Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath Crystal Mountain

by ianatherton - Jam Entry

Delve into the depths beneath the Crystal Mountain and destroy the dungeon's master.

Fight minibosses to gain access to crystal chambers where you can use minions to harvest their energies. Over time the crystals will enhance the hero's statistics.

Once you control each crystal (there is 3) the final area becomes unlocked. But you'll want to upgrade your stats before venturing forth.

Best played in a widescreen resolution.

Mouse/keyboard controls:
left mouse: attack
right mouse: pickup minion
wsad: move
E: quaff potion

Controller controls:
left stick: move
a: attack
b: pickup minion
y: quaff potion

Code and Game Design by Strange Fire: http://www.strangefire.eu/
Art and Game Design by Ian Atherton http://www.ianatherton.com
Music by Matt Oglesby http://mjomusic.co.uk/

*Update*
Thanks for the nice comments.
Visual post mortem thing here: http://imgur.com/a/5gVoO

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#149Overall(Jam)3.69
#164Graphics(Jam)4.00
#248Fun(Jam)3.39
#267Mood(Jam)3.38
#308Humor(Jam)2.97
#341Audio(Jam)3.13
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#945Theme(Jam)2.68

Comments

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50am

Very nicely crafted game for a jam game. Controls very well, maybe would've wished a bit more feedback on the hits. Also the damage indication text isn't always clear, I can't really tell who is taking the damage at all times. But all in all a solid package that I enjoyed.

Emkani says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice idea, only real issues is that it is hard to see which numbers are your own and which are the enemies.

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Impressive graphics! It was a bit hard to dodge the attaks of the enemies but still good job! I GOT KILLED BY GORO

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Beatifully done! I would love to see postmortem how the levels and monsters were created!

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Thats a lot of work done! Nice game, good job!

TheCams says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Good idea, the game is not too hard even if sometimes you get overwhelmed by mobs. Having magic power or special attack would be awesome. Maybe consider displaying the enemies life and reduce the size of the damage text.
Good job !

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:45am

Nice job guys. I really like the visual style, movement feels good, seeing through walls when you get close is a nice touch. I didnt feel like I could land all my swings. Some things felt out of place like the chat bubbles over the characters. I REALLY didnt care for the map taking up half of my view.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:46am

Very nice graphics. Controls would be better if the player follow arrows controls but looked at the mouse cursor. Then he would strefe around enemies and hit them even while runing away.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:07am

These are really nice graphics and nice big area to play in. My biggest issues was that it was pretty easy to get overwhelmed by enemies, and I couldn't find a good strategy to attack them in a way that didn't hurt me too, so it was a lot of grinding and drinking potions to get through the slog.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:42pm

nice game :D

DarkCart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:09am

Nice 3D graphics.

blzkz says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:12am

Nice graphics, I like the gameplay, an action rpg is nice, but I think you don't stick well to the theme. But still a nice game.

Harsay says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:19am

For me it's a very lazy interpretation of theme. Graphics are nice (except paint-like dialogue clouds). Gameplay lacks of more advanced mechanic than just hitting with a sword.

Rothens says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:20am

Nice entry.. :) Maybe it's a bit hard, but still enjoyable.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:30am

Nice 3d game to implement in 3 days.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Nice graphics and cool gameplay.
When you get hit or you do hit is the same text color.

Well made!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:29am

I really like the textures, but the overall art is to inconsistent. Vector graphics vs. lowpoly vs. paint-like UI.
I didn't see there was anything beyond fighting to this (hence I did not see a point to carry the minion to). The fighting itself was very repetitive and did require no skill or tactics at all. It also lacked better visual impact when hitting an enemy.

Clear objective, consistent artstyle and a diversified battle is what the game is missing in my opinion. I really like the vector graphics and moody light.

memilian says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Technically impressive ! The game-play lack a bit of variety thought.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Really amazing game to be made in only 72 hours. Great work.

nosfer says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:23pm

quite solid, but little hard to control. I found out that pressing Q stops character rotation. Maybe it would be a good idea to separate walking from attack so the player can walk in one direction and attack in another. Or some kind of locking on nearest enemy?

ianatherton says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:58am

Q is still mapped to a function that makes the player move independent from rotation, that means he would be looking at the mouse pointer in the game world, but having less time than required to make the same functionality on the controller as the keyboard + mouse combo, we scrapped it, but still the button was left mapped.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Impressive amount of work for a jam game. While the controls feel smooth, a little bit of polish in terms of feedback is missing, especially respective the fighting. Anyway, good job and nice graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]