Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Space Opera

by SirRicecake - Jam Entry

Soon, on a computer-screen near you: SPACE OPERA.

Play our hero "Valkyrella", as she is singing her way through a never ending stream of rockets.
Will she reach the end? We don't think so.
Will it be fun? You have to decide.
Try to withstand obstacles of any kind as long as possible.

== Credits ==
Art -> pgf "http://piersgoffart.com"
Code/Sound -> SirRicecake

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#54Humor(Jam)3.85
#118Graphics(Jam)4.16
#168Audio(Jam)3.50
#199Mood(Jam)3.50
#277Theme(Jam)3.79
#367Overall(Jam)3.36
#384Fun(Jam)3.21
#683Innovation(Jam)2.76

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

I like the idea a lot and the graphics in combination with the sound are working very well together. The gameplay was a little frustrating as it was hard to avoid/sing away the rockets.

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49am

I really dig the art style here.

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51am

This was fun, but gets a little tedious after a few minutes. I absolutely LOVED the art style. Makes me think of a quirky animated short played on cartoon network circa 1998. the idea is pretty clever overall and good execution. Nice game.

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52am

Very cool art and setting. I eventually let myself die after 150 seconds - is there an ending? I dig the creativity! The artwork definitely stands out.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54am

The graphics were really beautiful! It was a good take on the theme. "Space Opera"... very unique!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54am

I liked the concept, but Valkyrella is too big to dodge the rockets, although I haven't gotten my head around the "singing" thing. All in all, decent game.

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:59am

Pretty interesting but gets monotonous after the first thirty seconds. Nice setting though.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07am

First time I arrived on the title screen, I got stuck. Pressed all keys (including space), clicked everywhere, nothing! I refreshed, and the second time, I pressed space and the game started. But then, I had no idea how to play so I pressed all keys again, clicked around but nothing happened. You might wanna let us know how to play your game :) Anyway, I reloaded the game a third time and finally I could move around. I laugh a lot, this is quite different and funny to play. I agree with Timtipgames though, it's a bit frustrating.

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:40am

Beautiful art style, and great use of the theme, but it does get old rather quick

jrap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18am

oh my god

mahalis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:20am

Beautiful artwork, good sound, and a really clever interpretation of the theme. Well done!

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:23am

Solid! simple but i just kept playing! the background chords really made it!

iShadow says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32am

Art style is awesome. Nice idea, and fun gameplay, but no difficulty curve. At first it's hard to shoot all rockets but after a while it's just to easy when you get a hang of it.
Anyway, great and unique game.

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51am

I loved this game. Unique mechanic on a played out genre. The graphic design was top notch. The music was great. I played it a few times, which says allot in itself.

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48pm

awesome game great work! i love funny games!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I really like the idea, it was well executed with nice art and sound/music. The whole game feels well well thought out and humorous!

Good job!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Cool idea, awesome art and nice vocal sound! Well done!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Nice! Very good take on the theme.
Nice visuals and consistent style.
It's just too bad there isn't more to do!
Good job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47pm

I really liked this. Great use of sound, was thinking about creating a game where the hero attacked using sound myself. Music fit the action really nice. Well done!

2fast2fourier says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:59am

Very interesting, I love the concept and the art is well suited. A little variation in the opponents would be nice, but what it does it does well.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:13am

Love the idea. Solid execution. Art is super dope too. The musical build-up had me going for a while until I realized it's not building up to anything at this point, hah :D. But such is game jamming, right?
Great entry!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:23am

Overall a really clever solution to the theme and some gorgeous graphics as well! Great job!

camlang says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:35pm

The art style is really well done, but the gameplay sorta gets repetitive after a few minutes.

NPException says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Well done! Classic genre, fresh interpretation. I love it! :)

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:06am

Love the art style, the game is a bit repetitive sadly

matpg says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:07am

Good work!
The opera singer is litlle bit too large though

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:11am

Nice aesthetic. Simple, but it works. Could use a little variety, but I get it, there's only so much time.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:58am

beautiful game, nice visuals and sound, well done

Larzan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:58am

This is awesome! Great idea with the notes / opera / space combination, very creative (ok, lets forget physics for a sec ;p)
Loved it, great idea, well implemented, great gfx + sound.
Well done!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:59am

aaaa...I was laughing all the time playing Space Opera..Incredible! And the character so cute!

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:10am

Is the bohemian rhapsody of this Ludum dare! Good job!

PurpleApes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:40pm

"In space, no one can hear you scream" But Sing YES!
Nice idea!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Nice start.

Mase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:05pm

It's a bit repetitive; needs more Wagner and less Glass. Some coloratura would be nice as well.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:41pm

My landlord about 20 years ago was an opera singer, but I don't think he ever had to fend off rockets!

First, the bad news. The game was fairly easy to play and didn't seem to progress much. But the good news is that the graphics are impeccable and have a lot of character, and the actual idea of an actual Space Opera is pure bonkers craziness!

Next, I want a bit of Handel. Early space opera would be great.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:16am

Fun idea. Got a little repetitive and my cat seemed to pipe up to the notes a little after hearing them for 205 seconds :P Great job!

Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:47pm

More humour than fun, but a great entry! Singing sounds cool.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Awesome game, love the graphics

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]