Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ethics Simulator: Fishbowl Life

by Mindcake - Compo Entry

Choose your own adventure on your path to heaven (or purgatory)
22 possible endings!
Billions of combinations!
Many story choices!
All made in 48 hours!
If you want to edit this game, use this link:
http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/38120956/#editor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#272Mood3.27
#416Theme3.70
#428Innovation3.29
#518Graphics3.14
#598Fun3.05
#806Overall2.95
#2075Coolness26%

Comments

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Got eaten by the dog and didn't go to heaven :)

Very cool and simple game, though I would like to see some simple animations alongside my actions.

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:31am

That was cool! My son's learning scratch right now, can't wait to show it to him.
Bob the fish didn't make it to heaven though, cause he got a cold :( I shall mourn his loss.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

This is amazing! The writing is good and the concept is wonderful. I love the graphics.

glaze_96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Fun little game! I love exploring all of the different options ^^

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:35am

I don't really get what the connection between praying/spirituality with whatever happened in the game, but I like the simplicity of it. :) Good job!

Pix3M says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:38am

I found the storyline to be rather bizzaire, and it was very unclear what ethical problems were being simulated beyond maybe a question of "is it right for me to pray a kitty to death, or let the kitty eat me?"

Sorry if there was a deeper story behind this and if that flew over my head.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:44am

Interesting idea with effective visuals. Sometimes reading the text was a little difficult. I think the UX would have been better if the options were selected through buttons rather than typing it out.

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:11am

Awesome game, I thought it was very humorous seeing all the animals around the fish die!

bORAT says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:18am

Very nice text based game. Hope you'll get good ratings in the innovation section.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Love the concept of this. My fish didn't go to heaven, though. :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]