, ugly as sin.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]