Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Super Color-o RGB: Legend of the Several Stars

by Soron - Compo Entry

A platformer with an interesting take on color and existence.

You, Color-o, live in a world composed of 3 planes (or "colors") of existence: the Red, the Green, and the Blue.

Most things in this world can only interact with their own color. However, you have the special ability to shift between different colors. You have also heard of the mystical Several Stars, objects of power that belong - somehow! - to TWO separate colors at once.

Just beware of the terrifying Black, which can absorb power from any color!

(note: Safari has an audio lag issue I couldn't fix, so I recommend other browsers if you want sound effects)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#196Innovation3.67
#726Theme3.47
#860Audio2.03
#883Humor1.85
#899Overall2.86
#1045Fun2.44
#1047Mood2.21
#1145Graphics1.97

Comments

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:20am

holy mozes, really hard :-)

can't you just combine the attack/place platform keys into one and trigger the one of the current color? :-)

Jaenis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32am

Hard indeed... Some warning about incoming enemies would be nice, now you can be on a platform and enemy spawns on you and kills you

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

Like Vulture Tamer said, its a bit tough to play with so many colours and keys to think about - although admittedly that does allow a large scope for player skill.

rzuf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41am

It got pretty fun when I finally got what is going on and how to play it. :D Really hard though, mainly due to lots of keys involved.

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43am

Really difficult, but unique game! I really like the ability to change colors, although the controls are a little clunky and unintuitive. I would suggest changing QWE to change colors, ASD to control platforms, just space to attack with your current color (black would need one attack from each), and keep the arrow keys as the only way to control.

I had a lot of fun with this. Good job!

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47am

Jesus, interesting concept, but really hard to get into and understand what you should be doing.

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53am

Awesome idea! I'm blown away by how cool the mechanics of this game are. Managed to beat it!

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47pm

After figuring out that black killed everything I found myself never using the other attacks.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23am

It was too hard to get used to the controls.

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25pm

There's a whole lot of depth to this game!
It was a bit tricky to utilize all the buttons I was given. I think giving the players a slower start (maybe restrict some colors) so you're playing with a much smaller pool of control. Then ramping them up with multiple colors would be pretty cool :D

Alendro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:39am

Cooool.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:43am

Interesting gameplay, although the controls are a bit complicated. There's no reason not to mash the attack buttons as far as I can see.

davient says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:46am

Damn thats hard. Love the concept, but there is just too much to do. Needs a simplification of the controls and a slower intro to the game teaching the player how to survive

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:33am

This is really complex, between the concepts in the game itself and the controls. If you were able to streamline some aspects, or introduce them bit by bit, it might be easier to train players to manage these systems. There's a lot to work with here. Really interesting stuff!

Soron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:07am

Thanks for all the feedback :). Lots of good comments here. Overall, I'm pretty happy with the result - with the obvious exception of not paying enough attention to playability.

Note to self: find more playtesters next time.

stevekratos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:10am

Good work...

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Yeah, this is really hard, simply because of the controls. Otherwise it's a quite good concept; I can only think that it'd be better if you ditched the "platform creating" aspect and just had premade levels with puzzles being colorshifting. I digress, though.

The name is awesome.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:43am

"Colour is everything" bonus theme :-)

Very different. Very hard to start with (although it got much easier once I figured it out). If you develop this game further, I'd suggest building up the complexity a little more slowly. Maybe starting with one colour, then adding another, then the third.

I eventually finished but mostly from building stairs of red platforms at hitting the attack buttons almost constantly.

Fun!

lxd1 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Fun

Renaldo says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:15am

My brain doesn't like to learn new things, and this game requires you to rewire your brain before you can play it. It's difficult to employ mechanics so new and make a fun game at the same time. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]