Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

A MAZE inc

by 5you - Compo Entry

Welcome to A MAZE inc. !

Do you have some problems looking for your coins ?

We have a robot for that. It is in the simulation chamber right now... Here at A MAZE inc. we take tests very seriously !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#76Theme4.20
#154Audio3.44
#160Graphics3.80
#164Overall3.66
#215Mood3.34
#357Innovation3.40
#439Fun3.20

Comments

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56am

Press F to switch to fullscreen.

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26am

Graphics are incredible, great concept!

prymidion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29am

Very impressive graphics and music. I like the concept (a single, mutable level.)

Ran into a few glitches when I respawned after I died (enemies spawned outside the map/instantly exploded.) Also, it's pretty easy to get stuck on walls.

oranebeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:30am

An interesting and fun maze game, backed with good music. Niiice

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44am

I couln't finish in time without a magor bug that prevent the game from being ended (played?). I know this is too late for the official release but here is the playable one :

http://www.filedropper.com/amazeinc1210

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02am

actually try this one :

http://www.filedropper.com/amazeinc1220

geartech0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:20am

You hit the theme spot on in my opinion. Music was really good. I find the music a little annoying after a few levels but, there's nothing you can do about that, that's my problem. It was very fun. There is little i can complain about except the frequent sticking on the walls, and the keys being arrow keys except for wasd.

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23am

Nice little game, the block/level forming mechanic works and looks really good!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25am

Would have liked to be able to move diagonally, but it's a good game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

Overall, really well done, great visuals, and btw, I think you can add the newer fixed versions if you wait a bit then label them as post-mortem or post-compo.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

Great graphics and music. The whole experience was neat. I liked how the robots stayed dead after they killed you to make the next playthrough simpler.

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

there were a few graphics and movement bugs but otherwise very good

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07am

Thanks for the nice feedback ! You can actually use the "Windows" link on the top of the screen.

Like i said, i didn't have time to polish it but maybe one day, if you guys like it !

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16am

me now : Wow !

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:39am

Fantastic game! My favourite so far. Really impressed this was made in 48 hours. Graphics and sound are really really well done! Only issue I was getting caught on walls occasionally.

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Greate level-change system!

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Cool game. Presentation is top notch and I am amazed that you had time for producing great levels.
Diagonal movement would be nice.

angela says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I like how you implemented the concept. Its kind of like a modern day pac-man. Its got some bugs, but all of our games have bugs because we made them in 48 hours! This game is really well structured compared to a lot of the others i've tried so far. I played it till it crashed and had fun.

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Great graphics and audio.

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11pm

This is really cool. The graphical style and the audio work well together, although the music was a tad repetitive. Most of the time, when I died, the enemy robots would either explode immediately or warp outside the level into the top-left corner. The level transitions were really great though, and the controls were fairly responsive. Good job, this was enjoyable.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I really like the way the room changes itself from one level to the next. Nice original mechanic and appropriate to the theme.
I enjoyed enticing the robots to walk into the gates.
There were a few bugs: getting stuck on walls/corners, getting fried by the electric gates when you go past them(not touching them) and the game crashed after I lost all my lives.

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

updated version : https://www.dropbox.com/s/wqooa2h7cqjjd43/A%20MAZE%20inc%201.2.3.0.exe?dl=0

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

- game no longer crash after Game Over
- electric gates hitbox are fixed and vertical ones don't turn into horizontals
- lifes and coins don't reapear after death
- the ground doesn't rise for nothin (better looking transitions)
- more readable highscore list
- some misplacements are corrected
- very small changes

5you says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42am

again, small changes

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07am

Very good game overall!

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56pm

amusing little game. Loving the colour pallet too.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Good work!

Demy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I love the idea with moving tiles that create different maps, and the idea of main menu where you need to step on the option to activate it. A little big buggy but fun.

jhice says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:18am

Great idea. Nice realisation :) In fact I've got 3 ideas for the LD and the one of keeping the same board with changing was one of theme! You made it well! And give me the wish to explore this mechanic!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Hey dude! Great graphics! Congratulations

Sharky says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Collision detection is a bit off. I find myself going up to grab a coin and then moving right and I'm stuck in the wall having to move downwards then right.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I like the graphics and the music. I especially like the level transitions, well done!

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Great game, very enjoyable and with good graphics :) You just need to improve wall collisions so you don't get stuck on them

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very cool game! Yeah, collision is a little bit odd.
Well made!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I like the aesthetics of the level design, although I think there could be a bit more contrast between the walls and the floor. I was frustrated by the fact that you can't just quit by pressing Escape or Alt+F4, especially since the game defaults to fullscreen, I hit Ctrl+Alt+Del and went into the task manager to kill the game. Level design is great. Could use some work on collision detection (which I know is really hard to get right) and when you're luring a robot into a lightning gate, it seems like mostly luck rather than skill if they make it through the gate, which is annoying. Overall, a cool game!

5you says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:49pm

if you press escape, you're directly in the main room where you just have to step on the exit bouton... Alternatively you can press Alt+Enter (like any other game) or F to toggle off fullscreen.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]