Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Squint Maze

by AlSweigart - Jam Entry

Squint Maze: The entire maze is on one screen.

Requires 1920x1080 resolution. Windows binary. Source can be run on Python 2 or 3 with Pygame.

https://github.com/asweigart/squintmaze

- You are the blue dot.
- Go to the green dot.
- Arrow keys / WASD to move.
- Esc to quit. (Autosaves)
- T to view time elapsed.
- M to restart game.

THE EYES ARE WICKED AND MUST BE PUNISHED. >:(

(For god's sake, don't actually play this game the entire way through. Just edit the saved game file and cheat, like I do in the YouTube gameplay video, if you want to see the (rather disappointing) ending.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#26Humor(Jam)4.08
#185Theme(Jam)3.91
#449Audio(Jam)2.85
#572Innovation(Jam)2.93
#769Mood(Jam)2.66
#797Overall(Jam)2.84
#857Graphics(Jam)2.45
#967Fun(Jam)2.22

Comments

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37am

Lol. This is a funny joke!

FacticiusVir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40am

I can't see a blue dot or a green dot - running at 1920x1080

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42am

Unfortunately, this game is just too much for my pathetic screen resolution. Looked cool though

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:42am

Eyestrain: The Game

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very cool looking maze algorithm. I made the game run in 1024 x 768 to see what it looks like. I don't know if I would ever get to the end even if I could see the whole map, but with the save feature it would be fun to do it over a long period of time like doing a huge jigsaw puzzle.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I don't have windows, but rated you highly based on the concept, instruction screen, and name alone. Squint Maze... genius.

Dew says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47pm

You're a filthy bastard... My eyes are burnt from getting close to the screen...

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Thank goodness for 1920x1080! Well done!

paperweight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

PC won't support that resolution... missing out...

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Full res, this game is very brave! :) hurt my eyes but I gave it a go. Love the audio!

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:49pm

You probably are trying to win in humor category :). And theme interpretation is really creative (and funny) in this one.

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

My eyes! My eyes!!

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43pm

I cannot imagine how long it would take to actually finish this, hahaha.

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:13pm

This game intimidates me :(

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Can't figure out where the player starts. The game gets great marks regardless. Love the concept and a hilarious use of theme.

dsilvers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57am

This makes me nauseous, and I'm just watching the Youtube video. I can only imagine what actually playing this would do to me. A game that causes a physical effect? Five stars all around!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17am

Cool concept. Great music, though the game is a bit hard for the eyes. Thanks for the game and Merry Christmas!

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31am

And you say our game is more frustrating than challanging :D how long did you actually play this till now? Did you think you're getting better with the time? :D

xaedes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I dont like to play mazes and my resolution is too low.
But the idea is hilarious! Also it's a nice interpretation of the theme.

Samm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:24am

Haha, it hurts to even look at this game. Well done!

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:43am

OMG, this game is a great joke in many ways! The idea alone worth a gold medal! Also, the background music is mood-soothing.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Next time: 4k resolution and all walls/dots are only 1 pixel in size :D

Linear says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:43am

MY EYES

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:29am

Such kind of humor I don't understand)

kaa says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:06am

Nice joke. In high res maze looks great! What algorithm did you use to create this maze? Eller's? We used Hunt&Kill for our game

JFern says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:19am

Ha, good joke. Definitely better on higher res monitors.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:41am

Ohhh, interesting implementation of the theme and I liked the challenge! Hahaha
Although it is graphically simple, aesthetically looks great. But sometimes the blinking effect of the blue dot confuses me :P
Also, it has nice audios and the autosave it's a good feature. Nice entry ^^

Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Actually tried it, but my eyes start hurting xD nice joke anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]