Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Council of Smiles

by MatthewHolland - Compo Entry

It's a sort of visual novel government sim, set in a nation of smiley faces.

The game plays in a few minutes; playthroughs are slightly randomised so please have a second go if you could tolerate the first.
(It's quicker if you want to click through the 'animations' or use Ren'Py's fast forward feature, which I'm assured will only skip text you've already seen.)

If you're interested in the source you'll find the game logic in script.rpy and events.rpy, in a curious mixture of Ren'Py and Python proper.

Full disclosure: I'm employed as a designer (and previously a sort of programmer). If you want to take that into account you can.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#263Innovation3.56
#300Humor2.91
#436Overall3.30
#521Fun3.11
#523Mood2.96
#794Theme3.41
#888Audio1.88
#1086Graphics2.18
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

tomdeal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

the game could use some more graphics. I like the smiley faces, they provide good feedback.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:06pm

That's one well made game. I could see this become a bigger game. You've got 5/5 from me :)

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Promising ! A bit hard to guess what they want, but the concept is interesting

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Intriguing game idea! I'd have liked a longer game, though, so you have more of a chance to get to the smiley faces and learn to predict what they'll like and what they won't.

Ulydev says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Interesting concept !

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:14pm

graphics could be better, other than that not bad

mogwai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Really enjoyed this, good job.
Also scarily familiar since I'm from Sweden and the governments budget didn't pass here recently :)

bobombe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I played 3 times ^^, it's interesting ...

psychomonster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice Idea. Tricky questions :D Love this creative idea... maybe with a little more graphics and some sounds (speech) it would be much better.

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I enjoyed it. Could do with some graphics and audio that help set the mood of the game.

LethalyGuy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35am

Very interesting idea. But really hard to understand what they want for me.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Well done!

// caryoscelus

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:33am

Smooth execution, but it felt a bit sparse.

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Poor, but cool

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Interesting idea, and I like the simple represenation with smilies. If work on this continues there should, in my opinion, be more feedback about smily opinion, for example some interesting ways to question the smilies what they want, etc., so if feels more like negotiation/player has more control. - Tilman (from compo account)

edve98 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very interesting game!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:11pm

nice dude

rjhelms says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Cool idea. I don't think I've ever seen a government sim done as a Ludum Dare game before - good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]