Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Sleep

by Technomancer Game Studio - Jam Entry

CONTROLS:
W/A/S/D = move character
Mouse/LClick = aim and shoot
ALT+F4 = exit the game (Windows version).

So this is our little game about a soul trapped in a battle between two entities. We tried our best to stick to the "one screen" aspect while maintaining challenge and variation.

Let us know how far you can go!

Game Design by Leonardo Aranha and Juliano Reis.

Art by Rafael Brum, Eduardo Gressler, Leonardo Aranha

Programming by Bruno Lopes.

Sound & Music grabbed randomly at opengameart.org (will edit in the artists as soon as I find them here!)

Special thanks to João Kucera

Hail from Porto Alegre - RS - Brazil!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#67Fun(Jam)3.80
#148Theme(Jam)3.98
#215Mood(Jam)3.46
#225Overall(Jam)3.56
#255Graphics(Jam)3.76
#383Humor(Jam)2.81
#518Innovation(Jam)3.02

Comments

time2isaac says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13am

Really liked the graphics and the music. Had some grips with the grid based movement system while enemies have more freedom to move and circle you, thus adding an extra layer of difficulty. While i like the oval shape of enemies, the rocky one have the light on top that could be easy to misjudge as some kind of weak spot. The power-up system, while traditional with heatlh regain, more damage and shield, make me desire for the damage one most of the time, since he outshine the others by a far margin. And the weapon used by the character stands out very much from the imposed art style. My biggest gripe with it is really the death bleep of enemies. 8/10

marlokroth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54am

Muito bom!! gostei da arte e da imersão "inusitada" que causa.
O fato de o char não correr em diagonal atrabalhou um pouco.

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05am

While laying this game I see 4 hands in front of me :D

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Pretty nice game, good use of the theme! The hand on the right is mildly creepy though...

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:07am

Good controls. Upgrades are fun and useful. Good game.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:56am

Ficou bem divertido, 10/10

muumeroinen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Liked it. I kept trying to move diagonally thought :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Fun, but really, really hard to play when you don't havez a qwerty like us poor French-speakers. It would be great to be able to use either arrows or qsdw

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Fun little shooter. :) I like your use of the theme.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Neat game, cool music and graphics. The game was rather odd, to the description, in my opinion.
I would have liked if you were able to go up and left at the same time, or up right, down left, down right instead of up only, down only, left only, and right only. :\
Enjoyed the game none-the less.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:26am

Good job! =)

Indeed moving in diagonal seems important for this game

I think those buttons on screen are unnecessary, your game is already in only one screen, but I do understand the mood you wanted with that, so, forget my complaint xD

Greetings from Brazil! =D

bushmango says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:38am

Thanks for commenting on my game, Four Seasons!

Unfortunately your website is down while I write this comment so I can't play your game :( I'll try again later.

Hello, Brazil! My girlfriend is there right now studying as formigas. I hope to visit again soon!

murilo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Pretty good overall! I like it. But not being able to move diagonally was pretty bad and felt unfair.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42pm

muito divertido^^

vidarn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I liked the art and the sounds. The upgrades were cool and powerful. Good job!

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:58pm

This one really grew on me while playing! One of my favorites so far.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Nice job! Found it kind of frustrating that I could only run on one axis at a time, however.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Really fun game. Not sure why but i found the moving hands a little disturbing.

Taldius says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Nice little game, the graphics are really cool.
Good job.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Really awesome game, but the movement is a bit hard to get used to.

jelly says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Fun game! I really like the graphics and the effects. Plus the game in a game while I game is fun. It feels weird that the enemies are able to move so freely but my movement feels restricted.

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Good game,, congratulations

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Loved the style :D

banana4life says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Cool idea, but I don't like the controls

freaknarf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Hey! That was cool, a bit hard because i have azerty keyboard :] I'll fix what you noticed in my entry thanks for testing ;)
Cheers!

Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Fun game. We have done something very similar. But we have not achieved adequate difficulty curve. In this game if achieved and becomes addictive.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Fun game. We have done something very similar. But we have not achieved adequate difficulty curve. In this game if achieved and becomes addictive.

Juego divertido. Nosotros hemos hecho algo muy parecido. Pero no hemos logrado la curva de dificultad adecuada. En este juego si se consigue y se hace adictivo.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Good job! The character reminds me very much of Commander Video in Runner 2. :)
I liked the game, but I don't understand why you didn't implement the ability to move in all 8 directions.

xaedes says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:24pm

You did exceptionally well with theme. You gave the whole thing right feeling with fitting retro looking graphics and the choose of sounds (you may not made it yourself, but you choose the right one!).
I really enjoyed to play it.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:52pm

The lack of diagonal movement disturbs a little bit, so that would be my feedback for a post-compo version or so. Solid game anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]