Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Boing!

by Evergreen Games - Compo Entry

Boing!
A simple platformer.
It's my first Ludum Dare Entry so i decided to go simple.
Hope you like it!

EDIT: Some pits require jumping and THEN moving so you can get closer to the edge.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#266Theme3.85
#436Innovation3.28
#581Fun3.06
#592Humor2.44
#685Overall3.08
#777Mood2.67
#798Audio2.24
#1040Graphics2.30

Comments

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

Nice game, I had a lot of trouble jumping over the pits.

Broivula says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:51am

Nice overall experience. Had trouble starting the game though, the Unity's web player doesn't always register clicks.. Nice game tho!

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28am

The snowman reminds me the theme voting. lol
But the problem is I can't jump through the pits, I've tried hundred times...

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:29am

Change the link directly to the HTML
Game is really fun. A different platformer. cool.
But did you consider the rule? yes u used a trick. nicejob

Kitch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:30am

Gratz on your first entry!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:31am

Very tricky jumping mechanic. Challenging.

Searge says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:34am

I like the transitions between levels. And I played the famous "just one more level" few times, so it's definitely fun gameplay.

Kabukky says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:35am

Clever interpretation of the theme!
Sometimes (later) a little frustrating because it takes so many tries. Still, great first entry!

chakitp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:38am

Good. But not fun to Play..

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41am

You are the screen! I like this take on the theme. The platforming was challenging. Good stuff.

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00am

Love the twist, but can get a bit frustrating.

Snuux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03am

Funny game. Continue development!

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07am

nice game!

Silii says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31am

Nice work, it's like tiny world's theme games :) (ld23?)

bogdan.tana says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57pm

A pretty cool take on platforming :D Gets a bit frustrating at some point. Totally digging the level transitions!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

when the player square became the next level, my mind was blown. Very difficult, but satisfying. Great job!

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Great jumping mechanic and very clever use of transitions to fit with the theme. Really fun to play and a pretty innovative way to add new challenge to standard platformer gameplay. The level where you hit the button and the death wall comes after you was really tough! Amazing first Ludum Dare entry, good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:35pm

@stray thanks for the tip. Changed it last night.
Thanks for all the positive feedback everyone!
Will try to rate all your games.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Most original take on the theme i've seen so far. Jumping is a bit hard because you fall so fast. Very good first submission!

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

The last level is really hard when you can already see that you have nearly won the game =D.

Love it! Addicting game.

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Really love the way when you finish a level the box becomes the next level. Controls took a bit to get used to but didn't take too long!

Tipyx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:28pm

For a first time, it's very good ! Great job ! Continue like this :) !

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34pm

ok, the recursion is a really clever touch. fun game; nice work!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Haha really nice game! Controls are a bit unusual but it works just fine!

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I was fun!

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23am

Challenging game. I love how you have to control the jumps. I got until the level where a black stripe chases you. It is fun.

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:30am

Nice theme idea and the levels were great!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Great idea. Confusing, but fun.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:27am

Boing! I like the use of the next level as the character.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:21pm

It is really hard! But good job anyway! :D

Scam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Simple does not always mean easy. When I read the introduction I was thinking along the lines "not again, I've seen my share of generic platformers over the years". However, this entry was pleasantly different.

It has simple gameplay mechanics but man, it is addictive, hard and frustrating (but in a positive way).

danidre14 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:23pm

This is a really cool plat former, and a very unique idea! I pictured some of this to be in my game, but I could not make it possible in 48 hours, it seems. I love your creativity, and understood after while that once your entire box does not touch the black lines, you are good to go, but I got up to the final level and died there. :3

Caspila says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:36am

Really liked the adaptation of the theme. Also, nice twist on typical platformer controls.

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Nice game, keep working

Lynx says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:50am

I can't do it, I do not possess the skills. But interesting concept altogether though

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:14am

Nice overall experience. Can be improved. Thank you for your comment about my game ++

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Good job for a first dare! The mechanics are minimalistic but you made good use of them well done. Also liked the transition effect and how it fits with the theme :) However I didn't liked the graphics and audio :(

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I really like it. Like the fact that the character is the next level, that was pretty cool which makes it fit the theme perfectly. Good Job :D.

woodenrabbit says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:01pm

I really liked it! It was a lot of fun and surprisingly difficult but in a good way. I liked the level designs. Good job!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:38am

Clever and challenging game. I liked the level transition effect!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I'm getting a 404 when I try to play the game - the source link seems to work, but not the Web link.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]