Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Electric Jezebel

by OttersDen - Jam Entry

"Nothing exists outside The Screen."

Jezebel is stuck in the system! Manipulate the existence of objects around you by pushing the screen.

Our very first game; A small puzzle platformer. We were short on time at the end, but we hope you enjoy it.

<Controls>
Left + Right to run.
Down to interact with objects and enter doorways.
Spacebar to jump.
R to reset the level if you get stuck.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#230Audio(Jam)3.37
#265Innovation(Jam)3.45
#289Overall(Jam)3.46
#300Graphics(Jam)3.68
#319Fun(Jam)3.29
#327Mood(Jam)3.29
#693Humor(Jam)2.21
#706Theme(Jam)3.31

Comments

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58am

Cool game. I like the music. :-) Sometimes the scrolling of the screen is a bit slow. Keep that good work. :-)

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

Very fun game the character times some time to get used to, both due to how much it slides and the bunny jumping.

disdanes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

Excellent graphics, and really unique take on the theme! I liked pushing the screen to see more of the level and reveal some of the platforms. The jumping could use some improvement - it was a bit frustrating.

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01am

This is a really neat idea, good way of getting around the restrictions of the theme. The puzzles certainly had me stumped - a great turnout in terms of thinking in such a short amount of time.

The graphics did seem a bit cobbled together, though.

stvr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02am

Didn't work for me. Pressing enter did nothing, and after that Unity was giving me errors.

Divitos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

Amazing for a first attempt!
One pet peeve of mine, A and D could be used for movement, but S couldn't be used for interactions, I had to actually use the down key.

jpcote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05am

Nice game! Puzzles are challenging!

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

its pretty neat

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

Good game, the concept is simple but it's quite interesting. I think you really got something with this game.
The only problem I had was the frustration of having to push again and again the screen.

Anyway, this concept is really interesting and the graphics are pretty :D

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

I think the moving screen breaks the theme. Graphics are nice, controls are not easy, a bit sticky.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Great game. Great interpretation of the theme, nice visual style, and just about the right puzzle difficulty.

I'd love to see more of this!

Akurn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

Great puzzles!

RicardoBusta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11am

great sound!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12am

The most polished game I've seen so far, with an amazing score and really nice graphics. I would love to see this fleshed out into a full game!!

CoolChesire says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13am

I really enjoy the puzzles.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17am

Graphics are nice but i think some animation could improve the overall. Puzzle platfrom challenge seems to be here but i felt stuck when i pushed floors with the rigid jump.

Frump says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04am

Moving the screen around to reveal the level seem like the opposite of having the entire game on one screen. I didn't realize the circuitry parts were hazards until I walked over them.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32am

Nice game! I love the music and the game design! Congrats!!^^

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26am

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! We are listening to all your comments! :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:38am

Nice puzzles, quite addictive. I wanted something "more" to justify the theme.. Clever idea anyway! :)

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Really nice way to push the theme (pun not intended)

voidqk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:30am

great game! 5/5!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:36am

Neat mechanic and nice use of the theme. A little bit of tweaking (jumping and edge pushing) and some additional levels and this is ready for full release.

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Congrats with your first game! Very interesting concept. Can't stop playing. :)

hollowspecter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Wow. Just wow. Excellent use of theme and terrific game and level design in case of ramping and making the player think out of the box literally. The only flaw I found was sometimes when falling down you could die without a warning.

hollowspecter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Also Kudos to using a woman of color as your main character (with an awesome name! (my middle name is jezebel, thats why i played :D))

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:24am

nice job - enemies moved a little fast - still fun

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Nice game. I like how the main character looks, it looks like a real game character! Other than that I found it a bit too hard, but I did like how you integrated and played with the theme. Very nice effort!

Shivur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Interesting interpretation of the theme.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:12am

Nice. Interesting puzzles utilizing the screen mechanic:)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:37am

Cool art style and smooth movement/controls. Moving the screen is a little slow. Really impressed by the puzzle mechanics!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Enjoyed it a lot. The challenges with the portals, doors and the screen movement are a great idea. The only thing that bothers me, are the enemies which don't seem to fit with the overall art style. But still good job :)

panda says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:43am

That third level is hard! I didn't really make it to the puzzle part, but the game's well done! The character looks amazing, how did you make it look so good?

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Unity web player does not support Linux OS.
You may want to add a Linux executable :)

SivGoose says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:14pm

dunno if it quite fits the genre. and it was very frustrating when trying to see what comes next, a lot of times I had to kill my self just to find out. graphics and controls on the other hand where great, just go too frustrated from having though throw myself into the abyss. if you could scroll with the mouse or drag it too see what comes next tho I feel that would improve your fantastic idea

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Cool puzzle platformer with a nice mix of metal and physical challenges! Great work and a nice mechanic for the theme.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Very innovative game mechanics of having to push the screen and actually change the game world by doing that.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Solid game. Interesting use of the theme. Fun to play. Please add more levels!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Very interesting interpretation of the theme ! Good job !

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I love the music.

Well made!

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Camera is really hard move across the screen. Maybe it would be better if you'll fix the camera behavior

zompi says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Ok, the idea that behind the screen nothing exists is awesome! It gives opportunity to create awesome riddles.
Graphics are nice, but music is fantastic it creates great mood. Good job! :)

Lynx says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Interesting game, the player didn't seem to match the visual styling as much as the rest of the artwork and enemy characters though.

I like the in-game music a lot, the menu music seemed a bit out of place though.

Anyways, these are just minor things, overall you guys did great!

Anachron says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

Nice game! The controls are pretty tight, although the screen-pushing feature makes it a bit difficult to jump onto platforms sometimes. Really great for a fist attempt, good work :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]