Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bionic Bliss

by Mechamew - Jam Entry

Bionic Bliss is a game about navigating the depressing, absurd and (if you make it) funny world of customer service in the year 2312.

Take the role of Employee 852 as you play through a day in his life. Deal with disgruntled cybernetic-limb-recipients! Will you help them with their problems or treat them as your personal play-things? The choice is yours!

Bionic Bliss features state of the art cyberpunk graphix, futuristic beatz and 6 customer interactions that give way to one of a four potential endings! Replay the game to experience them all!

Pro tip: to start click on the screen!

Bionic Bliss is the brain baby of three South African humans known as Team Lazerbeam:

Concept, code, direction & glitches - Richard Pieterse - http://www.nekropants.com
Concept, art, direction & writing - Ben Rausch - http://coolyourjets.co.za
Music, sound effects & facial hair - Jason Sutherland - https://soundcloud.com/jaysongmusic

Special thanks to:

Cape Town's Ludum Dare 31 jam hosts - Free Lives - http://www.freelives.net
Voice of the machine - Limpho Moeti
Voice of the player & Reaper Berrow - Kyle Wallace
Voice of Kiki Kilobyte - Anja Venter - http://nannaventer.co.za

Thank YOU for playing our game!

Team Lazerbeam will return in 2015 with "Cyborgs ate my gravy!"

EDIT: For even more Bionic Bliss fun, we've updated the build to include a fifth potential ending! Aggravating Alchopep now has a unique outcome! This is something we hoped to work into the original build, but ran out of time on. Thought it would be nice to include this for pure gameplay fun. For anyone wanting to play the original build as it stood at the end of the 72 hours, please head here:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/49550638/Live%20Content/Bionic%20Bliss%20Original%20Build/Bionic%20Bliss.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.53
Coolness73%
#6Humor(Jam)4.31
#9Overall(Jam)4.24
#11Theme(Jam)4.47
#14Mood(Jam)4.22
#41Fun(Jam)3.92
#46Graphics(Jam)4.45
#50Innovation(Jam)3.99

Comments

mattjet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:03am

Awesome game! I got fired after my first day. Great fun, really fantastic music, writing, graphics and all round really solid gameplay!
Loved it!

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:05pm

One of the most awesome games I've seen so far! Stunning graphics, effects, and music. Also, very funny and professional. You'll definetly make it into the tops!

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Great production values! Very polished theming, writing, and graphics. I played it "straight" and gave helpful answers, so it felt a little rote. Maybe I should go back and give more smartass replies.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:15pm

This is seriously awesome ! Some dude put his mega fist through my head but whatever. I'm gooing back to play some more. (this is probably the first and only 5 starts everywhere I'm gonna give, enjoy it !)

guimonpa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:17pm

This was so much fun!
It's very polished, I loved the writing, graphics and music, really nice work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Beautifully designed, well crafted dialog. Super cool guys.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37pm

THIS WAS AWESOME! Best game so far, imo. Really clever, funny, great graphics and very very fun. Great job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Amazing! very polished and funny. keep it up!

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Definitely a nicely made game. It kept me entertained all the way through, which I guess is what counts.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Fun game. Dialogue was great and I loved the response options.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Yes I got myself a date :D Awesome game - a bit like Papers Please in some way.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Super cool, love that you have to anticipate on the different styles!

theomg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Amazing! Very well done, great art and audio. Best game I've played yet!

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Amazing. He put his mecha-fist through my face like he promised.

RedPanda says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11am

So GOOD! :D

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18am

Amazing game here! A little crypt sometimes about what I should do to please customer then I realized how realistic it is

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:36am

Quite humorous, nice job!

Mase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48am

That was hella rad. Nice job, geezers.

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:49am

Good idea pulled off great! I couldn't even find any bugs! Really interesting take on the theme. Great work!

kumoi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:56am

Very awesome job. This reminds me a bit like "Papers Please". On the other hand I'm having flashbacks to working at an IT call center... Urge to strangle people rising...

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:29am

Great take on the theme. Graphics and audio were fantastic. This was funny. Great stuff.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Great game! Really enjoyed the cyberpunk style. It wasn't particularly punishing - there was usually a 'best' chat option at every stage - but super fun regardless.

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Thanks so much to everyone who's played and provided such encouraging feedback! It's awesome to hear how much this weird little game has been appreciated!

@Maurogik - thanks for all the stars!

@HuntTheWumpus - nice job on getting yourself a date!

@jhrrsn - thanks for your enthusiasm and praise! The game's definitely not meant to be punishing on any level, rather a fun, open-ended experience. Without a win or loose result, it's just up to each player to have fun.

The idea with dialogue option was (as you picked up) a "best" or "model employee" option, an aggressive one and then something in between. What we were excited to explore however is that the "best" option isn't necessarily the best one to go with. Reaper doesn't like been spoken to as though you're smarter than him. Since she herself is just looking for laughs, Kiki hates you being serrious. Going with "best" definitely won't win you any dates!

