Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Hyperbeam

by pk - Jam Entry

Solve puzzles with beam emitters to gather stars.
Stars increase the range of the hyperbeam and allows you to destroy the dark lord.

Music loop by frankum(freesound.org).

To make it enjoyable to all of you(me included) without 4K screens I added a zoom option, because gameplay>theme ;)

osx and linux versions untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Innovation(Jam)3.91
#154Mood(Jam)3.61
#157Overall(Jam)3.68
#185Theme(Jam)3.91
#232Fun(Jam)3.41
#241Audio(Jam)3.34
#300Graphics(Jam)3.68
#739Humor(Jam)2.10
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Love the scale of it. Moving around zooming in and out around these visuals feel nice. The interactive part is pretty cool too, the whole idea of rotating and it does different thing based on what it's focusing on.

It took me 10 minutes to realize that I have to leave the laser for a while for something to happen! Should tell us about that beforehand, mate. :p Kinda fun after I figured that out, sweet puzzles!

rogberth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41pm

OK, I FINISH THIS GAME AT LAST. I don't even want to think how much time I needed. F**k you and your brilliant puzzles.

But seriously, really good job there.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:12am

That was a hard game! Very clever use of the theme and amazing puzzles. It took me a while to complete even the first one. Thanks!

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49am

Man! That last puzzle stumped me. I spent about 10 minutes on it before finally giving up. Very well designed puzzles, good job :-)

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11am

Cool game and very nice puzzles.

The core at the room 1 didn't work some time (few seconds) for some strange reason.

Great game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I love the addition of the story in the top right! And the contrived reason for getting the stars. Gave me a chuckle.

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Nice puzzling game. I don't know if I've done something wrong, but when i connect all 5 beams with the one in the lower right corner the big beam doesn't hit the tnt box...

pk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:38pm

You've done nothing wrong, it's just that puzzle difficulty increase quite a bit in room 3 and even more so in room 4.
(judging from player reactions, while making them I thought they'd all be too easy)

Room 4 also have an alternate solution I didn't intentionally design.

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Nice puzzle game, very interesting visual style. Thumbs up

the-arrival says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Awesome puzzle game. I did take some time at the end but it was worth it.

Suppagumma says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Veeeery cool, and great way to interpret the theme :)
- Daniele

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Love vivid neon colours, it's why I used it in my game! Puzzles are great too, using the lasers to power other lasers is really clever!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Well, i managed to copmlete it! By the way, looks like almost all of us have the same problem: we make our games too hard! :D

zanenga says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Wasn't able to finish it, but it was nice. I like the concept, mood and use of theme.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:36pm

interesting idea, tho a bit too hard :P

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:45pm

A real brain teaser. I liked it. Both the sounds and the gfx felt like a good match. Great game!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:49am

Hey fellow dev!

Glad to see you put in the tutorial, makes things much easier to understand and get quicker into the game.

The sound effects are also well suited, such a relaxed game.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Truly nice take on the concept, especially liked how the stereo effect told you where on the screen you where. Puzzles got a bit messy and hard to understand, but that's just a matter of tweaking. Good work!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Amazing music, nice mood. Clever theme usage. There are some problems with beam rotation controls sometimes. Overall, good job!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Wow, really clever puzzle game, with a really great asthetic (except maybe the "whole screen glows for a second"-effect was a bit too much). The tutorial could have been a bit more helpful by saying, that you need to exactly hit the red dot in the middle, but I figured that out myself eventually.
I think it's great that you let us adjust the level of bloom with a slider.

Getting the last star is just impossible (for me), I would really be interested in a walkthrough (screenshot)^^

Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Nice Music, it hard to play with a azerty or bépo keyboard.
Please for a next version, it will be nice if we can choose the arrows for playing.
As a option or something :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]