Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Richard Bruck in the Dark

by Kovalsky - Jam Entry

Richard Bruck in the Dark is a adventure survival game. Darkness attacks estate and threatens to sweep all around. You need to nail down the windows, not passing into the darkness. But nights become longer and darker...
Features:
- Day and Night: you can rest in day phase and survive at night
- Graphics quality: 3D models, light, particles, animated character
- You can hummer or do not hummer :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#51Graphics(Jam)4.43
#246Audio(Jam)3.33
#277Mood(Jam)3.36
#386Overall(Jam)3.34
#418Theme(Jam)3.64
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#530Humor(Jam)2.54
#682Fun(Jam)2.82

Comments

psychonull says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

Amazing graphics! Well done.

erik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06am

Wow, this is very pretty. Were the graphics assets created over the weekend? Too bad I couldn't fullscreen, or make the window bigger to see everything better. Gameplay was a bit hard to understand what was happening, and using the mouse it seemed that clicking on the windows was inconsistent.

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23am

Thank you, had less sleep =)
This screen had to do , for they feared the topic is not there.
Management horrible , but you can get used .
My record = 7 days )

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:00am

7 days survive =)

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Good and pretty game, it's was fun to play but a bit repetitive.
Nice job!

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I didn't really understand the controls or objective.

stvr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Very pretty, with a truly creepy fail state!

Nelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22pm

It looks really strange. I like this style.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Beautiful to look at and great music.

I found the hitboxes to be hard to hit, especially when I want to repair the windows. It requires at least 3 clicks before he starts repairing it.

Also I think that it would benefit from more strategy in gameplay, the only thing you have to do is harvest and repair, without much limitations. It would be fun to have a more challenging resource management.

The mood is effective and sucks you in.

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Good job implementing the game. I do find it a little tricky to click the hammers (web).

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Love the game idea, old skull game mechanic, great graphics.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:47am

Loved the art and music. Like some others I did find the hotspots hard to click sometimes, but it's fine once you get the hang of it. Fun and atmospheric. :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:59am

Not bad. My suggestion how this game can be easily improved: 1) enlarge interactive area of hammers to make easy to click; 2) give sound feedback for nailing board, to know that you click is succeed; 3) set camera more close to floor (at now you can't see details and most part of screen empty); 4) tune up lowest point of camera for more comfortable angle.

cmcoto says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:11am

Awesome graphics!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:11am

Great art! Adding in more content could make the game more juicy, looking forward to different things.

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:23am

Really good graphics! I like the style of the game a lot!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:32am

The web link brought me to a zip instead of the .html! Let me know when it's fixed!

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:35am

Gorgeous art, although I found interacting with the hammers and collecting planks a little unintuitive. Overall I kind of had no idea what I was doing when all the black stuff comes into the house and it was really hard to tell where my character was or if he was doing anything useful

camlang says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Beautiful to look!!!! 5/5

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Very moody game! I collect to much planks but no really action I find out.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice graphics, the visual style is quite good! The gameplay gets hard when you need to click several times on the hammer icons in order to repair the windows, sometimes it feels like you are not even repairing them. I think a sound when repairing would make a good feedback for the player, just to know if you are doing something or not!

esaygin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:28am

Damn good!

Warpgames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:32am

Graphics and atmosphere are good! Sound could use a little bit more work in my opinion. Overall very good game for a short development time!

Elendow says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Amazing graphics and light effects. Input is a bit imprecise.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Very moody game that looks just incredible! I had the same problem as the others with the hitboxes, but it was doable. Very cool game! :)

Anti says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:23pm

This is just amazing. It was a bit hard to understand the gameplay at first but once you figure it out it's a really nice game. And the graphics are just amazing!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:40pm

This was a neat idea, nice take on the theme!

Scam says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Nice graphics and theme. However, the small hotspots with no visual assistance are quite annoying.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Beautiful graphics and very nice concept. I love the shadows pouring in through the windows. I wish the games was a little harder, and I wish I had it on android :)

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Very cool! One of the best looking games out there.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:17pm

really nice art ... 5 starts on graphics definitely ... it works fine on linux ... try our game, i'm sure you will love the art too ...

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:22am

Amazing graphics, and ran much better in windows than web. Good work!

ynots says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:23pm

nice graphics..

Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Very good job.

Backterria says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Excellent presentation!Graphics and music are amazing!Although i hope controls were a bit more responsive.Keep up!

Yarek says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:44am

Great game!!

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:20am

Very nice! ;)

pegigante says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

I loved the details of the house.

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:53pm

very cool game, but could have used additional abilities/options.

nassi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Looks and sounds nice, but could've used some sound effects. The gameplay was a bit dull, since it took a while to get started and trying to nail the boards was a bit imprecise.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]