High Five to @TijmenTio - sounds like you totally got that responses would need to be tailored differently for each call!

As a very short game, this is just a simple experiment with this idea, but it's something I'd really like to explore further in the future.

Thanks all again for all your feedback! We had a blast making this game and it's so heart warming to see it could make some other people happy!

marvalgames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

This is hilarious. Nice polish already.
I had fun getting fired on purpose the 1st day. Than I tried to keep my job and still got fired. I like that ir in not obvious in how to keep your job! I quit :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Very good little chat game ! Fine graphics, fine audio, fine humor, and four endings, not two, not three, four ! Well done. :D

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:25pm

I liked this a lot! Chuckled at the Mecha-peen5000.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:28am

Everything looks super polished and I enjoyed the startup screen a lot. I felt like I was looking for some deeper meaning to the dialog that never fully realized. I ended up just saying what would make them happy.

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:13am

Excellent entry!One of my favs!Great job guys!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:25am

Wow, incredible game! I absolutely loved it!!

I just played through the first time, it was fun messing around with the funny answers. It was very clever how some people required different types of answers, especially the girl with the hand problem. :)

The presentation was incredible for a jam game, great art, great voice acting! Wonderful atmosphere.

I thoroughly enjoyed the game and am very impressed with it. Definitely going to return to play it again. Awesome job. :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:48pm

haha, i'v been hacked!
Nice game, but doing the opposite of what the game want me to do is wayyy funnier than the right course.

Bensonance says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:58pm

YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Mechamew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:24pm

@blackmagic - the game wants only that you should have fun with it!

Tuism says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:13am

I loled so hard :) Great narrative driven little piece, amazing amount of detail paid to everything, would LOVE to see this grow into a bigger, more procedural story :) Like Papers Please but happy instead of sad :)

Also... Has noone noticed that it's called Bionic Bliss... And "Blitz" on the logo? XD I almost couldn't find the game cos of this :P

Mechamew says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Thanks so much Tuism! Great to hear you enjoyed it so much! We'd also love to take the project further!

The name is a strange one we know. The company Employee 852 works for is called Bionic Bitz. The game itself is Bionic Bliss. We realise this is pretty strange, but if you can't be weird during Ludum Dare, when can you be weird?

raxter says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:44am

Super awesome game! Writing is great fun to read, for instance went through the 'normal'/'safe' options and it's so easy in these sorts of games for that to be not very rewarding but in this case it was just as fun as the others (I thought) ^_^

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:00am

Player satisfied, Great job, developyee!=))

Riocide says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:14am

Hahaha Love it! Good job guys!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:58am

Oh wow, this is fantastic! I've got two of the endings but I'm not very good at being mean to virtual people!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:16am

Great !
Our point and click adventure look very poor next to yours... :o

klianc09 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Really awesome! Liked how not every call was straight forward, and the differnt endings are just super rad.

hexagore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I'm so glad I went back and played it a second time, this time being a completely terrible employee. :P This is outstanding btw. :)

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Amazing entry! The level of polish is astounding. Really funny and well written too. Great work

PS: I'll try and figure out how to compile to Mac in Gamemaker to get you a build for Silian Rail :)

Mechamew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Thanks everyone for all the feedback! Amazing to see how positive so much of it is. So great to hear so many of you like it as much as you do; it means a lot to read all your encouraging messages!

Special thanks to Warboys for the potential Mac port - looking forward to playing your game! :D

apiotrw says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Nice topic. Fit the theme really nice.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Great game, fantastic art and sound. It's hard to find anything wrong with this game to be honest, you met your vision for sure and it's a very concise package. Nice job!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:21pm

this looks soooo good, and love the writing. really fun. how do you do all the vfx? i need to know :P

Pixel-boy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Really funny, original and polished entry, nice work !

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Well written, funny, extremely polished! Interesting take on the theme, I really enjoyed it!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:51am

The theme fitting is done fantastic and creating superb mood. It's also thanks to graphics and audio you did. Great polish! Also, funny writing, even more funnier "blood ending". Every character showed player different attitude toward call and situation, I'm curious how it would work in longer, "full" version of game. Anyway, perfect "one shot" game :)

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Pretty rad game. Really liked the art style and the music/voiceovers.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I enjoyed this! At first it seemed like the "correct" responses were a bit obvious, but then near the end the customers started to shake up the pattern a little bit.
This is really well-polished too. Fantastic job for 72 hours.

Robber says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:15pm

great stuff, love the idea and the execution

Dec 31, 2014 @ 3:42am

LOL... I wish I had seen this before voting closed. I fixed everyone really well the first time through, then made everyone mad just for fun (except the cyber-chick, I got a date with her). Very funny game, and really well put together! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]