Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dabug

by Devark - Compo Entry

A crazy and fun arcade shooter where you play as a cheeky data-killing virus called Dabug! Currently only has an Endless Arcade mode with increasing difficulty. Ironically, this version may have some bugs. They've been fixed in the current version I have but I'm not sure if I'm allowed to update the files here.

Controls:
<WASD> - Movement
Left and Right Mouse Buttons - Aim/Fire primary and secondaries
<E> - Select
<Q> - Go Back
<Esc> - Pause
Hold <Esc> Exit to the desktop

Personal Notes:

First LD! Great fun and good luck to everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#17Fun4.05
#47Overall3.91
#60Graphics4.10
#210Theme3.91
#238Mood3.31
#271Audio3.18
#467Humor2.60
#823Innovation2.73

Comments

psyduckfreak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:01am

good work man enjoyed layout and colors.

NormalKarl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:18am

Its great fun. The sounds work really well with the graphics. It great :D

Swampie says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30am

Very Charming!

loving the artstyle, arcade style gameplay is quite fun

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:32am

Looks and sounds nice, and the weapon upgrades keep it fresh!

sergilazaro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:39am

That was fun and polished. Nice work! It just needs a repetitive soundtrack :)

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:43am

"Unexpected error occured while running the game"

Devark says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:50am

Thanks for all the feedback! Glad you guys are enjoying it. :D

@krain, I've asked a lot of people to try the game out and none of them, including me, has gotten an error. Where did it happen and how?

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:54am

Solid and polished!

sergilazaro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:55am

I also got an error. It doesn't open the window right away, Windows shows an error screen, but the game opens anyway. And now the game also doesn't exit, not with Alt-F4, nor clicking the x in the corner. I have to kill it with Task Manager.

Hpoji says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:56am

Strong controls, great aiming and very well polished. Would buy /10

stevehb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57am

That's pretty good. I like that the score is in megabytes.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57am

The web version links to Dabug.exe on dropbox?

YM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:59am

15170 was my best score. It tails off and gets a little sparse between 5000MB and 10000MB with all three powerups (were there more?)

The graphics and sounds that are in there are nice, it has a very polished feel to it.

I was really hoping it would start using GB, TB and so on as my score got higher, it really felt like that was going to be a thing. Still, a great overall entry :D

Devark says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03am

@karlinpoppins, sorry fixed that now!

@YM, that actually sounds like a good idea. I had a lot more ideas for the campaign version but simply ran out of time. Hmm... the game should keep getting harder until around 30000, but if you reach that high it gets really hectic.

Thanks for all the feedback!

jackethlaust says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07am

The sound effects and graphics were quite nice. I appreciate how the bug goes fuzzy and has slight invincibility when it gets hit. There is a nice variety of obstacles and enemies to shoot down.

It's quite hectic at the start with all the splitters, and then goes insane at 15k+ when all the turrets spawn.
This game is very well done and very enjoyable, thanks!

pleepleep23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

Lots of fun. This game gets really crazy really fast.

Tuba says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

Pretty fun and the pacing is very good. Great work! :)

prymidion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

Really great. Maybe add a few more powerups to give it a little more variety and make it more clear when a player loses a life. Overall awesome

Jqmfg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02am

Very fun game, loved the mechanics and the animations. The sound effects were good, but they got old after a while. Really enjoyed the graphics as well. Didn't like the fact that the menu used keys for selection even though the game focused on using the mouse. It would have been great to see megabytes upgrade to gigabytes

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11am

I liked the art style. Everything is so polished.
Really nice work!

mahalis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

This is my favorite so far. Graphics are superb, gameplay's great, and there's a lot of little details (like the countdown bars over the bombs) that make this feel really nice. The explosion sound is a little harsh, but that's a quibble. Great job!

Sim00n says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12am

This game is extremely well done starting from the graphics which are gorgeous, through the sound that is perfectly matched even all the way up to smooth, intuitive and good looking menus. A really outstanding entry. Good job sir!

stjahns says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:17am

Great visuals, really felt the explosions!

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:27am

Solid fun.

gameattack says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32am

Smooth controls. Awesome graphics. I liked the variety of weapons. but all the enemies didn't felt very different. Maybe because of the sounds?

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10am

Great work!
The game felt really solid and was quite fun to play, the graphics were aesthetically pleasing and the sound was awesome, but it felt somewhat empty without a soundtrack. If you continue to work on this, I would definitely buy it!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10am

Very nice looking game with a great retro/arcade ambiance. It needs a little more power-ups in my opinion.
Nice work!

