Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Two Steps from Darkness

by Ashalah - Jam Entry

You, a brave adventurer, have fallen to a cursed tower!
Your soul will be forever trapped within these walls,
unless you defeat all of the cursed souls and find your way out.

Evil seeps from the walls, twisting the very fabric of reality.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51am

Great game! Clever idea to alter the map as you move through it, great use of light and shadow, very nice art style. Good work all around!

Junuxx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:41am

Yay I won! That was fun to play and provided a decent challenge. I absolutely love how the level layout changes where it's dark, very nice.

I think I died 5 times in the last big room. First time I died I was transported all the way back to the start, so I had to walk a long way through an empty level. I think that's not supposed to happen? The entries and side corridors of the boss room also glitched a lot for me, and after a while the shield stayed on indefinitely. Don't know why/

Suggestions for future improvement: Maybe only regenerate HP after x seconds out of combat? Or make enemies actively chase you? Right now it's to easy to hide and recover full strength. Also, the light resource recovers very quickly; I never ran out, so so maybe reduce the gain rate. Finally, I couldn't figure out how to trigger the offensive spell mentioned in the readme.

All in all very nice, would recommend.

Junuxx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:42am

Oh forgot to mention the art style. I think it's great! Could have been a commercial game in the 90s, and that's not meant as a dig.

Linear says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:12pm

This is one of the most fun games I've played so far. Very well done with the way the level wraps around on itself! The only points you lost were that you didn't have sound, which affected the mood.

xaedes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I get "MSVCP120d.dll missing" error, even after installing vcredist_x86.
As it seems to be the debug version (http://stackoverflow.com/q/21707992/798588), this could may be fixed with a release build instead of debug.
Please fix this =)

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I got the same error as @xaedes .

Would love to try it out, though. :)

NPException says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I get an error message, saying that "OpenColorIO.dll" is missing. I take a look at google.

NPException says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:25pm

ignore the last comment. wanted to write that in another tab :D

NPException says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Just... perfect in everything it tries to do, imo!
Seriously. The level design is nuts! LOVE IT!
The art style! You are a genius. 5 Stars everywhere. Shut up and take my money!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I get the same "MSVCP120D.dll is missing" error, even after reinstalling directly from microsoft support. It looks like a great game, and I'd love to play it, though. For reference, I'm running 64-bit Windows 8.

Ashalah says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:23am

Hey guys, this is indeed the debug build. I'll upload the proper release build tonight, it should work on everyones PC provided that vcredist_x86 is installed. Sorry about this silly mistake. Thank you for playing my game :D

Linear, I know :( It pains me that there's no sound, it would really add a lot to the atmosphere. I've got no experience with sound/music though. Maybe I can find a friendly sound artist to help me finish the game.

Ashalah says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Updated. Should no longer give "MSVCP120D.dll is missing" error.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Pretty Cool Game, Love the graphics

Scam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:39am

I loved the art style. Dynamically changing map is a cool idea. With sounds and music it would be more captivating.

anael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:10pm

awesome game !! it deserves more rating !

xaedes says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice graphics and lights! Gives a god damn good mood. Sound would really add a lot to this. I like the concept with the changing level

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]