Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Story of Cheap Ranger

by DavidVisscher - Compo Entry

An action-platformer about a ranger who was too cheap to buy more than 5 arrows.

Move - Arrow Keys
X - Shoot
C - Special Attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#106Fun3.70
#136Humor3.32
#178Graphics3.76
#233Overall3.54
#411Audio2.94
#472Mood3.00
#482Theme3.65
#710Innovation2.92

Comments

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice Game! Thinkin about multiplayer?
Memories of endless Towerfall-Sessions comig up

Raxsus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Awesome game. Reminds me a lot of Super Crate Box.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

I love this. It's very addicting. The idea is humorous as well.

AinaSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Nice Game! This game is asking for multiplayer!
Also, nice art! has a nice feeling.

dook says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Great fun! Solid controls and really engaging for such a simple game :)

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Very cool. The 5 arrows mechanic made the game challenging but very fun.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41pm

I really liked the fact that you need get the arrows back! Good Job! :)

arg-games says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Nice graphics and animation!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:58pm

no you are the one who is funny @_@

:-D

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:58pm

One of my favorite game so far. Lot's of fun. Good job!

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Realy Hard and nice game!
I like to play, it's a easy gameplay!
congratulations!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Cool game, reminds me of towerfall and super crate box :D
By the way, I could not lost any lives

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02am

Very nice work! The graphics have obviously received a lot of work, especially the arrow shoot effect (fab!). One thing that could be improved though is that dying instantly restarts the game, which is a little jarring. Otherwise, solid entry!

Eggplant says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

Super fun! I like the art a lot. It's very addicting.

Linkigi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

My favorite entry so far. The game is well designed and it feels very satisfying to shoot arrows. The graphics are simple yet effective and give the game a nice atmosphere.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39am

I could see myself playing this for quite some time. The sounds, graphics, and mechanics really mesh together nicely.

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:03pm

That Pixel artwork is really great, I especially love the font.
However it feels a lot like Super Crate Box, it may be a coincidence but it has so many elements in common that it almost seems unlikely.
Still fun to play.

rzuf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:26am

I laughed at the title. :) Nice Towerfall clone!

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:52am

very towerfall-ish, the arrow-trails looked great, found the best strategy was to just wait at the bottom of the screen

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:28am

I love it! It's just so damn fun!

kipelovets says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Please make a Mac of Web build!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Smooth game play, nice job!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:05pm

The title is funny and the game works well; My only complaint is that the game would be a lot better had the player not been a one hitpoint wonder. Just popping back to the beginning, while minimizing restart time, is jarring and somewhat annoying, especially when you didn't even know what you hit.

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I *really* love your graphics style. I wish mine was as as beautiful. The game is a lot of fun, too! I liked it a lot to put one arrow through a whole army of bad guys!

It lacks a bit of polish, but who's game doesn't in the compo :3

Mak says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Let me say this first: I had SO MUCH fun playing your game. The controls and the mechanics felt so good! In fact there were moments in which I felt like a badass. Like when I killed three enemies with a single arrow, while falling to the pit and then double-jumped to get it back.

Really great job!

Renaldo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:00pm

The graphics were a little glitchy.
The concept was funny, the art was great and the controls were responsive. A very nice entry!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:45am

Very nice artstyle. Reminds me a lot of Super Crate Box

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]