Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Blockade Runner

by Kopeph Developers - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT: Make sure to extract all files, or else the game will not run, then run the jar file inside.

You are one of a few surviving humans in a robot-infested world. Each robot emits light in one of the primary colors (Red, Green, or Blue) which must combine with the color of the floor and/or the colors of light emitted by other robots to create white light. The robots can only see you, the player, if you're standing in white light, and will chase after you as soon as they see you. If they catch you, you're dead. Your goal is to retrieve the Pink Package. Can you successfully dodge those dastardly ambling squares?

Gameplay:
You're that little white square that moves when you twiddle your WASDies. You want to get to the stationary pink square, avoiding the other colored squares moving around aimlessly and emitting light. Levels are procedurally (randomly) generated, and so are enemy positions and movements. If the game seems to be running slowly, reduce your window size until it's as smooth as you want it. Press space to generate a new map, or to restart if you win or lose.

Written in Java using the Processing libraries. All code and assets made by the team during the jam. Based on every top-20 theme except for snowman.

Credits:
Kopeph Developers
Miles: Coding
Dave: Graphics
Alex: Coding and Performance Optimization

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#352Theme(Jam)3.70
#422Innovation(Jam)3.16
#472Graphics(Jam)3.33
#579Humor(Jam)2.44
#724Overall(Jam)2.95
#819Mood(Jam)2.56
#890Fun(Jam)2.46

Comments

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

It's no surprise to me that the game made in Processing is very pretty. =) The white light mechanic was cool, but a little hard to understand.

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:51am

I really love the colors with this game. The way they shift and move is really entertaining to watch. The pink tile is a bit hard to find, however

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

Really comfy abstract color feeling :)

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58am

I like it. The light effects are cool.
Sometimes it's hard to tell where you spawn. Also, the first time I played I spawned in a closed square.
When I won my eyes just broke.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

I was attracted by the bright colors, but couldn't quite get it.

JamesOfJames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12am

Taking on 19 themes is ambitious for sure, but as with games with any length of development cycle, it can often just feel a bit unfocused and "what are the important things?" To me, the gameplay suffered for trying to fit too much in - there's not much excitement or fun trying to dodge the bots or get the package. Nonetheless, lots of great code and work in this, it's plain to see!

sikosis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:26am

I think I got stuck in some area and couldn't get across to the pink tile. Controls work just fine, very trippy artwork.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27am

Very cool, and very well done, making it fit all of those themes! Nice procedural generation, but I got stuck in a room of my own once, haha. Quite a technical achievement for such a short time!

zillix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

Fantastic presentation! Very beautiful. I wished I moved a little faster :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:02am

There are some interesting subtleties like being a white square trying to hide on a white background while trying to break line of sight with a color.

several of the levels I generated had no solutions (stuck in a box) or little to no white light (so no challenge). Making the levels a bit less random could lead to some interesting though.

Rothens says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:15am

I loved the mechanic, even tho I felt the entities annoyingly small. But anyway, it's a very cool entry :)

acro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Hi guys, thanks for commenting on our entry; would've loved to know how far you got into it :)

Um, so, "Blockade Runner"... this will be blunt, harsh and to the point. Sorry, but it's meant constructively and I won't mince words.

Players don't care what makes a thing work, only about the experience presented. And this is just about the worst possible way to strain someone's eyes: looking for a tiny spot in a wide field of highly saturated colours, all of which are mixing together and moving.

The 'graphics', image/asset wise, could be made in under an hour.

Three of the six times I ran it (including the first time), it randomised into an unconnected rectangle. I tried something like that in LD30 ('Connected Worlds') and had to spend a long while ensuring connectedness - in the end didn't have time to finish the entry, so I totally understand you just leaving this with the occasional break. It always seems like it shouldn't take that much time, but it does.

Also (still playing devil's advocate, here), I didn't read the wall of text concept/description until after playing the game.
I was, however, quite intrigued by the screenshot, as I couldn't work out what it would be.

All that stuff about '20 themes' and 'being a robot'... what? No, you're a painfully slow-moving white dot!

The graphics are genuinely, impressively horrible. The use of saturation inflicts pain (although I've been staring at a monitor for 3 days already), while hue and saturation aren't used at all! If the aim was to strain the player's eyes to the maximum possible extent, you couldn't have done much better.
The only way it could look worse would be to make the victory/death screens raw Cyan, Magenta, or shocking pink, instead of red/green, or perhaps flickering rapidly between red and blue to trigger epileptic seizures (please don't do that).

One of the screenshots shows circles. A circle would be really useful when you spawn.

So, as a game, it's outstandingly bad.

I found the most interesting aspect here to be Alex's timelapse video - I also use Eclipse Luna and didn't know it's possible to block-edit vertically, so thank you for that, I learned something :)

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I like how colorful the game is.
Unfortunately the room creaton is a little bit bugged. It generated a map where the player and the goal were not connected at all. Also it is rather hard to see where you are and where you have to go becuase there is so much going on on the srceen.
Still a very nice entry, well done.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Some parts of the game look neat, but overall it's too visually busy. There are two many moving colours, and it took me about a minute to find my square. It's also not entirely obvious what's suppose to be happen. Also, when I go into the white areas of the map I can't see my character, which is kind of a pain.

anael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:38pm

It took me a while to figure out where the player was (white dot). The other dot behavior looks interesting, good coding.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:34am

This game was confusing and hurting my eyes, , ,the character was to small to find. i had to spend like a good 30 seconds fining the character. Its a shame though your game look really good and promesing

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:20am

very cool game !! like the way you have to search for the right dots in the screen! Cool use of the theme ;)

by the way, we added a better description to our game maybe you want to try it again ;)

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:25am

Oh there is something else! Sometimes there is actually no way to the goal... we had the same problem with our random generated world... but we added "zapping" i think for you game it would be better there were always a way because its frustrating to search and then realize that there is no way...

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:47am

Got some impossible levels too. didn't see any downside to being "seen" by the lights. Thought the visuals were interesting.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:58am

Cool graphics, quite trippy! The use of several colors gives this kind of game a completely new depth, well done!

I also really like the procedurally generated levels, too bad the rooms sometimes don't connect.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Nice idea

Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:31am

I don't know why, but I had to restart 5 times before getting a level where I wasn't stuck from the beginning. o:

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Nice colors, interesting concept (: Great work :D

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

Very beautiful! I think movement is frame dependent because sometimes my avatar moves slowly for no reason.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:25am

wow nice game

Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:37am

You're right, the movement is framerate-dependent. We've since fixed this after the jam, but it's too big of a patch to be able to justifiably update the download links.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:00am

nice colors, has special graphics. Gameplay is fun!

Backterria says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice work!Cool colors too!

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Good job, really liked it!
The level generation didn't always work out so well, sometimes I couldn't even reach the room with the goal in it. Also, finding yourself and the goal in each new level was sometimes a bit hard.
The color-blending is not only really gorgeous looking, but also an interesting and innovative mechanic once you figure out how it works.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]