Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

RandomRemoteRush[RRR]

by AwesomeAlliterationAlliance - Jam Entry

Gamerules:
at the beginning a goal(diamond thing) will spawn and switch on the timer.
The aim is to reach the goal before the timer ends.

If there is no way to the goal in the channel, you can zapp to the next.
But you need batteries for zapping and the zapps will increase the amount of lasers!

Lasers absorb your time!
Also the moving Balls will...

TIME IS SHORT! RRRUN AND COLLECT POWERUPS WITHOUT DETOUR!
(they will help you for instance by giving you more doublejumps :) or a drone ;) )

if you have reached a goal, you gain some time and
you automatically zapp to the next channel!

the sound is randomly sampled together for each channel
(you can sample your own in the pause screen)

Feel free to watch the trailer ;)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sviD6JoBESI&feature=youtu.be

Controls (also for Gamepad) described in game
and in the sreenshot

GAMEPAD RECOMMENDED
HAVE FUN
LET US KNOW ABOUT YOUR HIGHSCORE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#155Audio(Jam)3.54
#245Overall(Jam)3.52
#316Mood(Jam)3.31
#319Humor(Jam)2.95
#342Innovation(Jam)3.28
#387Theme(Jam)3.67
#443Graphics(Jam)3.39
#463Fun(Jam)3.09

Comments

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

Wasn't sure what to expect at 133MB. Great music, Great use of the theme. Innovative game play with the channel switching. Controls were a bit frustrating at times, but at 72hours, this is incredible.

srakowski says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

I really liked the way the screen frames the game... it looked quite cool.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36am

I've gotta admit, this game is really pretty but I have NO idea what's going on, even after reading the instructions.

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:22am

just added a better description ;)
thank you :P

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:15am

The music and visuals were cool, really sets the atmosphere. My only complaint is that I was being killed by things, but I didn't know what.

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:53am

lasers and moving balls are decreasing you time when you hit them! try to avoid the lasers or dash trough them quckly... some times a zapp is better because aufter zapping the lasers have to recharge :)

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32am

Good use of the theme, though the gameplay itself was hard in a frustrating way instead of challenging.

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36am

It could be better if you take the time too play it longer :) then it isn't frustrating i think... i think its just a matter of skill / balance... :)

chibiFlux says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11am

Very innovative. Nice music and visuals, but unfortunately i could't play it properly because the screen was kind of... not in the right place... so you could only seehalf of the game play. :(

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:13am

Interesting one, specially the skill that changes the channel in the right moment you're gonna to die. Nice one, congratulations!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:30am

I have to give you good marks for theme (since I did something similar ;p ), and the graphics and music were great.

Unfortunately, I seemed to be experiencing the same bug chibiFlux is talking about, where parts of the screen were missing, I couldn't see the time, and my character occasionally spawned out of bounds. I also seemed to have an issue where the first level would only give me one or two seconds to reach the goal sometimes.

These bugs meant I couldn't really have fun with the game, but I thought all the other aspects of its design were awesome.

NickName says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:33am

Interesting use of the theme, and great, arcade-style gameplay. The player can sometimes feel a bit at the mercy of the game, since zapping is generally not advantageous, but necessary because of random generation.

There also seems to be an exploit, wherein the player can dash any time in the air; since the dash can go slightly upwards (or downwards), the player can use this to climb quickly without having the requisite jump powerups.

I managed to get 1800. Probably not particularly impressive :P

The little dude looks funny wallsliding, haha!

Interesting game with solid, fundamental platforming intact. Great job!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nice start.

gre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:20pm

cool trailer. nice mood.

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:42pm

@NickName Yes would be better if there were always a way to the goal... so that zapping is not necessary for reaching it... (if you can not zapp becouse you have no betteries and there is no way to the goal you can actually kill yourself by hold q and e )

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:12pm

In a early version zapping increased the amount of lasers but reaching the goal resets the amount to 3-4... we schouldnt change that...

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I really like the concept on this one ! It's just like a dimension switching, but with a twist that it's all controlled by the different channels of the TV ! Had some fun, but had some bugs also (like I didn't see the amount of time before getting a game over)

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice :) hard.. try to beat my project :p

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Love the music and theme idea! Well done!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Really cool! Good job!

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I think best game so far! (played about 50 games)

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:39pm

we really appreciate your comment.. thanks guy.. that keeps the motivation rolling ^^

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Love the switching channel feature :) The theme interpretation is nicely done, but the game is quite hard imho!
Anway, great job! (+1 for the RRR, which made me think abuot VVVVV :p)

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:14am

my, "s" key is broken. i meant comment"s",and guy"s"! :)

Teesquared says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:36am

Very fast paced and tough but I kept retrying. Great graphics and sound.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Excellent ! The theme is well exploited, and after i understood a bit of mechanics it gets really fun and addictive!! really good.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Maybe waay to challenging, but neat game :)

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:00pm

controls are little bit hard to use..

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Awesome graphics! Awesome style! I like this game more and more@

Downtown says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:39pm

had a few good runs, but found the experience more frustrating than challenging, the game itself is really well put together but I think UI needs to indicate time left more clearly and the difficulty needs some tweaking. overall though its really well done and once I got the hang of the dashing and jumping I got some good runs going.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:03pm

nice music and concept keep it up dude

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:40am

Strange mechanic, but I did enjoy the game quite a bit. I definitely felt that there wasn't enough time to do much (that, or time pickups really didn't give you enough to make a difference).

lxd1 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:05pm

fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]