Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Manic Depressive

by isaque.picao.sanches - Compo Entry

Here’s my submission for the COMPO:

http://gamejolt.com/games/other/manic-depressive/41038/

Theme: Entire Game on One Screen.

My starting point was centering the whole game on a single thing, and zooming in and out of it. It’s a conceptual interpretation of the theme, instead of a more literal/mechanical approach.

This is an experimental game about Bipolar disorder. It’s meant to represent the illness through its mechanics and systems.

[spoilers
tips for stuck players:
• You can't cimb the rock if you're "feeling" blue or pink (or black, later in the game). To climb the rock, you have to "feel" red.
• The game has two endings (a win state/a fail state); after the game title, press 'Down Arrow'.
]


Current version: 1.0
Source:
http://gamejolt.com/dashboard/developer/games/distributions/41038/#distribution-44851

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

Very well made game! I really liked the idea behind it, perhaps could you make a "sequel" to it? I would totally play it!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:17am

Nice concept! I was stuck until I read the spoiler. Maybe with some modification you could let the player know what they need to do to help them figure it out? I think it's the multiple views that really confused me

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Thanks. I'm planning change the game in a future update, but right now (during the judging process) it wouldn't be fair.
A bit more text giving more context to the mechanics, a warning to go back at the title screen and maybe a few more levels.

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:37am

nice chill vibe to the game overall, good job.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:20am

Very interesting concept ! It's pretty well made too. Great job !

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:07am

I myself Have Bi-Polar disorder. This is not something I would consider to be a game, but my opinion is not empirical fact. If I DO judge it as a game the fun is nowhere to be found at all. I don't mean to bash you or anything but you seem to have lost the 'game' part of your game and it just ends up being something that bashes you over the head with feeling bad, which I already do on a regular basis.

To sum it up making a player feel useless with no rewards, and no real gameplay other than waiting is a terrible experience to have as a player, and yes I'm aware that is exactly how bi-polar disorder makes the sufferer feel, but in my opinion a game is more than just the story and the theme, it needs mechanics and this only has one.

all of the 'mean-ness' aside You did do a fantastic job of showing the player of the 'game' what it's like when you are on one of your low periods. You also did a great job with the mood of the game, and the sound effects are spot on. You did such a good job that you ended up making me feel a bit depressed since you reminded me what the disease throws at me every day, maybe put up some kind of warning that the game can cause you to feel even MORE depressed?

P.S: I see you have removed the 'fun' vote, so you seem to already be aware of much of what I just said. I say these things not to be mean but to try and give you the perspective of another person other than your own, take it as you will, but I hope you don't take it as an offense as it was not meant as one.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:23am

@Mincemeat
I didn't take offense at all. For better and for worse, everything you said is somewhat true. Keep in mind this is the 1.0v too, and I have some changes planned for the game, but at its core it won't change that much, it will still make you feel what's its meant to make the player feel.
Maybe a warning would indeed be appropriate; if another player makes this complain, I will add a disclaimer.
I did remove the 'fun' vote with that in mind. I personally don't suffer from chronic depression or bipolar disorder, as I mentioned in my postmortem, and the game doesn't feel as "heavy" to me. If you say it has such a powerful impact on you, that make me somewhat happy as an artist.
Again, I may have to add an disclaimer about this, but your feedback makes me happy nonetheless.
Thank you for your comment.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:25am

makes* me somewhat happy as

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:38am

fantastic, I'm glad I didn't offend you and I wish you happiness and Success in your endeavors, thank you for considering my opinions.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:14am

An interesting journey for someone who is only vaguely aware of this disorder. I like your approach to visualizing this problem and the fact that it's not trying to be traditionally 'game-like'. It could have some more direction for the player, but other then this, really impressive work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]