Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

FIWPFT (F&*K I Wasn't Prepared For This)

by hazryder - Jam Entry

FIWPFT Is a nonsensical top-down 2D shooter which pits you against 3 levels of increasing difficulty. Destroy as many enemies as possible within the time limit and reach the score threshold to advance to the next level.

Featuring:

Enemy AI
Powerups
Retro graphics & sounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2251Coolness14%

Comments

Greg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

Good job guys, I really liked playing it.

Krz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23am

Pretty fun game, wasn't sure about how the controls would work until i was playing it. The controls work and it felt like a pretty decent game overall. Nice work guys.

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:57am

Very nice. Fast paced and lots of bullets. What's not to like?

lightsoda says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Wow, such prepare. Much controls. Breaking of sounds many wow.

Nice little shooter.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:16pm

This was a pleasant surprise! Stumbled onto this through the Rating Rescue Ranger program, and it turned out to be a much more fun game than I was expecting! I didn't really appreciate the use of memes too much, but the core gameplay wasn't focused on them, so I can't complain too much.
I like how aggressive the enemies can get - you really have to keep your distance, or you're going to die real quick

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:31am

Managed to get 5200. A really well built twin-stick shooter here. Wish the power ups would revive on this one. This game seriously needs more votes!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:56am

Haaaaaaa i crashed scoring 4200 :) Good, purple haze ryder.

peeweek says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Seriously.... Meow! :)
Very fun, loved the pace!

Still regretting the simplicity of the sound though.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Hahaha got a few laughs out of this one, nice crazy feel!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:59am

I liked the aesthetic, however it's easy to die as the character has only one hit-point. I only got to the second stage after a couple of plays, though it seems that you can simply hide in an alcove and win.

I liked it though. Allegro is cool.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Weird, but kinda neat. ;) Honestly there don't seem to be any weak areas, I don't know what you could improve. It's pretty well executed! Or, at least it seems to be exactly what you wanted it to be.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]