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58am

Just awesome.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36am

18335 \o/
Cool game, but the progression is too slow :b

kalugny says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Very good game! So juicy...

PeerPlay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Nice little game. I love the color palette!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Nice colors/nice game!:)

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Really responsive! nice work!

koujaku says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

I loved the slick controls! Slide-ey, yet very tight =D Might have been nice to have some variations on the explode sound effect~

edve98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Very nice game, Only thing that might be missing is some background music. Nut still, one of my favorites!

grid96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Awesome :D Like your graphical style, looks really professional, and sounds and gameplay fit together very well.

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Very cool Game, i really like the Art design and the fitting sound effects

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Very fun and a great look! You should definitely do more with this one!

01101101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Really cool and polished game :D It's a ton of fun to play and gets funnier the more upgrades you get. Nice work! :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:19pm

You made a really good work!
Game is polished and quite fun!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I played a game earlier called "arena of cube" and it does something similar to this which I really appreciate. The ricochet! it makes it a lot more interesting and balanced. Good work!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Great sound and art! Gameplay is traditional arcade fun. Awesome job!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03pm

nice colors!!!!!!!!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Like the graphics! Well done!

rameshkannan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:44pm

yeah some what nice

BCSGame says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Simple and super effective. Really enjoyed it. Kinda slow difficulty curve (to me anyways :P ), but only slightly. Enough new obstacles/enemies to keep it interesting. Awesome job! - Brandon

tudd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:25pm

I have a feeling this game was inspired by real-life events haha.

Some objects appeared later on with a timer near them, what did those do? I couldn't really figure out what they did.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Really loving the art style. Good blend of retro gameplay and modern shine.

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57am

Really fantastic layout! The graphics were absolutely beautiful and the screen shakes really added to the experience. Felt very polished!

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

reminds me of Grid Wars, nice job

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Very well polished game, good job.

Robotic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Nice and polished design. The progression might be a bit too slow (and the death sound of the ennemies was kind of annoying). Otherwise, great job :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:05am

flawless - well done sir - excellent use of theme, great graphcs and awesome gameplay

Lynx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:15am

I love that the score is in megabytes! The overall feel of this game screams cohesive design! Well done!

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:27am

Fantastic controls!Great overall!

oranebeast says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:44am

Lovely game with great graphics, would like a feature to convert megabytes to gigabytes tho.

Kitch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:40am

Nice polished artwork, and good amount of enemy/powerup variation. The "feel" just fit right in to the genre.

Little tip for accessibility and the WASD front for the future, some folks have different keyboard layouts, and some us us, like me unfortunately were born left handed. It's good to have the arrows, or at least alternatives, as an option. But not held against you :)

Good work.. Thanks!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:46am

Very slick graphics, feels great to play too.

Devark says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:47am

@Kitch, it was originally created for keyboard only (you can actually still use the arrow keys - it's just not part of the official controls), but following unanimous feedback from mates, the keyboard controls were scrapped for the current alternative, which received much better feedback.

I'm so stoked that everyone's mostly been enjoying this! Makes the sacrificed sleep worth it :p

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:56am

The game looks and feels like a dream. The explosion SFX were a little loud and perhaps the HUD should have it's own dedicated space instead of being overlayed. Otherwise great job!

-AlucardX60

cabezotta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Nice entry! great art, good job!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:24am

Totally agree that this was a solid, polished game. Definitely one of the ones that could carry on post-LD. :)

I love the name, Dabug! The graphics are VERY well suited and crisp. I started playing and found the controls to be really smooth and articulate. The player feedback was very satisfying, and I was really surprised when I was hoping to myself that there would be power-ups and more substantial abilities and suddenly, they appeared! :D Like my prayers had been answered!

I do agree that the explosion sounds are a little loud and jarring (I did have to turn down my volume a bit, as they were exploding my eardrums a little), and it needs a bit of background music, but that is my ONLY little teeny tiny gripe about it. The rest of it was really fantastic! :)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Amazing game, great graphics!!! Lots of fun!!!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Really solid entry, nice job!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:33pm

NICE GAME...PACING IS GOOD..

csanyk says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:06am

Pretty good! Feels like a well polished arena shooter should. I'd only prefer a dual-stick control scheme, WASD + mouse never plays as well on a laptop trackpad for me. The sound effects are particularly well done.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Nice graphics

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Saw this game during a twitch stream, very well done mate! Gameplay is smooth, enjoyable and fun. Good job.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Great game, amazing polish. Not sure the premise was all that necessary.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]