Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Rush

by Wusakko - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare game. I am just coder so graphics and sounds are not my specialty (Music is taken from Unity assetstore for free http://u3d.as/content/affordable-audio-4-everyone/dark-future-music/36m). Ball moves with WASD and level resets with space. Game is not easy, but can you beat 261.487329 secs? Game is made with Unity in 13 hours.


Exe can be found at http://www.filedropper.com/rushexe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#221Fun(Jam)3.43
#350Innovation(Jam)3.27
#439Overall(Jam)3.27
#586Audio(Jam)2.43
#631Theme(Jam)3.41
#739Humor(Jam)2.10
#786Mood(Jam)2.63
#888Graphics(Jam)2.33

Comments

Ult says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:44pm

This is actually pretty fun. At first I was skeptical about how the walls could be destroyed and thought it was a lack of effort, but then I saw what you did with it and I thought it was interesting.
Don't worry about the graphics, these look alright.
4 stars.

Ult says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:44pm

oh also, my only complaint for now is that hitting space should reset the individual level and not the whole game.

pk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29pm

It started getting interesting when flowers appeared but it also made it much easier to fall off the map or get trapped.

It would not be a problem if you could restart the current level but having to restart the entire game makes it very hard to progress through these levels.

Wampus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:55am

Good use of physics. Fun until the end. :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:06am

The ball felt really heavy. Navigating the maze vs. ramming through some walls felt like an interesting trade off. Got a lot better when the red Xs were introduced.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:26am

Chaining together block explosions in order to get through a level is visually impressive and really fun. However, since it's relatively easy to get stuck or fall off the edge, you should really be able to restart a single level, not the entire game. It also feels like the ball should be able to push blocks just a little bit more, even without momentum.

FinnMacd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:39am

Really cool game, but space should restart the level, not the game

pkenney says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:55am

Tricky little game, nice work.

After a while I got the hang of the delay on the controls, and learned to wind up and smash into things, that was cool.

I rolled a little too hard into the finish on a level and hit space to reset, but it went to the beginning of the game. I played again, and it happened again but later (level shaped like an N), and that time I wasn't going to replay the whole game again.

Totally would have continued on to the end if it let me keep my progress though! Nice work.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:33am

I did beat it, after like 4 attempts to pass the first level with blow up thingys I ended up beating the entire thing in 190 seconds.

Like everyone has said you should be able to restart the level. Don't reset the time and also consider including a death's count and that way you can compare how you did compared to others.

LOVED the physics used, things flying in the air and needing to speed up, good job.

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:46am

So simple game but it looks so great! particularly eplosion effect in the end of level looks so fancy.
great job!

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:08am

Suprisingly fun, and interesting idea. Good job!

Rothens says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:14am

I agree with the others... space should restart the level, not the whole game :P anyway, it's a nice one! :)

RadStar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:29am

Cool game and idea! I reached the end in 201.9989 seconds:)

psychopsam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36am

Hey there - would love to play but link wont work :(

psychopsam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:56am

Got 160 - Genius game!!!! Loved the difficulty curve. Would have been good if it did a game over when the ball fell off.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Thanks for the great feedback! Main idea for that reset was that game is still under 5 mins long :)

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Nice! I did it in 171.39 seconds! The music was very intense and I like the way the ball builds up torque making it challenging. I really like the transitions between the different levels. Well done!

TehSkull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:43am

Man this is fun! It's a little too difficult in my opinion to build momentum. The mines add a lot of fun to the game. Definitely work on this some more, I'd love to play a full version.

kothead says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:25am

Restarting the whole game makes it very challenging. May be too much =) But I like to explode things around and to rush through walls. Nice job!

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:26am

The camera angle is good and the abuse of a physics engine works well.
I'd prefer a level-reset that gives a penalty rather than a full game reset.
I feel like the WASD keys may not be the best way of adding momentum to the ball.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:50am

Fun game! The physics felt good, though I would have liked to have started up the ball a little bit faster! The music made it intense. Nice job!

High five for first ludum dare game! :D

davient says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:30am

Hey Wusako, I get a Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime error after the unity logo. Any thoughts on how to resolve?

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice game! It was both interesting and challenging!

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Davient I think runtime components of Visual C++ Libraries are missing. Installing that might solve it: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=9B2DA534-3E03-4391-8A4D-074B9F2BC1BF&displaylang=en

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:21pm

cool

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I was surprised how fun this game turned out..

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Classic visual,,, good game

danidre14 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Really fun after a while! And a nice heart rushing feeling to it too!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nice start

Wusakko says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Sorry! Downloadlink is gone and voting is soon over. I wondered why there is no reviews anymore :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]